Steemified Series: Insights from Co-hosting a Promote Your Post Live Show on Discord (Part 2)

in #steemified6 years ago (edited)

A couple days ago, I posted about helpful tips I learned and hiccups I observed from co-hosting with @freedomexists on the Whaleshares Promote Your Post Live Show. Well, I just finished my 2nd attempt at co-hosting and of course, I learned more! I realize that there are actually two distinct parts to co-hosting... taking the lead and behind the scene. The duties differ for both. My first post focused on taking the lead.

This second post is going to focus on supporting behind the scenes...

Being the guy holding the apple and phone


Giphy.com

~Helpful tips when co-hosting behind the scenes~

Things to do to help @freedomexists when he's leading the way and you're in support mode.

Live chat maintenence

The chat room is great because, during this show, others can comment, ask questions, and encourage the person presenting. Off-topic spammy comments are discouraged since they take the focus off the current discussion. We don't get very many of them, but if you're behind the scenes and all of a sudden, you see off-topic spammy comments being repeatedly being dropped into the chatroom, it helps the show if you take the initiative to delete the comments.

If someone drops his or her post's link into live chat out of turn, please delete it so it helps the group stay focused on the current discussion.

When you are in a support role and you see questions in live chat like, "How does this show work?" Let them know, "Great question! You'll have an opportunity to present your post when you are called by @freedomexists. If your name is called, that is when you will drop your post's link into the chatroom for everyone to see."

~Hiccups~

When things go wonky, it's great to have backup!

Communicate with @freedomexists (aka The Captain)

Watch for direct messages (DM) from @freedomexists during the show. He's watching for yours!

Due to technical difficulties with a microphone, when someone isn't ready to share a post. we come back. If we forget to double-back around, it helps to get a reminder DM from our support person.

Because of the number of participants, it's important to keep moving. A couple of times, if someone was taking too much time, @freedomexists would DM me... "Interrupt". I found that a gentle way to regain control was to simply interject with a comment like "Wow, really great!" or "Hmmmm." "Thanks for sharing. Does anyone have any final questions or comments for ___? Or, ___. would you like to add any final comments yourself?"

Finally, twice I got a DM from @freedomexists reminding me to thank you for the person who just shared. Ooooops! So, I would say something like, "While ___ gets their post up, thank you again, ___ for sharing!"

~Special Shoutouts~

Now, I realize how much @steempowerpics and @krazykrista support @freedomexists. Everything I mentioned above and more, they have been doing all along. Be sure to thank them!

This Post is Steemified... pertaining to Steem!

steemified.png

Whereas Steem is the galaxy... Discord is the family room of a home (with a welcome mat).

If you have an interest in hosting your own show someday or co-hosting with @freedomexists, we welcome you to join us!

I can't wait to hear who's going to co-host next time with @freedomexists! Whoever you are, I know you'll do GREAT!

Promote Your Post Live Show on the Whaleshares Discord Channel begins at 7 pm Eastern each Thursday and Sunday. We'll be in The Curation Lounge.

Again, thanks to @officalfuzzy and @akrid, those who present earn free Whaleshares!

whaleshares logo.jpg

~Recent posts~

karencarrens fukako Steemit footer.gif

Sort:  

Love live shows!

Hi @bitdollar, they really are the best! I love hearing everyone's accents.

It always looks easy from the outside... until you try.

Co-hosting is not easy. Great advice.

@pennsif... lol... looks like😎 & 😍 but behind the scenes, it could be... 🤪🤯😭😳😶!

@karencarrens, thanks for sharing about your experience. It is fun to hear that people I know are co-hsoting shows. Blessings as you continue to learn.

LOL. This is definitely a place that the learning never ends! The live shows are so great. Let me know if you ever plan to join us so I can make sure I join as well. My schedule's kinda crazy these days.

Wow... never know you had that.. the time difference though.. its 8am in my country at that time..sigh..

@alvinauh, hehe... 7 pm where I am, but for many, it's 2 or 3 in the morning! That's dedication!

The role that is commonly overlooked, the unsung hero, but absolutely essential. Without direct support, the show would never happen. Great insights, thank you. Cheers!

I know! Until I actually saw behind the scenes, I was clueless. It would be chaos without support.

All the real action happens behind the curtain, lol.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 61 (3/2/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

This post has received gratitude of 3.06% from @appreciator courtesy of @karencarrens!

Hey, there!I would like to nominate you to the openmic competition!If you agree to participate, then you should nominate two people as well;)
Here is the link to the competition:

https://steemit.com/comedyopenmic/@comedyopenmic/comedy-open-mic-round-3

Good luck!

live shows are awesome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57