[Feature-proposal] Uploading our own backgrounds on your account page

in #steemit-feature8 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

Now with "Feeds" available and everyone connecting and interacting with others, it would be a really good timing to be able to personalize your account page. When other users notice your posts/comments or even votes, they can quickly glance at your account but might still not to get to know much of you unless they scroll all the way down and try to see if you've made an introduction post.
But with a personal background on your page, you could upload a background for the header and give the other users a first impression about your account or yourself. This would help give accounts a more unique look and users would connect easier with others who share the same interests.

Here is an example I ms:painted together quickly:

Let me know what you think about this feature being implemented, feel free to comment here.

Sort:  

good idea. the cool thing is that users are so locked in at this point that whenever a simple new feature is added it feels like Xmas (like when the feed was added last week).

I think it's a good idea. The interesting thing about steemit is that it's a mix of different things. What is unique about this network / community vs. other existing systems? Which of those do we want to highlight around users?

For instance, I'm actually disappointed that we show follower counts so prominently. In many ways, the steem rewards are where the quality of the content comes from, not followers. I do like the fact that I can browse who people are following ... but boiling that down to a number in the default view will lead to some of the same BS from systems like Twitter or Instagram.

Also, since tags are used, that is where interests could come from -- exploring a users postings from the tags they use, and the tags of the post they comment on.

I have some #steemit-feature of my own that I'll be writing up for the next couple of days. Thanks for sharing!

Good idea. There might be some technical constraints which prevent this though - for example it may slow down loading of pages.

Why not even allow for a "profile page", with customizable CSS, like in the good old MySpace days?

I like this as I have been thinking about how fast an image I can put up that will sum me up!

great. I'm glad I'm not the only one talking about this :)

This is an excellent idea that I think a lot of people would enjoy. Who doesn't like to be able to express themselves through a profile? It would give users more of a reason to click in and engage with other users beyond their posts/comments!

I just featured a link to your post in my list of proposals to enhance the Steemit website :)
https://steemit.com/ui/@timcliff/let-s-make-steemit-better-comprehensive-list-of-suggested-ui-ux-improvements-to-make-to-the-steemit-com-website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42