Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 03 : Wild Cucumber Syllabub

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

With the help of wild plants, winter-time cucumbers make a delicious dessert! Come into my post and see how!

x wild cucumber syllabub TN.jpg


A Tribute to Summer Cucumbers

Fresh from the garden, cucumbers have so much more flavor than any store-bought cucumber in the wintertime. That's one reason I like to grow my own produce or find it in the wild. And focus on eating what's in season. The flavors in everything are so much more alive. I wish everyone could experience fresh fruits and vegetables right from their own yard or neighborhood.


Getting My Ingredients Together

I knew my store-bought cucumbers weren't going to be top-notch in their flavor. But I didn't want to hide them, either. So I decided to make something mild -- and try to complement whatever flavor I could get from these cukes, rather than overpower them.

x wild cucumber syllabub 1.jpg

I know that first picture looks odd. Oh well. That's the way it is sometimes, when I'm using wild plants in the kitchen! In the top image: a scruffy old Borage plant protected from the weather in a blackberry patch, a prickly branch from a Colorado Blue Spruce tree, and a dried seedhead of Smooth Sumac. I use just the newly growing center of the borage plant. I snip off the needles of the Spruce and make a Spruce sugar syrup. And I take the fuzzy red sumac seeds for a quick spin in the blender. I sift out their hard seeds, leaving just a tart lemon-flavored fuzz.

In the lower left: the cucumber-flavored borage center leaves, spearmint leaves, and lemon balm leaves. And more of the gingko nuts I foraged recently. In the lower right: I'm steeping dried homegrown Bartlett pears in white wine. And doing the same with thinly sliced cucumbers. I let the pears soak a couple days and the cucumbers for a few hours. The wine really did take on the cucumber and pear flavors. It's worth drinking on its own, lol.

Just a quick word about those gingko nuts. I dry-roasted them until they popped open like popcorn. If you ever try this yourself, be sure to put a lid on the pan. Those nuts are downright ballistic when they pop open! After taking the nutmeats out of their shells, I chopped them. And dry-roasted them in a cast iron skillet on the stove until they were crisp. This makes them taste more nutty than when I boiled them for my Olive-Gingko Chopped Salad.


Serving It Up!

This is a pretty simple dish. I finely chopped a peeled cucumber, mixed the cuke cubes with a little sugar, and let them sit a couple hours to draw out their moisture. I made a syllabub by whipping the heavy cream with sugar until it was stiff. Then I beat in a mix of the pear and cucumber wine. I sampled the wine mix first, to decide the right balance of the pear and cucumber flavors - and then again to be sure it was just right. I was surprised at how well the cucumber flavor came through in the syllabub.

x wild cucumber syllabub TN.jpg
I put the Spruce syrup over the crispy cucumber cubes. Then spooned the syllabub on top. With the finely chopped borage, spearmint, and lemon balm in the green - and the sumac spice in red. The crispy dry-roasted Gingko nuts are scattered around.

x wild cucumber syllabub 3.jpg

If I got this at a restaurant, I wouldn't even know what anything is. But this is one of the most delicious things I've eaten in awhile! The mild crunchy cucumbers. The spruce syrup has a resinous flavor offset by the sweetness in the syrup and the foamy syllabub. That does have a cucumber-wine flavor sweetened by the pears. The minty lemon of the herbs, the bright tart lemon of the sumac. And the crisp chestnut-flavored gingko nuts. That's a crazy combination!

x wild cucumber syllabub 2.jpg
This is downright magnificent! I really can't quite believe I made something this good -- from storebought cucumbers!


What Do You Think?

  • Do you grow cucumbers?
  • Have you eaten any of the wild plants shown in this post?
  • Do you forage for any wild food?
  • Would you eat my cucumber syllabub dessert?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series!

I try to make content that's interesting! If you found this informative and helpful, please give it an upvote and a resteem.


