Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #01 : Caramelized Tomato sauce with Mascarpone Mousse

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

I actually made a 4 course dinner based on the theme of this week and invited some friends over to taste this weeks theme, they are hoping I will do this every week hehe ! My creation for this weeks theme of Tomatoes and my entry for the first week of #steemit-ironchef is Caramelized Tomato sauce with Mascarpone Mousse, a dish I created for this first week of Steemit Iron Chef 2017.

IMG_7599.JPG
Picture of my plated dessert
Since the dish was created in my head for this challenge, this is my first time making it and seeing if my thoughts would be matched by the end dish... to elevate it further next time I would add a mintleave and maybe a few edible flowers for decor... the combination of tastes worked really well, my friends loved the dessert and found it quite unique and interesting the soft velvety Mascarpone Mousse got elevated and refreshed by the thick caramelly sauce with the sour notes from the tomatoes and the lemon, but with an underlying taste of sweet roasted tomato and vanilla... I am happy and proud to say that the dessert lived up to what I had imagined.

IMG_7565.JPG
picture of some of the ingredients

Ingredients for the Caramelized Tomato Sauce
vanilla pod
sugar
peeled tomatoes ( stalk cocktail tomatoes)
freshly squeezed lemon juice
I let the ingredients simmer til thick then I sieve them to get rid of seeds and chunks...
IMG_7566.JPG
pic of the simmering...

Ingredients for simple Mascarpone Mousse
Mascarpone cream cheese
Vanilla pod
Vanilla sugar
sugar
whipped double cream

and I forgot to take the pic with the note when I took my first plated pics ... luckily my daughter only tasted hers so I could make a pic of her plate with the note
IMG_7604.JPG

The full 4 course dinner
Deconstructed Tricolore salat
IMG_7590.JPG
you can see how I did this here https://steemit.com/food/@globaldoodlegems/deconstructed-tricolore-salad
Gazpacho Soup
IMG_7585.JPG
you can see my full steps post on this dish here https://steemit.com/food/@globaldoodlegems/my-gazpacho-soup
Smokey Tomato sauce with smoked Bacon and Cheese Ravioli
IMG_7561.JPG
You can see how I made this dish here https://steemit.com/food/@globaldoodlegems/smokey-tomato-sauce-with-smoked-bacon-and-cheese-ravioli
and the final dish the dessert that is my entry to the very first week of #steemit-ironchef
Caramelized Tomato sauce with Mascarpone Mousse
IMG_7598.JPG

I want to thank @progressivechef for making this awesome challenge, I look forward to the weeks to come !

Sort:  

Delicius,,,, yummy 😀😀😀

Thank you so much

hummmm. weird I think tomato sauce on desert. looks good sounds weird.

Thank you ! Well the sauce is caramelized so it is sour and sweet the sweetness is deep and the sour is a good contrast for the creamy sweet Mascarpone Mousse ( My guests also thought it sounded a bit weird ... but it tastes really good together hehe

thanks for sharing this to us

I am sure this is very yummy. All the best in the contest :)

Thank you so much

great post, globaldoodlegems as usual!

It would be really a great idea organizing a dinner like this each week aligning with the product of the week! I would love to be there too my friend!
Wonderful idea pairing this lovely vanilla-tomato sauce with the mascarpone cheese, it works perfectly!
Yes you could have pimped it a little bit, but still a great entry my friend!
I am so happy seeing you had a touch of tomatoes on each dish!
Very well done!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, happy to hear that you liked my dish, I was in doubt with using the tag on the other dishes since they are not entries, but I didn't use it as the first tag on them and made it (I hope) clear that only the Dessert was my one entry to the challenge , I hope this is oki, let me know if it is too confusing and I can remove the tags on the other 3 dishes... I hope that it will be possible to make full dinners on the other products too ...I will try ! So happy to be a part of this challenge !

Of course it is ok my friend, you can use the tag. I will only judge the one you submitted as your entry.
I do think most of the other products coming up will be feasible to do such dinners! I'm so happy you are enjoying the contest!

This dish looks so delicious! The creamy mascarpone and the acid and sweet of the tomato caramel is such a great choice!

Thank you so much, the combination was great, they complimented each other really well

Dishes look delicious and attractive. Thank you for your post.

Thank you very much, I am glad that you liked it

Wow, that looks incredible! I never thought to caramelize tomatoes, but it does make sense. Saving this.

Thank you so much, I wanted to create a new dish that went against what one would normally connect with tomatoes, and build a surprising and naughty taste explosion, I had no idea if it would work... hehe but it did work so well... it was fairly easy and cheap to create but it came across as very complicated and posh lol So I was very pleased with my result especially because I normally don't do a lot of desserts ... I tend to love creating starter recipees but after this one I have an itch to try more crazy ideas out ...

This looks yummy! Another way to use mascarpone!

Thank you so much I am glad to hear that you liked my dish

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52