Steemit Ironchef Round 14 - Rice 🍚 ~ كبة حلب Iraqi Kubba Halab (Veganized)

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

This week's theme "rice" for the #steemit-ironchef initiated by @progressivechef contest inspired me for an interpretation of a wonderful oriental dish I always wanted to try. The hubbies mom uses to make this always when having guests in her house but I could never eat it before because it's traditionally made with minced lambs meat and I don't eat weather baby animals nor any other living beings. When the ingredient for this week was announced I asked the hubby what he would like to eat made of rice and he spontaneous said "Kubba".

Kubbah (or kibbeh, kebbah, içli köfte, koubeiba ...) is a national dish for many Middle Eastern countries and a very popular dish all over in the Middle Eastern cuisine as well as in many Mediterranean and Latin American cuisines. It is a fried dumpling often made of bulgur or rice with a filling of minced onions and minced meat like beef, lamb, goat, or camel meat with middle eastern spices.

Kubba Halab is an Iraqi version of kibbeh created with a rice crust. It got it's name after the largest city in Syria, Aleppo. I watched several YouTube Videos how to prepare this dish because it seemed like it efforts some special manual skills. Of course what I created is far away from the original recipes because I had to replace the meat and still had the ambition to convince the traditional Kubba eaters about my version.

To create the crust I simply had to follow one of the classic recipes. To make a juicy and meaty tasting filling I decided to use a mixture of different mushrooms, onions and scrambled tofu. 

These are the ingredients for the crust

Two cups of basmati rice, two chopped potatoes, six cups of water, a tablespoon of vegetable broth powder, a teaspoon of tumeric powder and half a teaspoon of salt.

I cooked the rice and the potatoes in my rice cooker.

I used more water than usually because the rice should be cooked until really soft and mushy - actually overcooked. It's a good idea to do this a little bit in advance so the rice cools down a bit because it needs a good knead with the hands. My rice was to hot to knead it instantly so I used a potato masher first and kneaded it later ... 

The dough has to be very gluey and sticky.

While the rice cooled down I made the filling. That are my ingredients:

A few shiitake mushrooms and two large champignons (finely chopped), a block of tofu (scrambled), one minced onion (missing in the photo), half a bunch of fresh parsley (chopped), some chopped toasted almonds and some raisins, a teaspoon of misopaste, two tablespoons of tomato paste, two teaspoons of a mixture of powdered arabic spices (cardamom, cinnamon, coriander, black pepper, nutmeg, cloves), salt

Preparation:

I fried the finely chopped mushrooms in a pan with vegetable oil.

Then I and the scrambled tofu and the onions.

When everything was golden brown I added the miso and tomato paste and seasoned with salt and the spices and stirred in the chopped parsley. 

I halved the filling and mixed one half with the raisins and almonds.

To form the kubba, it is useful to have a bowl of water to wet your hands again and again so the dough will not stick.

I took a small piece of the dough the size of a walnut.  I rolled it in my damp hands and made a hole in the middle to form a cup. I filled the hole with one teaspoon of the filling and sealed it.

To recognized which dumpling has which filling I formed two different shapes: some torpedo shaped with slightly pointed ends for the filling with raisins and almonds and some round and slightly flat for the one without.

I fried the Kubbas in hot vegetable oil until golden brown and crispy.

I served the Kubbas with fresh raw vegetables (green and yellow bell peppers, cucumbers), fresh parsley, pickled olives and chopped tomatoes mixed with pickled mangos (Amba).

This Kubba Haleb is quite a time consuming dish due to the fact that a lot of preparation is needed. However it was definitely worth the time taken to prepare it. We loved to eat it. And the hubbies mom was impressed! 😊

Sort:  

This is looking damn delicious. I am sure it was a dream. Thank you for the recipe. :)

True! It was very good. I am glad you like it!

i didnt know what a kubba was until now, and they look super tasty! fantastic entry to the contest, if u get time u can still make ur sushi sandwich or burrito, they sound really interesting and never of heard of them either, always enough room for more sushi, but these are an excellent idea to veganize this traditional dish also, the crust is amazing! i can believe it is rice!

Thank you! I am happy I could show you something "new".
For the sushi sandwich or burrito - there will be possibilities to come I think ... 😋

I like " içli köfte" but I never cooked it myself. As I would like to reduce my meat cosume this is a very interesting alternative and I guess it definitely tastes as good as the original with minced meat. But I don't eat soy products and therefore would like to ask you if you have a suggestion for a tofu-alternative? Thank you for documenting the preparation steps so easy to follow:-)

After I finished cooking, I continued looking for other arabic recipes and there is a vegetarian version for kebbeh with mushrooms already. They also added green peas to the filling which is a perfect addition and a wonderful alternative to tofu or soy (which is a legume as well). I think another good idea to replace the soy would be cooked white beans (like these cute cannellinis) or cooked red lentils or le puy lentils.

This looks great! I love transforming traditional meals to vegan versions! It always tastes much better than I remember from when I wasn't vegan. Lovely recipe, great inspiration for me to try new things. :)

You are welcome! It great to hear that inspired you to maybe try something new.

lovely dish !

Thank you so much! 😘

This looks so delicious. I love love love the nuts and raisin addition! Very nice.

Thank you for your nice words! I am glad you like this!

It's something that I'd love to do looks very appetizing.
I learned something new today thanks @pusteblume
have a Sunshine ☀️Day separador ramas hojas y mariposas.jpg

For you too, my dear! 🌞

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:41:30
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 657.98/800.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.63 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46