Steemit PSA: Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!

in #steem-help8 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

On my second post ever, I was trying to help the reputation of an employee and did something that many people interpreted as the monstrous evil of "vote-buying". 15 people flagged me driving me to a -6 reputation (old system). @smooth fixed me by up-voting a couple comments to get me back to 6 (old system). When the new system came in, I suddenly went from a 6 old to a 1 new. @smooth helped me again by up-voting a post to get me back to 9 -- but that's still pretty harsh given that a newbie starts with 25. I've fought my way back up to the 14 you now see -- but, man, being brutalized for an unknowing mistake on my second post ever and having it stick for so long is tremendously disheartening . . . . It's gonna take me weeks of posts just to get back to a newbie reputation. :-(

It happens unfortunately. I hope someone else gives you a boost along the way.

I will add this to my arsenal of tools to help NOOBS!!!
Or Is It NEWBS??? :P Great Stuff, Patrice! I've been a
fan since I saw you ban steemking777... I was trying
to work with him, but he just did not get it! smh

Yeah, I hated to do it but he wouldn't stop. I think it's noobs but could be newbs? lol

Your angelic avatar is so fitting, for the work you do. I am learning the dynamics around here and if the people who gripe about how bad it is knew the things I have discovered, they would feel quite differently. There is a large # of folks toiling quietly to make steemit as good as it is, and it IS getting better. I have seen nice system upgrades come in regularly, and along with tht some glitches, but that does note PROGRESS. We will all be pretty happy once it's not Beta any longer, and our accounts grow dramatically (like late Dec and early Jan). LMK if there is more that I can do, I'm off work atm and have something I rarely have...Time! :D

Nice Post. I agree you always see many comments that really don't even attempt to engage. If you are going to comment, then comment on something you have actually read, instead of hitting the upvote then leaving a comment to try and cash in.

Wow - this is good to know. Thanks. I'm so used to Facebook and Steemit is a different way of acting and thinking. Too bad that all newbies don't have to first watch an intro video that explains this stuff.

Really lovely post Patrice :)

This should be highlighted so i'm throwing in a up-vote.
Basic guidelines everyone should learn to follow, of course it's allowed to disagree on something but show decency and respect while pleading your thoughts.

Live true and by your words. But think through what you are doing.

Hi Patrice, we have "adopted" you as our mentor, because your blog is full of good advices about this platform. Have a great day!

it's all so clear, but read

whales should have to pay if they want to abuse the flag.. its not fair ;[

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84