🎨 THE FERNAL POPEYE IMPERSONATOR

in #steemit-austria6 years ago (edited)

THE FERNAL POPEYE IMPERSONATOR


As a Austrian artist I am proud to represent us in the USA
this drawing is one of two works of mine scheduled to be shown in Seattle at the True Love Art Gallery, opening May 10th:
REVOLVE! exhibition of imaginative art
The other drawing for this exhibition I had posted previously:
THE "I SCREAM" MACHINE

🔎right click images and select 'open in new tab' to view larger size 🔍
👇🏻

IMG_0659web.jpg

graphite on paper - 12 x 9 inches - 30 x 23 cm - March 2018

Details

IMG_0662web.jpg

IMG_0663web.jpg

IMG_0664web.jpg

The Making of it - Progression


Materials are pencils ranging from H6 to B9, kneaded eraser, electric eraser. I often work also from dark to light, so my erasers get quite a workout. A trick with kneaded erasers is to pick up textures and transfer them to the drawing.

DSCN9212ps-web1600.jpg

DSCN9214-web.jpg



visitmywebsite-small200.gif

Sort:  

WOW. I love this surreal drawing. Full of great details. Eerie.
You are always a perfect painter. I am lucky to know you.

Sehr ausdrucksvoll, endlich Deine neuen Werke!!!!!

danke - habe ich speziell für eine Ausstellung in Seattle gemacht. Jetzt bin ich grad dabei eine Zeichnung für Steemit fertigzustellen.

Geil!!!! Bin schon gespannt :-D

Hallo @thermoplastic,

du hast von mir ein Upvote erhalten! Ich bin ein Curation-Bot und meine Mission ist, hochwertigen Content unter #steemit-austria zu fördern. Hier kannst du mehr über mich und meine Funktionsweise erfahren. Wie du an meinen Curation-Rewards mitverdienen kannst, wird dort ebenfalls beschrieben.

Übrigens: Wenn du den Tag #steemit-austria verwendest, finde ich deine Posts noch leichter!

Auf dem dem Steemit-Austria Discord-Server kannst du nette Leute kennen lernen und deine Beiträge promoten.

Zum aktuellen Tagesreport

thanks - it's my purpose in life, haha

Wow some crazy patterns hidden in that drawing!! I love it!

thank you - yes, I am tripping while working on it!

You share my love of eyeballs you will always have a place in my heart. Are you going to the show there?

a little bit too far to go this time - I showed in Seattle before, in 2016, and I went, combined it with a visit in Canada.

I think I prefer your version of Popeye to the original. Great drawing.

haha - that's funny, because I plan to include this in a story I am writing (if ever I get around to it)

You should do it. Whats stopping you.

this is a unfinished story I started some time ago, and these drawings I am doing now will be part of the continuity.
I posted the 2 parts of it that were done:
https://steemit.com/writing/@thermoplastic/garden-of-fernal-delights-otto-s-dream
and
https://steemit.com/writing/@thermoplastic/garden-of-fernal-delights-part-2-a-babe-in-the-woods

I'm dying to see what your version of Olive Oil would look like.

me to - I would have to find a place for her to exist in my story

A place for everything and for everything a place, she'll find hers.

haha - that's funny, because I plan to include this in a story I am writing (if ever I get around to it)

idk why this popped up twice! just by looking at the post!

I love it! Looks like krautrock LP's :D
Lucky you for the show!!

A really surreal Popeye from the weirdest dreams! Creepy and amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49