The Black Rose - Steemit webcomic cover contest + art process!!

in #steemit-webcomic6 years ago (edited)

The Black Rose

Untitled1885_20180815213925.png

Story of the Picture (maybe)

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

Rose got a call from her manager that will make a comic, the people asked Rose to pose for a picture

They realised they don't have the money to hire an artist with an average wage, so they cancelled it, Rose was pissed at the fact that she wasted time on that refference, and the false hope she has gotten from her manager. As she scrolled up on her twitter, she saw an aspiring talented artist drawing fanart of her show this gives her an idea.

So and so, she hired them with below minimum wage, but the fan was so blind that they accepted the contract. So long as they offered exposure.

Rose smiled, she got a fan to do her bidding, they never even question it, ofcourse the artist got the exposure, she got, but it wasn't a lot. But it kept them very satisfied that the artist now thinks Rose is her friend


Hello stameenees or.. Steemians?

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

Hope you like that story bid there, she is one true evil b- well lets be family friendly here lolol-

So anyways I decided to join up a fun contest from @cobmaximus about making/redrawing a comic book cover! Which I thought this is gonna be fun!

I was thinking of redrawing my friends comic, but then Rose's idea came up and I'm like! It's gonna be cool if I do it with the Killing Joke!

And with Rose my evil manipulator character, she is so goddamn evil!! :D
You can find out about her here if ya want!

Untitled1872_20180813215715.png

Rose The Actor

The reff image I used was the killing joke cover, but I can't find a link to the source other than a wiki page so I guess I'm not allowed to post it LOL. Sorry just google it and you'll find it.

Now I don't really like the comic? Like when I finished it I'm like "that's it..? Welp that was pretty boring" because it was just about his back story or something oh how tragic boohoo so sad, oh Joker doesn't even think its how you got into this mess? Well what was the point of giving him a backstory?! I was bored and I didn't give a shit about batman killing Joker in the end, blah blah blah, come on comic! I've seen better edginess on the internet. Haha just kiddin

"Oh maya didn't you liked it?" actually inner doubts I did 'like' it.

I tried to pretend I like the comic like the other comic book fans I was close to, but I end up hating it more because I had to pretend XD they treat it like a masterpiece and I feel guilty for not liking it, but that was my own fault though! Ahah... ;-;

But for a comic from the past it seemed way passed its time though, plus atleast it's not bad as the movie cough oh god the movie cough

The art of the comic is very cool, and very well drawned though, so I'll give em that as well.

Now lets go to the progress!

Progress!!!

FAQ:
Time took: 1 hour 40 minutes
Programs: Ibispaint
Tools: my finger, my phone, the souls of dead children, the blood of demons, and a despacito2

Untitled1879_20180815120724.png

First of all we start with... The.. SKEETCH thats right the billion dollar answer it's sketching mhm planning out the goddamn sketcharooni. It is black and white because I don't know what to do.

I thought I was going to make the picture this close, but then I made some trial and error and..

Untitled1879_20180815151420.png

I make it even bigger or well, make the picture more detailed, I asked a friend of mine which one she liked more and she liked the bigger version of it, and gave me some feedback on it soo, thanks friend (Casey) 👀👌

Capture+_2018-08-15-23-42-03.png

Finally done with the sketch, I tried to do lineart, and aghh I hate lineart, its the worst thing ever in art, soo..

I decided not to do it

"What the- you're lazy as hell?!" ehem inner doubts, I call it.. being efficient ;) LOL

Untitled1882_20180815152601.png

So I just color behind the sketching layer and just use blending layers to set up the mood of the picture and planning it out.

Untitled1883.png

Finally I just do whatever and just color it in with no care in the world, aahh coloring is my favourite thing in the world

But then I have a problem,

The world is about to hand of the invasion.. A word that artist never speaks of..

Screenshot_2018-08-15-15-34-33-1.png

T-the t-the h-hand..

AAAAAAAAaaaaaaaAAAAAHHHH!! You have no IDEA how much times I have to redraw this stupid GODDAMN HAND AAAAGHHHHHHH I FEEL LIKE AN IDIOT, because I draw like this, it looks not okay, I draw like that, it still didnt look okay, but whatever, I gave up on it so I just hope none of you noticed the shitty hand.

But then I already told you that the hand is shitty so... Whoops.. ? Lol

Untitled1884_20180815184659.png

Anyways!! I finally detailed it from a low resolution picture trying to make it HD lookalike and make it look pretty

Screenshot_2018-08-15-18-47-07-1.png

WHI Is it called like that? Well.. WHI not?

Untitled1885_20180816000035.png

Using an overlay layer for this and just finishing up anddd...

FINISHED!!!

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

Untitled1885_20180815213925.png

Conclusion: never draw hands jkjk draw em, and practice

Anyways I finally then added the text. And my friend @diamondshine107 sent me this beautiful quote.
Capture+_2018-08-15-14-55-35.png

It's so beautiful then she wanted it to be a quote on top of the cover LOL👌

And ofcouse I drew my lovely little peep OC on the bottom,

Heres some bonus art while the steemit site got down lol.

Capture+_2018-08-15-15-57-15.png

Anyways, that's it from me ya guys, hope you all enjoyed it! Especially you @cobmaximus

Did ya enjoy it? I'm looking forward to make my post enjoyable to read and entertaining with improvements. Any feedback is helpful :)

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

And that's all from me!

Check out my other posts! It's appriciated!

bbb

Candy Witch

Please visit my instagram!

https://www.instagram.com/realmaya525/

And that's all from me, sweet nightmares!

EDIT: SO IM SCREAMING BECAUSE I PUT IN THE WRONG TAG ON THE FIRST ONE OMG WHYYYYYYYYYY IM SO DUMB so umm.. Yeahp if youre wonderint why the tag looks dumb right now, thats why ;-;

Sort:  

THE HAND!! Really nice Maya

Ye SSS THANKS R3!! :D

Wow, very nice work!

Thankyou matt ^~^

Pretty pic, @maya525 ! Really nice pose with the hands on the camera :> The colours are nice, also :>

Thankyou spidy ;v; I'm glad you liked the colors :D

I just don't have the words to express how amazing this art is!! You're such a talented artist!!!! And i love the take on the killing joke cover

Thankyou cob!!!! I'm so happy you like it ^~^ and aw shsushks thankyou cobb <33


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is an interesting take of the original poster, maya! Good luck with the contest ^_^.

AaAAAA scrawly!! Thankyou much!!<3 it means a lot!! Thankyouu

I love those colors so much!! <3 <3
seriously you know how to play with the colors well ^^

btw, here smile looks cool and threatening at the same time xD

OmgG eda!! Thankyou so much!! I'll always improve on my colors.. Except the hands XD

And thanks! She is on big female dog of an antagonist

This post has been upvoted for free by @minibot with 5%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @minibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

I reallly love how you use the colors <3 The texture that you added makes it call a lot the attention

Thankyou drupi!!! <33

Wow this is really cool!

Thankyou guri ^~^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28