Private memo in wallet transactions

in #steemit-howto8 years ago (edited)

Hello, so I searched google and some posts here on Steemit and no one was talking about how to make your memos private when sending users funds. To be honest I just happened to stumble upon it when sending a tip to @lukewearechange I was going to write down #wearechange but I noticed after I put in the "#" the memo changed from publig to private.

So all you need to do if sending a tip to another user and want the memo to be private you add the "#" before your message. I guess only that user will be able to see it then, but I haven't tried it yet.

Anyway with more information about it? I couldn't find any info on it in the latest blog post update or anything.
Hope this post brought some attention to it and that people can use the private memo function it now if they like.

Sort:  

I can confirm if you use # and change to private IT WILL STALL and never complete the transfer....tried on two different accounts....looks like a feature in development that they have added to Steemit.com but not yet built into the blockchain....guess another Hardfork is incoming soon!

Yeah, thanks for your input. It does seem to be a future implementation! That's pretty cool!

you need to also encode it with your memo key...
Currently you can do this with the cli_wallet tool if you transfer:

Apparently you can read them unencrypted through cli_wallet (logged in with memo key I guess) or right here on steemit when logged in with the memo key

You can read more about the memo key on:
https://steemit.com/steem/@dantheman/how-to-encrypt-a-memo-when-transferring-steem

This is a great Monday morning plot twist!

Haha, I actually can't get a private memo transaction to work now that I'm trying. The transfer just hangs up and loads forever.

Yeah, but the fact that it changes over could imply that it's on the way... that's still a plot twist. Like uncovering the external design of the next iphone. Sure you didn't uncover a working model, but it's still cool info ;)

Aah you are saying its still not functional? Hehe, that would make sense now. I tried like 6 times to get em through. :D

Nice find, but I can't get it to work for me it just hangs up : ( It does however say send private message instead of public

Apparently it might still be a later feature yet to be implemented and working.

In "memo" just start with # and it changes "This Memo is Public" to "This Memo is Private".

I've been wondering the same thing. Hope to see it in the future

Simply Great Information and Presentation

can you explain how i can find memo for my account also I don't know i am wrong or write.

i don't understand the concept of memo. please explain it.

They are referring to a #memorandum added to account #transfers, or discharges. I think you need a program to implement such transfers upon the steemit blockchain securely. The amount transferred and the accounts are still unencrypted, but the memo. is #encrypted for everyone but the two users or anyone with your private memo key.

You should be able to find your public and private memo keys under the Permissions tab of your Wallet tab, which you can find from your profile on steemit.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.71
ETH 3517.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36