How has steem impacted my life

in #steemimpact5 years ago

Has steem impacted my life? The answer is you, it has impacted my life immensely. This is a response to @theycallmedan question here
though, this is not the first time I will be writing on a topic like this, I remembered that I wrote a similar story when I clocked a year on steemit, but this one seems to be a bit difference.

I come from very humble background where it is hard for us to get all we ever wanted. One of the basics of life which is food, shelter and clothing. Though, we never go hungry, but we don't have the three square meal as it lacks the basic nutrients, we only eat to survive. It occurs to me that I have to work hard and be great in life so that my kids won't have to go through the pain I had when I was a teenager.

Being raised by my grandma who was in her late 80s then, it was hard for her to control me like my mom would have, so I could say I had my life as I thought good for me then, though I never misbehaved nor put my grandma in trouble for once. Unfortunately, She died when I was in my final year in secondary school (high school) but before that time I had lost my mom. I didn't feel my mom absent like that because i never lived with her before her demise.

Alone in the world

After the death of my grandma and no parent to stay with, I had to leave my life the way I think good in my sight but God never forsake me. I manage to finished my secondary school with the hope that I would go and learn handiwork since there was no helper nor someone to meet for assistance. As I was planning unknowingly to me that I could have the opportunity I had which I never thought of, for once. I went to meet a family, not even an immediate relative because nor of them were there to render assistance, the only time they showed up was the first three month after I had lost my grandma. It was a relation on my mom's father side. As you can see it is really a remote relatives but I had no option. She took pity on me, helped me with the money I needed for the final exam then and I was happy to assist her the farm, as they always say one good turn deserves another. She wasn't selfish as she helped me find a job though, the Job was odd for my age, 17 years.

Turn around for good

I agreed to work as a cleaner in one hospital,upon my acceptance, the supervisor in charge had to ask me if I could do that job and my response was yes. I said to myself do I have any other option at the time if I refused to work. God has His way in my life, at work I meet a nurse who felt bad about me working as a cleaner at my age, she felt I ought to be in parent care at the time. She decided to assist me with fund though, I didn't quite work as at that time, I was able to get admission in higher institution not to far from where I was working. To cut the long story short, I graduated in the year 2016 before I came to Ibadan where I met a guy @mistakili who introduced me to steemit. We were both teaching at one private school in the town with our salaries $57 per month so ridiculous. With steemit we were making nothing less than $40 per week through engagement with the community. It is not only about the money. j03f5aicyd.jpg

Content writer

I'm the type that was afraid to put down my thought through writing because I was scared of the mistake I might make. Sometimes, words do fail me whenever I tried to put my emotion down through writing, steemit has really help me a lot as I'm not afraid to write the jargons I called content. I don't have to be ashamed that I make mistake because people here on steemit aren't marking grammatical errors, once the message in your content is understood by the potential audience then you have nothing to worry about. With my writing, earn as well with confidence even though my content isn't good enough for now compared to professional writer but I do believe roads were not build in a day as it takes time. I'm sure I will also find my way out of the wilderness of life on steemit.

The value of steem these days as make things hard in terms of commitment, but I do hope for better future ahead of us. we can't give up as I believe the future of steem is bright.

Sort:  

I remember those days lol...stay strong man! Nice one

Na so brother. No retreat, no surrender.

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

BDvoter Team

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65