Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #16: Honey-glazed Grilled Avocado with Roasted Avocado-Wild Dandelion Root Puree

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Avocados and dandelion roots in a roasted puree! To me, avocados seem like summer fare, all light and bright. But it's winter and I want food that's rich and complex. That's what's I got by combining avocados and dandelion roots in a roasted puree. And by grilling honey-glazed avocado slices, too. With a side of roasted beet and wild chickweed, this small plate turns avocado on its head, in a seasonal and culinary way -- and in a good way!

x avocados TN.jpg


Public Service Announcement

This is a blatant pitch to check out my BLACKLUX Holiday Fund-raising Party posts that are coming out every day from now through New Year's Day. All the SBD from those posts is going to help @blacklux recover from Hurricanes Irma and Maria that devastated Puerto Rico. The holiday season is a time of gratitude and giving -- and it's amazing that Steemit and the Steem blockchain make it so easy for us to help our distant friends when they can use a hand. My party will have music, food, games, prizes, and more over the coming days -- so I hope to see you there!

Now, back to the regularly scheduled Steemit Iron Chef post! Avocados! :D


Getting My Ingredients Together

I had to go buy my avocados, but everything else I could rustle up here on the homestead. I dug some dandelion roots and found some tender chickweed leaves. I retrieved a garden beet from where I store them outdoors for the winter -- in a large tote filled with sand that I foraged from a clean river in the Siuslaw National Forest. And I still have honey left from the three beehives I kept a few years ago - those bees made a lot of honey, thank goodness!

x avocados 1.jpg

  1. Large, tender dandelion roots can come from even scraggly-looking plants in the winter. The best roots are from areas where the soil is light and fluffy -- easy for the roots to grow and easy for me to dig them out!
  2. The wild chickweed is small this time of year, but there are protected spots where I can find some good-sized greens.
  3. I soak the dandelion roots in a couple changes of water to clean them up, before taking them into the kitchen to cut the roots off the plants I dug. I lightly use a carrot peeler to remove any hairs and the thin skin of the roots. Those lighter-colored roots are perfect for eating!
  4. Avocados and a garden beet. Avocados don't grow around here in Oregon!
  5. I put the dandelion roots, peeled avocados, and beets in a small roaster, in the oven at 400 degrees Fahrenheit. The dandelion roots cooked first, into a soft, mild-flavored, earthy mush. I pureed that with the roasted avocados when they got soft and cooked through. The beets took the longest to get tender and rich-flavored.

I grilled more avocado on a cast-iron grill pan, after lightly coating it with homestead honey. And then plated it all up!


Serving It Up!

Now this is a wintertime avocado plate! I like that it uses local ingredients, from my own yard - except for the avocados. I topped the balls of avocado-dandelion root puree with thin discs of roasted beets. That makes this a nice holiday treat that looks seasonal and tastes wonderful!

It seems like a weird combination of ingredients, but it's all really delicious! The puree is like richly flavored mashed potatoes, but with more complexity. The honey-glazed grilled avocado slices are so, so good. The honey carmelized and goes so well with the soft avocado.

x avocados 3.jpg

x avocados 4.jpg

x avocados 2.jpg


What Do You Think?

  • Have you ever eaten any dandelion roots?
  • Do you forage for any wild food?
  • Would you eat my wintertime avocado creations?
  • Will you come to my BLACKLUX Holiday Fund-raising Party? I hope to see you there!

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series!

I try to make content that's interesting! If you found this informative and helpful, please give it an upvote and a resteem.


Plant and Fungus List

  • Avocado - Persea americana - fruit
  • Chickweed - Stellaria media - tender leaves and stems
  • Dandelion - Taraxicum officianale - roots
  • Beets - Beta vulgaris - roots, preserved in damp sand

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

The images compelled me to prepare the dish and eat as soon as possible. It must be delicious as the images show. Thanks dear!

Looks beautiful ... never had dandelion roots... not a lot to forage in the big city where I live ...

Thanks, @globaldoodlegems! There are a lot of weeds in big cities, too. And dandelions can grow in tough conditions. The trick is to find a place with good soil. People think dandelion roots are just for coffee, but with the younger roots, they are really good when they are roasted like that, sort of like parsnips.

Lovely dish and great new information as usual! That’s why I love your entries! They’re so creative! So curious to try the honey-glazed grilled avocado!

Thanks, @offoodandart! I'd sure like to be able to forage avocados, lol. But in the Pacific Northwest, we have to be content to buy them and forage for the dandelions! ; )

I love dandelions! They get a bad rap but they are so versatile.

Yay for dandelions. They are so versatile. The roasted roots really are good - even on their own, without the avocado. I'm in danger of digging out to many of my own dandelions in my yard, lol. And dandelions are so productive in making greens here in the Pacific Northwest. I eat a lot of them - some leaves get so big, I feel like I've caught a big trout, lol. And the flowers, the buds, the hearts of the plants, and even the stems. Go dandelions! :D

Beautiful dish! This looks yummy and healthy. It's good that most ingredient came from your own yard. The avocados are very expensive here, so I haven't tried them yet.... ;)

Good luck for the challenge! ;))

Thanks, @tangmo! I bet you would like the taste of avocados, because you like so many of the fruits that grow in Thailand. I don't usually buy avocados, either. So it was good all my other ingredients were free!

With my pleasure! Really! So, I would love to try the avocado someday..... I heard that it is very healthy fruit. ;)

I wonder if you could grow avocados in the area where you live. Do they grow in your region of Thailand?

I don't think we can grow avocados in Thailand. We have to import them and that's why they are very expensive here....

At least you have so many good local and regional fruits and vegetables! It's the same here with the avocados. I don't buy them very often. But I have lots of other fruit to enjoy!

You're right! I have plenty of local fruits and vegetables that are very cheap here.... And it's great that you have so many fruits and vegetables from your garden to enjoy! ;)

Yay for lots of local and homegrown fruits and vegetables! : )

Now that dish looks very appetizing and healthy. I think I would try it with a nice herbal dressing and fresh bread sticks. Better I stop here as I'm beginning to become hungry. Thanks for the post.

Those would both be great additions, for sure! Now I'm getting hungry -- and there's no more avocado left! ; )

This plate of food looks amazing. Every part of the dish makes sense and the flavors and textures complement each other nicely. What a great way to celebrate avocados in the winter! I have never eaten the roots of dandelions. I have only eaten the leaves. Dandelion is actually my favorite flower. I love the yellow color and I let them grow all over my yard. My neighbors frown at my yellow and green yard from their monoculture yards! I forage wild mushrooms and also watercress. Wild watercress is probably the most healthful and delicious food in the world! I would like to eat your winter inspired avocado dish. I will be off the grid starting tomorrow until December 30. So, when I get back I will support whatever posts you have made in the last week for your fund raising cause.

Thanks, @chefsteve! That's neat that you like dandelion flowers so much! I eat a lot of them. And the leaves and the buds and the roots. Dandelions are a treasure trove, no matter what your neighbors think!

I'm glad you appreciate and forage that watercress, too! So good! I've enjoyed your comments about wild mushrooms over the course of the Steemit Iron Chef, too. Aren't mushrooms so amazing. I think you said you focus on the best tasting ones and not so much the ones that are less flavorful. There are some great tasting ones out there, that's for sure!

The party will still be going when you get back. Although people may be a little tipsy and wild by then. But then, that's getting close to New Year's Eve, when anything can happen! Have a great break from the grid! Happy holidays to you and your family!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28