Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #05 : Vegan sweet potato chowder

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago

I must admit something that you probably already knew. I tend to steer clear of vegan recipes as much as cat avoids the rain. But, with a boyfriend that tries to live healthy(And I mean: he TRIES) but fails because of my cooking, it is quite hard to avoid the occasional healthy meal. Yes, once in a while and fairly often since we are together, I make dishes that have less meat in them. Occasionally I go off the chain and load the train to the meat town but most of the times I will push my boundaries and create something that we both enjoy.

And there is nothing wrong with an all-veggie dish, I have nothing against these. I am just not built that way and I crave meat. I also put food as one of my life priorities as it is the one thing we need every day and can make us happy with each bite. I love food and for that reason, I could never be on a specific diet or not eat meat. And, if I die earlier because of it, I will die happy.

Okay, let's get off the life philosophy thoughts and on the food topic. Today I made something I have made a lot since meeting my boyfriend. A chowder. I like these because he(boyfriend) never makes them and they are different from any food he crates. I need me some variety. Plus, you can make a great chowder from almost anything if you mix the right ingredients. You have seen me do that before! I also like them on the thicker side of consistency, so they almost resemble a porridge. Most of the times. It depends on the main ingredient.

Here is the Steemit Iron Chef contest

Today I made a Sweet potato chowder. It took me an hour to prepare and I came up with around six to eight portions. Depending on if you are in a restaurant or at home your portions will last accordingly :D

20180703_174637.jpg

Ingredients

800 g sweet potato
1 l of vegetable broth
170 g Chickpeas
1 green bell pepper
2 onions
3 tablespoons of olive oil
salt, pepper, greens, spices of your choosing
Any seeds of your liking for garnishing (I used pumpkin seeds)

For the toasted bread

A bit of white or rye bread
3 tablespoons of olive oil
3 cloves of garlic

20180703_163938.jpg

This is a very simple recipe to make. You will need a pot and an oven if you are making the toasted bread.

First off, peel the sweet potatoes and the onions.

Dice the onions and put them in a big pot, add a spoon of olive oil and bring up to medium heat.

Let the onions cook for around 3 minutes.

Cut up the bell pepper in bigger pieces. I used it because I had to put it someplace. It had been in the fridge for a couple of days already.

20180703_165815.jpg

Cut up your sweet potato and add it in the pot, add the rest of the olive oil.

Let the contents of the pot simmer for around five minutes and then add in the vegetable broth. I used water and vegetable mix.

Bring up the heat and wait until the water comes to a boil. Then bring the heat back down to a comfortable medium.

Add all of your spices depending on your preference. You will be able to add extra later on so do not go overboard with it.

Mix the ingredients, put on the lid on the pot and leave for around 15 minutes.

20180703_173010(0).jpg

While the chowder is boiling, preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius and cut up your bread into small cubes.

Add the olive oil in a bowl that can go into the oven, then cut up the garlic into smaller pieces and squish it in the bowl.

Put the bowl into the oven for 10 minutes.

Take it out after, mix in the bread in so the oil soaks into it and put it back into the oven. Leave for ten to fifteen minutes.

20180703_172441(0).jpg

While the bread is getting ready, return to your chowder. Take off the lid and add in the chickpeas, drained of any and all water.

Boil for five more minutes. All the ingredients should be soft at this point.

When the five minutes have passed, bring down the heat and blend the contents of the pot. Either with a hand blender or into a heat-resistant blender.

If you would like your chowder to be more liquid, you can add a little bit of extra water. If not, it is going to be medium-thick in consistency.

20180703_174606 (1).jpg

Make a taste test to check if no more spices are needed.

And now you can add all the extras. Put the chowder in a bowl, take the toasted bread pieces and put them on top of the dish, add some seeds and greens.

And that is it! All that is left to do is eat!
Have a good appetite!


Have a great day! Today, tomorrow, and forever.
Linda

Sort:  

Very well done! This one is simple and pure, healthy, not complicated to prepare and still incredibly delicious! I imagine myself with a bowl of this sitting on my couch with a blanket around me enjoying a fresh late summer night ... ✨

Yes! It is one of my favorite chowders. I had never tried to use sweet potatoes for the dish but this turned out great!

I am still "learning to love" sweet potatoes. I don't like them all the time yet. But this recipe could be one to fall in love with sweet potatoes.

Really? I actually prefer sweet potato over a lot of other vegetables. But that might be because I am way too much in love with potatoes :D

Ohhhh WHY? I have cravings now... I love sweet potatos and me and Hec are vegetarians... like I read the whole post watering my mouth hahaha :) nom nom!

No, meat is life!!!! ;D
Yes, I like d this one a lot, it was really good!
Also, I need to write you, just don't give up on me! I am busy and want to chat when I have more time. :)

Hello my friend! First of all apologies for my super late reply!
Lovely entry as usual, with the beautiful tag...got me hungry here!

Haha, better late than never, right? :D Thank you :)

@lindahas enjoy this sweet potato corn chowder! If you make it, I’d love to see a photo

Am, if I make sweet potato corn chowder? I made something very similar here today.

@lindahas I eat a lot of sweet potatoes n just when I think they're going to get repetitive

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 155 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

It looks amazing! You made me hungry :))

In that case all that is left to do is go make some food :D

I could never be on a specific diet or not eat meat. And, if I die earlier because of it, I will die happy.

I feel ya. Now, thanks to you, I'm hungry, and it's like 4am here... haha, going to make some Arepas.

No need to blame me for your hungriness :P :D

What an appetising vegan dish from a avid meat lover. Never say never though, most vegans were once ppl who would never live without meat, even myself and there are many reasons ppl make the switch and its not just for health, u never know it might happen to u too.

Thank you! :)
Yeah, that is very true! I might switch one day. Only time will tell that. I must admit, I like a lot of vegan dishes and I do not eat that much meat in general but I do love to snack on something or make an extra meaty plate once in a while. Those are my favorite.

Also, very sorry for not replying, I must have missed the comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87