Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #09: Silver-Dollar Banana Pancakes with Wild Rosehip-Pennyroyal SyrupsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Pennyroyal brings some foraging controversy, but it's a great match for the flavor of bananas. Especially with the addition of Wild Rosehips in a thick syrup. Come into my post for a sweet dessert plate! :D

x banana pancake with rosehip pennyroyal syrup 1.jpg


On a Walk - Foraging Rosehips and Pennyroyal

When I go on a walk, I take along a little foraging kit, just in case I find things that are good to eat. I usually find something to eat, one way or another, lol. This week, I came across a couple things that I thought would really go well with the taste of this week's Steemit Iron Chef ingredient - bananas.

First, I found Pennyroyal that has started to grow again with the cooler, wetter weather. I wrote about Pennyroyal in my very first Steemit post. Pennyroyal has a stronger, richer, more medicinal flavor than mints like spearmint or peppermint. Used in moderation with something sweet, it provides a mysterious complexity that's hard to describe. But it's really good!

Second, I found a big stand of wild roses, with lots of rosehips - the fruit produced by the rose flowers. They were on the small side, but they were ripe. I chewed on a few and liked their flavor. Their flavor was rich, and strong enough to match the Pennyroyal and Bananas! So I collected enough to make some rosehip syrup.

x rosehip pennyroyal syrup 1.jpg
Top left: Pennyroyal flowers and leaves. I pick the strands of leaves that don't have any flowers. Top right: Rosehips. These are the biggest ones out growing in the wild, but they were what I found and they had good flavor. Bottom: Rosehips, Pennyroyal, and a few flowers of wild Chickory that I also found on my walk.

It's worth noting that there are a lot of scary articles about Pennyroyal, in print and on the Internet. But Pennyroyal has been studied a lot! It is approved in the US as a food additive for direct addition to food for human consumption. And it's approved in Europe, too, within limits based on the type of food. I'm not eating a big bowl of Pennyroyal leaves and I'm not using Pennyroyal oil. I only use Pennyroyal as a flavoring, in food or tea, a few times a year. So I am comfortable using it and serving it to other people, too. (I drink beer and eat cookies and ice cream, too.)


In the Kitchen - Making Rosehip-Pennyroyal Syrup and Banana Pancakes

It's so easy to make Banana Pancakes. I just mash up the bananas and mix in some flour. That's it. The key is to mix and mix and mix and mix, and stir and stir and stir and stir, the bananas and flour. The mixing, and time, develops the gluten in the flour. And it really brings out the flavor of the bananas. It makes a great little pancake.

x banana pancake ingredients 2.jpg
There's only two ingredients in my little pancakes: bananas and flour. That's it! I also chopped some homegrown English walnuts until I had some very fine "walnut dust".

The Rosehip-Pennyroyal Syrup is a different story. It takes some processing! If I had bigger rosehips with thicker flesh, it would be a lot easier. But these rosehips had a lot of seeds! And, like all rosehips, they have little hairs in with those seeds that bother a lot of people. So it takes some effort to get the rosehips turned into syrup!

To process these rosehips, I cut off their ends and then opened each rosehip to remove the seeds and hairs. It gets a little sticky! But it's easier to do by soaking the rosehips for a few minutes in hot water. This cleaning doesn't have to be perfect.

Then I put all the rosehip pulp in a little cookpot, covered with water, and simmered it until the pulp was completely soft. I let that cool a bit and then mashed the mix through a sieve, separating out any remaining seeds. Then I put all the cleaned pulp mix into the blender -- and then put that through the sieve once more.

x rosehip pennyroyal syrup 2.jpg
It does take some effort to turn Rosehips into a thick, rich syrup! Left: First I took the stem and blossom ends off each rosehip. Top right: These rosehips had a lot of seeds! Notice the little hairs surrounding the seeds. They bother some folks, so it's worth the effort to really clean and cook the rosehips well. Lower right: What was left from cleaning the rosehips and steeping the Pennyroyal in the rosehip syrup process.

All this heating and sifting and blending and separating left me with a clean Rosehip liquid. To make the syrup, I simmered it down to about half the volume. Then I added some sugar and simmered more, until the whole mixture got thick like syrup. Throughout this last process, I added and then removed a succession of Pennyroyal pieces. This let each strand of Pennyroyal steep in the liquid, but only long enough to provide its good flavors -- not so long that any bitter components would come out.


On My Plate - Silver-Dollar Banana Pancakes with Rosehip-Pennyroyal Syrup, Dusted with Homegrown Walnuts

The Rosehip-Pennyroyal Syrup is a perfect match for the strong, but simple, flavor of these little Banana pancakes. At first, I only put a little on the plate, and then dusted everything with the finely chopped walnuts and finely chopped Chickory flowers. But that syrup is so delicious, it was wrong to only have a little on the plate!

Even at a fancy restaurant, I would eat every last bit of that syrup! Even if I had to lick my plate! It's a mystical, magical flavor that I haven't encountered in anything else. It's complex and rich. And delicious!

x banana pancake with rosehip pennyroyal syrup 3.jpg
This view is for @galberto. He likes seeing that cup of coffee! ; )

x banana pancake with rosehip pennyroyal syrup 4.jpg

x banana pancake with rosehip pennyroyal syrup 5.jpg

x banana pancake with rosehip pennyroyal syrup 2.jpg


What Do You Think?

