Understanding Reputation and Statistics with STEEM COOL tool - a Qreview

in #steemit-help7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Two days ago I got my second and third flag in my life here at Steemit (both on the same post; one manual flag and the other an automatic followon flag). That was the trigger for me to learn more about flagging and what the consequences are other than the reduction in post payout.

Reputation

Reputation is an important parameter that is effected by flagging. The reputation score is sometimes an undervalued parameters by Steemians, while it is a super important value. Although I do not have figures and analyses done, the higher the reputation the easier you get new followers.

With posting, commenting, and voting the reputation score grows. Flags or down-votes may reduce the reputation. In general when the reputation of the one who flags is lower then you reputation, than your reputation is not effected. When the reputation of the flagger is higher than yours, your reputation is effected. The larger the difference between the flaggers reputation and yours, the stronger the influence the flag has on your reputation.

I'm still in search of the exact formula/logic how reputation increases/decreases. Maybe you know and can share it with us through a comment to this post?


My Reputation in steemd.com is currently 29,442,543,466,692. That is a mighty big number! :)

However, the number behind your username in you Steemit profile is also Reputation; mine is currently 65. This number is know as the Reputation Level.

The question I wanted to solve, is how are these related? And where can I find more information on this?

Steem Cool

Steem Cool is a little tool to help you understand reputation.

It shows you in a single screen:

  • Reputation Level
  • Reputation
  • Needed Reputation to get to the next Reputation Level

As mentioned before, my Reputation Level is 65 at the moment of writing. While my Reputation is 29,442,543,466,692 according to steemd.com.

Steem Cool (image below) rounds the numbers and shows I have a reputation of 29,443 Billion. The Reputation Points I need to get to the next Reputation Level (in my case 66) is 6,496 Billion.

When you scroll down from the first page of Steem Cool, you find the mathematical formula of how Reputation Level is calculated from the Reputation.

Because the calculation of the Reputation Level is logarithmic (the log10 in the formula), you will see the Reputation Level to increase relatively fast when have a low Reputation Level. The higher the Reputation Level becomes, the slower the Reputation Level increases.

To give you a better feel for what a logarithmic function is, I included the image below that shows a generic logarithmic curve. In this image:

  • X = Reputation
  • Y = Reputation Level

The blue curve shows that by increasing x (Reputation), y (Reputation Score) also increases. However, the rate of increase of y (Reputation Level) slows down fast when x (Reputation) becomes larger.

Steem Cool Web Address

Steem Cool Web Address (URL) = http://steem.cool/

Type in the bar in the middle of your screen the Steemit username you like to get reputation statistics from - the leading '@' is already included - and hit the return/enter button on your keyboard.

Test Results

What can I say; Works flawless and fast!

Roadmap?

Steem Cool does not seem to have a roadmap.

Not sure if it would be easy to build, but I would love to see a detailed reputation graph - per day/hour - and tables. Steemdb has such graph, but not really detailed. I would also like to see reputation per day/hour in a table.

Owner/Creator/Credits

Steem Cool is a tool created by @blueorgy.

All credits to @blueorgy for creation of this tool and making it available to us.

I Hope You Learned Something Today


NJOY

follow me @edje

Sort:  

Great Post! ;) Thanks for the mentions and for utilizing my site steem.cool!

Do you plan further developments to the tool?

I was flagged often during a stupid „experiment“. They hit me again and again because @ned voted me and other whales. Since this time the progress of my reputation nearly stopped. We should have Steem attorneys for handling out a bill to some whales. Thank you foryour posting. My reputation is 65 as well. For the next years the 70 is far out of reach.

Although I was in favour of the 'experiment' of which the new reward distribution is a result; When individuals become judge and executioner, this type of things happen. Next to that, wars within the community starts all the time, since when someones is attacked, most of the 'victims' feel judges incorrectly and start fighting back. The end result: total chaos and more and more individuals who start arming themselves to be able to defend themselves.

Did you see this tool made by @jesta? In several cases the flag is the only instrument a curator with plenty votingpower should use. To throw flags In between steemians negotiations, is not very gentlemen like. It's just bad behaviour.