Plant List

  • Gingko - Gingko biloba - cooked nuts
  • Colorado Blue Spruce - Picea pungens - needles
  • Smooth Sumac - Rhus glabra - seedhairs
  • Lemon balm - Melissa officinalis - tender leaves
  • Borage - Borago officinalis - tender young leaves
  • Spearmint - Mentha spicata - leaves
  • Bartlett pears - Pyrus communis - fruit

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

You are in a class of your own! This dish and many of your other dishes would earn you a very high ranking in the NYC fine dining world that I am familiar with. The dish is very simple looking, but very complex in taste. To me, it is a winner!

  • I have grown cucumbers in the past, but not recently, due to my travel schedule. When I did, I loved it. There were always too many delicious cucumbers around the house! Not really a problem!
  • I have had spruce "champagne" that was so refreshing.
  • I sprinkle sumac on grilled meats. It offers a wonderful sourness.
  • I have had ginkgo nuts in asian dishes
  • You already know my love of choice wild mushrooms!
  • I would love to have your cucumber syllabub dessert!

Good luck in SIC and happy foraging!

Wow, thanks so much @chefsteve! That means a lot coming from you as a chef -- and an experienced fan of wild food! There are so many great plants with flavors that aren't common, but are so good!I'd like to try some spruce champagne! I have a commercial Spruce Beer staying cool on my back porch, waiting for me...

I use sumac a lot -- more than lemons, lol. I was surprised how good the Gingko nuts are -- and how different they seem from boiling versus the pan-roasted. There is some incredible value going to waste under those messy, stinky Gingko trees! Happy foraging to you, too. The spring season is getting started! :D :D :D

Beautiful dessert and it looks yummy! It's great that you plant cucumbers, too! It's one among a few vegetables that I like.... Everything look fresh from your garden! Really great!

Good luck for Steemit Iron Chef! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo! Cucumbers are fun to grow. One plant can make so many of them. And they can double in size in a couple days. Do you ever see people growing cucumbers in your area?

You're welcome! Yes, I have ever seen people growing cucumbers in my area! It's really great plant! ;)

That syllabub sounds amazing- so innovative :-)

That's one thing I like about the Steemit Iron Chef series -- I've made things that I would never have thought of before. And I'll make this again, for sure. It's pretty amazing.

This is a full flavored packed entry my friend! It's true that I have never tasted most of the ingredients you used here...but I can feel on the plate that this dish must really be super tasty!
As usual I am learning a lot from the pro!

One reason I really like the Steemit Iron Chef series is that it pushes me. I end up making something that I never would have dreamed up on my own initiative. Or it gets me to think about an old recipe in a different way. I will make this cucumber dessert again, for sure. I surprised myself with how good it is! And it shows how wild plants can add a lot to a dish, without being the center of the dish. Thanks for throwing down the challenges! :D

I would def eat this it looks and sounds very refreshing :)

I think anyone that likes cucumbers would like this dessert. It was fun to make, too.

Its different :)

Sometimes different works out -- and sometimes it doesn't, lol. I have made some things that were pretty terrible! ; )

As always you give us a beautiful presentation it is a delight to see your dishes and your explanations I like it a lot.
Have a beautiful weekend @haphazard-hstead

Thanks! I'm glad my explanations are helpful. There are so many plants that people can eat, just growing out there, on their own. I hope more people can learn them and enjoy them, too!

That looks so delicious @haphazard-hstead.

Wow! It's really amazing and wonderful cooking @haphazzard. It's really wonderful use of your wildplants and winter time Cucumbers in your kitchen. I really appreciate your lovely cooking.
I love this lovely and most delicious dish of fresh wild plants and cucumbers. I really want to eat this syllabub desert.
Thank you so much for sharing your most amazing and wonderful cooking and dish with us.

Thanks, @anayakhan! I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I could eat too much of this, too, lol! I'm glad you enjoyed my dessert, too! :D

That looks and sounds so delicious !

Thanks, @globaldoodlegems! It was really good!

I think that take photo of food is the hardest... I tried it so many times. You've done it ;) Great photo and post! Like your style how you put things on plate;)

Thanks, @liltammy! The Steemit Iron Chef challenge has pushed me to take better photos and make my food look nicer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58