ABC's of Steemit -- B

in #steemit-guides6 years ago

abc-42518_960_720.jpg

B is for Be Original

Your greatest success on Steemit will come as you seek out methods to share your creative originality and uniqueness.

Over a year ago, @thecryptofiend posted a guide which has since been adopted as the unofficial Steemit guide to proper etiquette. This post can be found here.

In it, @thecryptofiend properly posits that the opposite of originality, or plagarism, is not only frowned upon but will be found out and punished. To quote:

This is important. It relates to people trying to make money by impersonating others, making false claims, or stealing >other people's work to claim it as their own. There is a whole community of people watching you here and you will >eventually be found out. Just don't do it.

I could not agree more--don't copy what others have done either here on Steemit or anywhere else on the web. The risk just isn't worth it. Besides, plagarism is theft.

thief.jpg

The opposite of copying is doing your own thing.

When you first arrive at Steemit, if you are anything like me, you are going to see all kinds of people doing amazing things. You may get caught up in what they are doing and think to yourself, "That is really cool. Maybe I'll do that."

Instead, why don't you start following the people you like, upvote their posts, and begin to interact with them. After a few days, you will begin to catch glimpses of what you can do that may be similar but at the same time different--because it is your thing.

As an example--I really love to read. After several months of following a few people who are doing some great book reviews, I finally decided to dive in and make a few book reviews of my own. That is the key--these are my book reviews of books that I enjoyed and posted in the way I think best highlights not only the book but my particular thoughts on these books. I didn't copy their format, I didn't copy their style, and I definitely did not copy any of their words. So the work is original, it expresses my thoughts, and it is my creative effort to share what I think is relevant and helpful to readers of my blog.

Another example: One of my favorite Steemit posters is @gringalicious. She does amazing posts about delicious recipes. She does them right. She takes incredible pictures, creates a quality post, and then interacts with the people who comment on her posts. I know she isn't the only one who is doing food based posts. I'm sure she wasn't the first, just like I am sure she won't be the last. But what she does is make quality posts that express her own unique style and flair. Plus they look delicious. In fact, let's take a break for a minute and go follow her right now. You will be very glad you did.

Did you follow her? Good, now back to the post. B stands for Be Original. Be Yourself. Be Creative. Be a trend-setter. As you do these things, you will make the Steemit community a more vibrant, wonderful place to visit.

B.jpg

TL;DR

If you didn't catch it yet, here is the most important thing you can remember about the letter B is to always:

Be Original!

Be yourself. Let your ideas and creativity shine out from your posts. As you do, your success on Steemit will grow.

pandabar.jpg

The ABC’s of Steemit

This series of articles is dedicated to explaining the basics of Steemit for new users and anyone else who wants to brush up on Steemit basics.

Here are the other posts in this series:

A is for Always Protect Your Password

pandabar.jpg

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more ABC's of Steemit and for flash fiction.

Sort:  

Thanks @bigpanda, good advice. Ive been on Steemit for almost 2 weeks and post like this have helped me. Thanks again for your time and effort!
p.s. following @gringalicious, mmmmmm looks like good stuff.

Glad this post helps--and welcome to Steemit. Looks like you are doing some great posts--keep them coming.

Wise words @bigpanda - thanks for the advice! I'm trying my best to produce content that people will enjoy :)

And you are doing a great job of it. I just went and read some of your posts and really enjoyed them.

Thank you so much :) I think my attempts at poetry are my best really - I think I'm hilarious :D

Yeah, you are right. During the very beginning, I was dishearted on getting views on my post and I started to think, what is the benefit of investing time in it, but so far I've realized that "Be Original, Be Persistent" and definitely you'll find success. Thanks for reminding.

Keep up the great work--I think you will be surprised how fast you grow your blog as you keep posting such good posts.

Thanks for your kind encouragement and I'm hoping the same. :)

Getting back from my business trip today, and i just landed on "B"...

B is for me to "be" lucky, then. :)

Really missed reading you, man. Thank you!

Dig this--B is for Be Lucky. Very good. Hope your business trip went well.

Hey, great tutorial!

I think originality is the greatest asset any of us have here. Especially as the platform is exploding. Thanks for sharing this.

I'll be sure and mention it in an upcoming article. Also, if you're interested, you can share your best tip and win some SBD. Just go here. Follow @dolphinschool for lots of great steemit training! @markrmorrisjr

Thanks, I sure appreciate any mentions I can get. I will definitely try and think up my best tip so I can share it with your readers.

Awesome, I'll take any support I can get on this new account, dang the new bandwidth limits are tougher than 18 mos ago! LOL

Thanks for this tutorial sharing...... i appreciate this create. resteemit

upvote and resteemit done

Ok, thank you.

good creat that is like B
thanks for sharing
resteemit done dear

Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51