You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 03 : Wild Cucumber Syllabub

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

You are in a class of your own! This dish and many of your other dishes would earn you a very high ranking in the NYC fine dining world that I am familiar with. The dish is very simple looking, but very complex in taste. To me, it is a winner!

  • I have grown cucumbers in the past, but not recently, due to my travel schedule. When I did, I loved it. There were always too many delicious cucumbers around the house! Not really a problem!
  • I have had spruce "champagne" that was so refreshing.
  • I sprinkle sumac on grilled meats. It offers a wonderful sourness.
  • I have had ginkgo nuts in asian dishes
  • You already know my love of choice wild mushrooms!
  • I would love to have your cucumber syllabub dessert!

Good luck in SIC and happy foraging!

Sort:  

Wow, thanks so much @chefsteve! That means a lot coming from you as a chef -- and an experienced fan of wild food! There are so many great plants with flavors that aren't common, but are so good!I'd like to try some spruce champagne! I have a commercial Spruce Beer staying cool on my back porch, waiting for me...

I use sumac a lot -- more than lemons, lol. I was surprised how good the Gingko nuts are -- and how different they seem from boiling versus the pan-roasted. There is some incredible value going to waste under those messy, stinky Gingko trees! Happy foraging to you, too. The spring season is getting started! :D :D :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28