STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 04 ~ Lettuce Three Course Menu

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

This is my contribution to this week's #steemit-ironchef challenge with the theme: lettuce. Pretty early this time, huh?! 😜

Everyone who would like to join should read @progressiveschef original post with the rules. Just follow this Link.

I made a three course menu, all of the three dishes have some sort of lettuce in in them.

The first on is a creamy soup based on a traditional recipe from the french everyday cookery: Potage à la salade verte. The ingredients for my interpretation of this soup are lambs lettuce, romaine lettuce, wheat flour, chickpea flour, plantbased butter, oat cream, vegetable broth.

In a pot I melted the butter and l sautéed the lettuces.

I dust them with flour, poured in the vegetable broth and let everything simmer for about 10 minutes. 

I puréed the soup with a hand-held blender, mixed the oats cream carefully with the chickpea flour, stirred the mixture into the soup and let it boil up briefly. I seasoned cautious with a little bit of salt and pepper, Kala Namak and nutmeg. It's important not to use too many and just a little spices here. We don't want to cover the tender and slightly bitter taste of the lettuce.

I served the soup with some thin slices of a special sort of smoked tofu (Black Forest Style) with also some herbs in it. I just discovered it for me and already love it a lot!

The next dish offers a great opportunity to use scraps and is still amazingly delicious. What I bought were wheat flour tortillas, some vegan like meat chunks "chicken style" - a product I don't buy very often but it fit in here very well, romaine lettuce and vegan mayonnaise. What I found in my fridge were a carrot, a piece of turnip, two brown champignons, a rest of kidney beans and the hummus I had for breakfast. 

While I fried the "chicken" in a hot pan until golden brown, I prepared the veggies and fried them for some minutes until al dente. I seasoned with some tamari sauce and pepper and let the mixture cool down a bit. Then I stired in some mayonnaise and hummus.

I prepared the lettuce. 

I spread the tofuchicken-vegetables mixture evenly on three tortillas, springled the romaine on top and rolled it up as tight as possible.

I served it cut in two pieces. 

The third dish is a salad - finally!! I couldn't let my entry to the lettuce theme without a salad.

The ingredients for this were: some mixed lettuce leaves like lambs, frisée, romaine lettuce and beet leaves and radicchio, edible flowers, half an apple, blueberries and dried cranberries and finely chopped fennel. 

I served the salad in a bowl of radiccio leaves. The dressing was made of a greek olive oil, apple cider vinegar, raspberry gelly, salt and fresh ground pepper.

All the three dishes served together...

This is a more "everyday version" of the salad though I could get use to these beautiful radicchio bowls ...

Another proof photo: 

I didn't think of a desert made of lettuce. Maybe one or two of the other contestants come up with a great idea. But when I think about it a childhood memory come back to my mind. A wonderful desert on summer days - or even the whole meal on very hot days- was fresh harvest butter lettuce from my moms or grandmas garden mixed with nothing else but fresh lemon juice and sprinkled with white sugar. That was the best thing possible! 

I wish all of you great success in the challenge and a nice week! ☀️

Sort:  

Yum yum yum oh everything looks and sounds so good and the pictures are excellent!!!! This is an AMAZING post!!! Girl you can throw down!!

Mwah! 💋 I lean back in my chair now and enjoy reading the coming posts without ruffle or excitement. 😁 I am totally relaxed now. Thank you for your compliment!

So early and such a great entry from you my friend! This is really an amazing meal that I would love to enjoy at any given time!
I am just out of words seeing all the dishes you made based on the humble lettuce...for sure this is one of the best entries i've seen since the start of SIC!
Great idea with the radicchio bowl! Love it!

Wow! Such a huge compliment! ☺️ Thank you so much!
This week it will be up to the last minute, I am afraid. I am visiting my parents and won't be back before Wednesday late at night ... so, we'll see! Nuts nuts nuts nuts ....

That's a beautiful meal! I would like to try that soup - and the black forest tofu, too. That's the cutest salad I've seen, in the radicchio bowl. And all those Pansy flowers add a bright touch for the late winter! Very nice! :D

☺️ How nice of you to say! Thank you so much! I am happy that you like it! Have a beautiful weekend!

looks and sounds absolutely amazing and wonderful ! Just beautiful all 3 dishes a perfect menu !

Thank you soo much for saying this! I really appreciate your support!

Very colourful and pretty dishes - I love your presentation @pusteblume

Thank you for your compliment and your support! It's much appreciated! 😘

Wow this looks almost too pretty to eat! Good luck!

Hehe! We were so hungry, we didn't care ... ate it all ... 😋

wow that looks amazing! I just followed you 😘😘

Thank you for your support! 😊

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 02:02:49
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 502.38/800.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 49
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@pusteblume, great post. I'm squeezing my brain with this week's theme... Really difficult i must say hehe.
Well done!
You have time for another entry 😀

Aaand?! Have you got any other idea on how to contribute? I forgot the dessert! I still need a dessert! Would you make one? 🙃

Hahaha letucce dessert... That would be weird!!

It would be really interesting to see one I think! 😄

Looks amazing @pusteblume and very tasty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56465.77
ETH 2331.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36