  • Have you ever foraged for Rosehips or Pennyroyal?
  • Have you ever had any food or drinks with Rosehips or Pennyroyal?
  • Have you encountered any cautions in using Pennyroyal?
  • Would you eat my Banana Pancakes with the Rosehip-Pennyroyal Syrup?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series. I haven't been able to be on Steemit much lately, but I can't miss the contest series or I would miss out on my 1 point! ;D


Plant List

  • Rosehips - Rosa spp. - fruits
  • Pennyroyal - Mentha pulegium - leaves
  • Chicory - Cichorium intybus - flowers, summer until frost
  • English Walnut - Juglans regia - nuts

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Hi @haphazard-hstead this food are quite tasty looking, wow which country's food is this?

I am in the United States. I just made this up myself, no recipe.

Oh, its so gooooood, thank you, i may try the recipe and prepare it myself.

Im following you already

It sounds yummy :) I would only caution pregnant women to avoid pennyroyal (even as a flavoring)...aside from that it should be fine in small amounts every once in a while.

I have used it medicinally for many ailments. It is one of the best herbs we can find.

Thanks for that input! Sometimes it seems like pregnant women should avoid almost everything, lol. I'm glad you know the Pennyroyal plant. I love its fragrance.

It does seem that way, right?
Pennyroyal specifically is an abortifacient though.

It does have an amazing scent... :)

Yet the food with pennyroyal in it, is not required to have any warnings on it. And if drinking tea was all it took, abortion would not be the heavily regulated thing that it is. But dose and sensitivity are hard to figure for all cases. I can appreciate that the Pennyroyal oil is a lot more concentrated, with serious effects, with plenty of documentation, for sure! At least anyone can use pennyroyal to enjoy its fragrance!

Yep :) I think it would be super rare that a tiny bit could be dangerous...but we never know. It is like avoiding sage in food while pregnant.
It has been used in tea form along with Tansy, for centuries. And you are right, the problem is that if it is not prepared correctly, or dosed correctly, it can cause liver and kidney toxicity, and has often resulted in severe illness and death. Modern abortion techniques removed those threats.

They cannot label it though, because the FDA prohibition of free medical speech with medicinal herbs. If they put warnings on it, it would be admitting it has medicinal qualities. The info can be written, but cannot be sold with the herb or products. It has to be in a different area. Craziness ;)

For everyone else though, it has no risks used as flavoring, or in teas.

It's a strange, complicated world we live in! Thanks for all that explanation!

the wild rosehip-pennyroyal syrup sounds so good. What a great combo. I have had rosehips before but not pennyroyal. I would really like to try your dish so that I can experience those flavors that are new to me.

I think you could tell it's a mint of some sort. But it's a richer, deeper, more mellow flavor than spearmint or even peppermint. It would be interesting to see how a chef like you, who is used to discerning flavors in food, would taste it and describe it! I do think you would like it!

I have to get my paws on some of that syrup! What a labor of love! It’s probably totally worth it though from the looks of your dish! Love it :)

Thanks! I wouldn't want to make a gallon all at once, lol, especially from those thin-fleshed rosehips. Those fat, fat rosehips from some roses would be a whole lot easier. If I run across some of those, I'll make more of this. It's good!

Looks like perfect little bites and the syrup sounds amazing !

Thanks! It would be nice if everyone could taste that syrup -- it's so good! And those little bites were so concentrated with banana flavor. They really went well together!

I will definitely try this out my friend, without hesitation! Another great post where we get to learn so much!
I have never seen or used pennyroyal or rosehips before. I will look out for them!

Pennyroyal and roses are so widely distributed around the world, as invasive plants even, you may have them close to you. The rosehips are easiest to process when they are big, fat, thick-fleshed ones. Domestic roses work fine, if the rose fruits have good flavor and the plants haven't been sprayed with stuff you don't want to eat.

Would eat, yes!

Also, your post reminded me of a couple other plants I've foraged that I left of the list last week. Spruce tips (as a tanic kimchi base, and syrup flavoring and bitters element) and walnuts which I've used for dye and are too much work to use for food. :)

We have walnuts, acorns, and another tree-nut the squirrels like -- I'm sure we'd manage to eat all three if things got tight.

You've got some good eating in all those nuts!

You short-changed your foraging in your earlier reply, lol! You know what's out there! ; )
I agree about those spruce tips being good! I really like them in cookies and for making a wild version of balsamic vinegar. I like using domestic and wild walnuts. They take some effort, but that's what the long nights of winter are for -- cracking nuts, lol!

You always have something delicious going, things that will get the taste buds tingling with new flavours :)

Thanks, @karenb54! There are so many great flavors out there -- that nobody can buy at any price. But it's out there, for free.

Just got to have the know how :)

This looks really delicious dessert! I especially like banana. The Pennyroyal flowers are very cute with lovely color. Rosehips are beautiful with bright color.

Good luck for the contest! ;)

I thought you might like that banana, lol! I think you would like this syrup, too, if you like mint at all. It has a nice fruit taste, too.

You're right! I really love that kind of fruit taste; esp. banana and the mint, too! ;)

So I think you would like my little pancakes! :D

For sure! ;)

Wow, just always so impressed by your crop and herb knowledge- wish mine was as good as yours!

Thanks, @foodflaneur. You are so good at really transforming all the crops and herbs you know into so many different things. It is amazing how many different food plants are growing out there, all around us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56