You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Reputation and Statistics with STEEM COOL tool - a Qreview

in #steemit-help7 years ago

This is an interesting tool, although I have no idea how many billions of Rep = how many votes or really any idea of how to translate that into a tangible number haha.

I've been stuck at 64 rep forever, man! I must not be making the whales happy enough.

Sort:  

I was at 64 for a long time as well. Now at 65, but still at the lower side. Must have done 10s of posts and 100s of comments already since I got to 65. It really becomes difficult to grow to the next level when in the 60s.

Regarding the billions as your reputation and how a vote, comment, post effects that and with how much; This may be a secret since I didn't find anything about this indeed. My biggest question as well :)

That is the mystery to unravel! What affects the "reputation" variable? I have read the part about upvoting and commenting from people with higher reputations, but do we know that's all it is? Does consistency in posting have anything to do with the number, too?

Good question. I asked @blueorgy (the creator of the tool as well as a witness of Steem) to look into the details since I could not find anything on Steemit other than what @blueorgy wrote a long time ago when Rep was just created and used a different reputation score system. The formula was back then: (Vs*(5.08))(Vp/100) with Vs = Vesting shares and Vp: Voting power (post here). It could very well be that this formula is still correct in essence, but I doubt it since it does not include reputation of the voter. When I know more, I'll post a comment to this post, or EDIT the post itself (when in time before the post editing gets locked up).

Very interesting! That's another reason why folks chase the whales so hard, I guess! As people power down, their reputation and vested shares become disconnected. So the game really is all about vesting shares - reputation, curation, and interest. Thanks for that link, too!

Yep! It all about Rep and SP. I dont think power down has influence on Rep though. Only thing is that with lower SP the votes becomes less valued in $.

With the equation you showed, the reputation of someone doesn't have any impact on the rise or fall of your own. Power downs don't affect reputation at all, but they do reduce the vested shares! I can find folks with reputations of 69, almost 70, that are minnows now, because of powering down. So other folks think the high reputation folks have some importance, but they don't, for any practical purposes. It's only their vested shares (Steem Power) that gives anyone any practical influence.

The post linked from which I have the formula is based on the first ever implementation of the reputation system. I'm pretty sure Rep is now included in the formula. You are correct that for rewards, the SP is important as well as for increasing the Rep. I can imagine most of the users go for the rewards, and to a lesser degree for the Rep. I'm waiting for @blueorgy to give more details to the actual formula.

Thanks for your effort to hunt down that formula! Those of us stuck at 65.4 for weeks, at least, will appreciate knowing how this works! ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66