STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 15: Pimp That Burger! ๐Ÿ” "Coeur De Boeuf''-Burger

in #steemit-ironchef โ€ข 6 years ago

Beautiful, healthy AND delicious? A burger?! Really? Impossible!ย 

Yes, it is possible and I will show you how... The #steemit-ironchef theme for this week was a tricky one again. Our honorable creator of this wonderful contest @progressivechef gave us the special task to elevate the traditional simp burger to another level. The rules for this week's round can be read here: STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 15 : The Final Round.

I wanted to create a nourishing but not too filling and not to heavy version of a burger. I knew the hubby would welcome a low carb dinner. But how is this combinable with a burger - and a vegan burger too!?!

It can be easy as this! I just replaced the burger buns by two sorts of tomatoes. Because both of them where so pretty and meaty looking I bought two regular beefsteak tomatoes and two "Coeur De Boeuf'' tomatoes.

Because I didn't use any flour or breadcrumbs for the patties this dish can count as gluten free too.

Preparations:

I prepared the patties the night before. They are made of mashed cannellini and kidney beans, shredded zucchini, carrots and parsnip and very finely chopped king oyster mushrooms and champignons.

Before I added the mushrooms to the mixture I fried them in vegetable oil and seasoned with salt, smoked salt and to create a nice umami flavor with miso paste and ground white pepper.

I set the patties on a baking sheet covered with baking paper and backed them in the preheated oven (180 degrees Celsius) for 15 minutes each side. I covere the baking paper with a little bit of vegetable oil but I think in the end I would have used much more oil by frying the patties in a pan.

On my visit in Kenya last month I had some plantain crisps. This made me wonder if it would be possible to make french fries made of plantains. The burger theme was the perfect moment to try this out. To be on the safe side I made fries from both: potatoes and plantains:

To replace the cheese on my burger I made a cheese paste from soaked sunflower seeds, cashews, nutrional yeast, smoked paprika powder, sea salt, lemon juice and a dash of tumeric.


To add a 'bacon' component I fried some very thin slices of celery in a pan and seasoned with smoked salt.

The buns - uhm, I mean the tomatoes moved into the still warm oven after 8 cut them into halves. I didn't wanted them to be cooked but slightly warm inside. I like warm and comfy foods in the evening.

And finally, when everything was prepared, I "built" the burger:

first one half of the warmed up tomato topped with some cheezey sayce:

the celery "bacon":

The leaves I used on my burgers where wild herb lettuces, italian vegetable dandelion leaves, ramson and garlic chives sprouts.ย 

the pattie:

More herbs and more cheezey sauce:

Avocado! Any questions?

Finished the first one:

The garlic chives sprouts on top of the second burger add a nice tender garlicy aroma

The hubby was very pleased with the taste and how light this dish finally was. Most of the delicious french fries went into my stomach ... ๐Ÿ˜œ Oh, and the tomato ketchup is store bought but made with no extra suger. The sweetnes comes from Aceto Balsamico. The vegan mayonnaise is store bought as well but very easy to make at home too. (soy milk, vegetable oil, mustard, lemon juice, salt, kala namak). The slogan on the top of the jar says that they only put things inside you have in your own kitchen.ย 

I am really curious about the other contestants burger creations. Good luck to everyone! ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ€

Sort: ย 

Super Gericht und perfekt dargestellt. Vielen Dank dafรผr :)

Gerne! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Omg ur burger is so delicious, somehow I missed your entry until now, have been a little busy. Really love the presentation, well done on joint 2nd and 3rd with me!

What?!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ Really?!! Let me go and check this ...

Wow! That's amazing! โœจ๐ŸŒˆโœจ๐Ÿ…โœจ

This looks absolutely delicious... You are so good cook

Thank you so much! I am very happy that you like what you see! I can only return the compliment. I can say the same about you. A wonderful lady cook! โ˜บ๏ธ

What a tasty thing that burger is !!!
I have always said that you can eat very tasty without meat.
The season of big tomatoes is already starting and I still use them as buns for my burgers or combined with roasted vegan cheese and basil and eggplant.
I already want to eat this !!!
Beautiful your post as always
Have a beautiful day โ˜€๏ธ @pusteblume

So you are telling me my tomato-bun idea is not new? ๐Ÿ˜ƒ You used these meat potatoes this way yet? Hehe! And I thought, I was super creative! ๐Ÿ™ˆ Thank you for your very nice compliment and your support! Have a wonderful day too! ๐Ÿ˜˜

I tell you that here where I live in the state of New Jersey USA there is a tomato that is called tomato NJ is very large and so it is used here as bread and it is very tasty.
Of course you are very creative and you make incredible dishes my dear @pusteblume

โ˜บ๏ธ Hehe! Thank you! Was just a joke! Thank you for your compliment! So you are!

Suuuper lecker!! Und liebe dass du auch Bรคrlauch dazwischen hast;) Das hast du echt toll hinbekommen!!!

Dankeschรถn! Ich kann einfach nicht an Bรคrlauch vorbeigehen. Der muss immer mit. Und dann muss ich mir natรผrlich was einfallen lassen, wo ich den unterbringe ... zur Not auch mal auf 'nem Burger! ๐Ÿ˜œ

Haha kenne ich gut!! Und es schmeckt dann gleich noch besser!

๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Sehr beeindruckend. Wirklich ein tolles Kunstwerk vollbracht :) Die Selleriestreifen und die Tomaten als Burgerbrotersatz eine klasse Idee. Vielen Dank fรผr diesen super Post und viel Glรผck beim Contest. Alles Gute @diemama

Danke fรผr deine guten Wรผnsche! Schรถn, dass dir meine Kreation gefรคllt. Ich fand auch, dass es schรถn aussah mit der Kombination von Rot und Grรผn. Dir einen wunderschรถnen Abend!

Na, mir sind schon richtige Kรผnstler, gelle ;)

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‰

If you are the one preparing the food, I know that everything is possible! Even healthy burgers, lol :) This is by far one of the most complicated dishes I have seen on Steemit. Awesome-looking burger, @pusteblume, I would devour it great pleasure ;)

Well, thank you for your big big compliment! I think I've seen quite a few very complicated looking dishes here on steemit. Especially on the #steemit-ironchef contest! Everyone is so creative and motivated. That's awesome!

That's one amazing vegan burger! I can imagine the taste in my mouth - you've found alternatives for everything a normal meaty burger would have, down to the cheese and bacon! Yummmm.... I could have this... ;)
Good luck!!

If you give me your address, I email you one ... ๐Ÿ˜œ Thank you so much! Happy that you like it and that you could imagine to eat this.

Those tomatoes are so pretty and the patty looks delish and I just love love the wild garlic. We can't get that here that I know of.

The display with the chips looks awesome!

Thank you! I wonder if an olive oil flavored with the leaves of garlic together with chives would taste similar like a ramson flavored oil.

I think it would but I love the green color and the look of those leaves.

I totally understand!

Honestly, these healthy burgers are prepared by ingredients I love. I'm sure that it not only looks amazing but tastes delicious too. Just a delight for all the senses! I'm impressed by your cooking creativity and inspired to prepared it myself. Thank you for sharing it and for the inspiration!

You are very welcome! I am glad that I could inspire you! โ˜บ๏ธ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77