The tool you shared is an excellent tool! Although I'm using steemdb, I wasn't aware of the list of flagged account. It gives an interesting insight, for sure.

To throw flags In between steemians negotiations, is not very gentlemen like. It's just bad behaviour.

I agree as long as the posts and comments are not violating the rules defined by the community.

In several cases the flag is the only instrument a curator with plenty votingpower should use.

Currently Steemit has the flag as the only tool for Steemians to use when a Steemian does not like the behaviour of some other account.

The questions I ask myself are amongst others:

  • Is the flag as currently implemented the only tool that shall be available to the community?
  • Is the flag as currently implemented the most effective implementation (eg flags only possible on account level, flag weight the same for all Steemians regardless of SP)?
  • Shall more tools be made available, each with its distinct behaviour (eg effecting only reputation, effecting only rewards)? Flags only allowed by special accounts, these accounts shall act as executioner to rules the community decides for?

How to find it? Google it, or check the steem source code. Here is one post i have found. https://steemit.com/steemit/@cerebralace/your-reputation-score-is-the-key-to-your-success your rep only goes up when you recive upvotes from someone who has more rep then you

Thanks for your feedback. This is good information!

Yes I did learn something today. I am learning daily at Steemit. Yes reputation is very important and we need to protect it at all cost. Thank you very much for the info.

Glad you can use the information! :)

Indeed it is very useful information. Our reputation has to be guarded with care.

For Sure :)

I def learned something here. Followed to this post thanks to @intelliguy

Thanks for the explanation. It was helpful! UPvoted!

Those articles really help me ! Thanks so much, as always amazing !

Glad this helps a lot. Some more information an Reputation can be found on Steemit's Wiki here.

Interesting stuff. Didn't know how this worked uptil now. Thanks for sharing

Thanks for the good information, I learned many things thanks to your article and I hope I can use it to improve my posts and status more and more !

Great to read! Wish you a lot of success here at Steemit!

This is an interesting tool, although I have no idea how many billions of Rep = how many votes or really any idea of how to translate that into a tangible number haha.

I've been stuck at 64 rep forever, man! I must not be making the whales happy enough.

I was at 64 for a long time as well. Now at 65, but still at the lower side. Must have done 10s of posts and 100s of comments already since I got to 65. It really becomes difficult to grow to the next level when in the 60s.

Regarding the billions as your reputation and how a vote, comment, post effects that and with how much; This may be a secret since I didn't find anything about this indeed. My biggest question as well :)

That is the mystery to unravel! What affects the "reputation" variable? I have read the part about upvoting and commenting from people with higher reputations, but do we know that's all it is? Does consistency in posting have anything to do with the number, too?

Good question. I asked @blueorgy (the creator of the tool as well as a witness of Steem) to look into the details since I could not find anything on Steemit other than what @blueorgy wrote a long time ago when Rep was just created and used a different reputation score system. The formula was back then: (Vs*(5.08))(Vp/100) with Vs = Vesting shares and Vp: Voting power (post here). It could very well be that this formula is still correct in essence, but I doubt it since it does not include reputation of the voter. When I know more, I'll post a comment to this post, or EDIT the post itself (when in time before the post editing gets locked up).

Very interesting! That's another reason why folks chase the whales so hard, I guess! As people power down, their reputation and vested shares become disconnected. So the game really is all about vesting shares - reputation, curation, and interest. Thanks for that link, too!

Yep! It all about Rep and SP. I dont think power down has influence on Rep though. Only thing is that with lower SP the votes becomes less valued in $.

With the equation you showed, the reputation of someone doesn't have any impact on the rise or fall of your own. Power downs don't affect reputation at all, but they do reduce the vested shares! I can find folks with reputations of 69, almost 70, that are minnows now, because of powering down. So other folks think the high reputation folks have some importance, but they don't, for any practical purposes. It's only their vested shares (Steem Power) that gives anyone any practical influence.

The post linked from which I have the formula is based on the first ever implementation of the reputation system. I'm pretty sure Rep is now included in the formula. You are correct that for rewards, the SP is important as well as for increasing the Rep. I can imagine most of the users go for the rewards, and to a lesser degree for the Rep. I'm waiting for @blueorgy to give more details to the actual formula.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39