[STEEMIT REQUEST] Toggle Ability To Hide "Amount Earned" on Posts - [WITH MOCKUPS]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

toggle-iconf8be6.gif

Hey folks,

Before I share my suggestion, I wanted to give huge props to the entire Steemit team.

In my eyes they have handled the growth of the community incredibly well and I know they are busting their ass to make this one of the most unique communities on the web. Shout out also to all the awesome community members doing their part to bring value each and every day.

Now to my polite request --

Toggle Ability To Hide "Amount Earned" on Posts/and or Comments

I would love to have the ability to "show" / "hide" the earnings of each post on demand. This would apply only to one's own personal"blog" dashboard and not the homepage directly.

Right now, when you click "blog", the first thing you see is the amount of Steem you've made on each post - which is obviously important to know.

BUT...

for those who are new to the platform and still finding their way, this can be discouraging.

After three posts and no money made they might think.. "Wow, my posts made no money! I stink!"

Overtime this will just make most newcomers frustrated to the point of quitting.

Even as an experienced writer, I'll admit having 3 posts make 0.00 is hard on your ego.

The toggle function would improve this, because one could still see the comments/upvotes on their post, but we wouldn't be so fixated on the amount of money our post makes.

Secondly, I know for certain, I'm not the only one who's constantly refreshing their feed checking to see if our post gained any traction. Obviously, it's great to see your post be rewarded in Steem, but for many, it's a never ending distraction that prevents us from putting in the work.

Of course, if motivated enough, one could just click the toggle button and check the stats, but for me it would at least give me peace of mind and help me focus on what I do best.

It would give you complete control.

Having been blogging for nearly a decade, I remember the same sensation of refreshing my Google Analytics literally up to 100 times a day when I first started. It's addicting!!

Here is how I envision it playing it out. Special thanks to @dudtaulois for helping with the mockups.

show-ON-OFF-Gif7e1c0.gif
ON
show-ON3f501.jpg
OFF
show-OFF8e602.jpg

piece-please-ON-OFF-Gif08dd9.gif
Peace ON
piece-please-ON45dd8.jpg
Peace OFF
piece-please-OFF4f28f.jpg

I think this small tweak could go miles in helping users feel more valuable and focus on what matters -- producing great content.

Would love to hear the thoughts from the community!

If you enjoy writing on self improvement, Steemit tips and tricks, and travel be sure to follow me here


If you enjoyed this post you might also like
9 Life Lessons I Learned As A Waiter
Addiction, Depression, And How To Change The World
How To Build A Genuine Following On Steemit
9 Simple Ways To Be Become An Expert Networker… Even if You’re an Introvert

Sort:  

I've actually been toying with the idea that the reward should be hidden completely until after payout. It might help people upvote what they like rather than looking for/guessing what whales are going to vote on.

I think this is a great idea as well, that's why I created Random Steemit!
It allows you actually read the articles, so you can choose to read the article and then vote, instead of looking at the post earnings and time and then bandwagon voting.

If you havn't seen my tool yet check out my post about it!

It's incredible.

I like your idea. ;)
Right now I see that people doesn't care much if the post got engagement (many upvotes and comments) but how much money it made wich I believe did not help the curation process.

I have thought about this myself... But I think people will be discouraged either way. Just like any blog it takes time to grow. I've come to realize patience is key.

Of course! I definitely think patience is needed, I'm just saying it would be nice to have an option so the metric isn't right in your face. :)

Lol. I get it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76