Curation rewards/upvote question?!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemhelp6 years ago (edited)

Hello all,

I have been on here for a couple of weeks now and I have read a lot about curation rewards, voting power, Steem Power, etc. But, I have yet to receive a curation reward for upvoting even if it becomes a popular post and I was in the 30min-1hour window. Is this because my power is still to low to earn rewards simply from up voting? Or is a comment required on the post that you upvote to earn curation rewards?

--- UPDATE 1/2/18 ---

I am now earning 0.001-0.005 for curation rewards simply from upvoting. I think either the posts or my SP was to low before, upvoteing my own comments yield 0.001 Steem Power where upvoting a more popular post is higher in the 0.005 range.

Sort:  

I'm wondering the same thing. But I think you are right in your assessment. Let me know when you find the answer.

I am happy to report that I am now earning 0.001-0.005 for curation rewards simply from upvoting. I think either the posts or my SP was to low before.

I have the same doubt , can someone help us?

I am happy to report that I am now earning 0.001-0.005 for curation rewards simply from upvoting. I think either the posts or my SP was to low before.

Yes - it looks like you've powered up enough now, though, that you should see some SMALL (<0.01) curation rewards.

Thanks, I just have gotten a few small ones for comments and replies just never voting, that is why I was wondering if I wasn't high enough yet.

Your vote here is worth about $0.025, which you can tell on chainbb - https://chainbb.com/steemhelp/@bigguyandrusty/curation-rewards-upvote-question

Where do you find how much your vote is worth on chainbb?

I find I receive more curation rewards for commenting than voting. In fact, as a new Steemian, upvoting can be counter productive as it'll deplete your steempower.

The idea is to create meaningful dialogue, so if you read a post you enjoy, make a meaningful comment (just saying 'great post' won't cut it). If you wish to show the author appreciation, at this stage, it's more beneficial to resteem the post using @resteemable or to add the comment @originalworks, where the post will be shared with a wider audience.

As far as I've learned, it seems that commenting is by far the best way to earn curation rewards.

I agree that you get more rewards from commenting, I was just curious how much steempower I needed to be able to earn rewards simply by voting. I think the Steemit community is great but I wish there was something like subreddits so you could more eaisly find the things you are interested in, instead of having to rely on tags or resteeming

In you experience is paying a bot to resteem always worth it? I have only done it twice now with mixed results.

The one thing I still don't understand is delegation, I am going to have to look into that more. I used to have 25+ Steempower and now I am down to under 5. I see that some people can buy more delegation just like buying steem too.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Also, if it helps, follow @davemccoy. He's done some fantastic posts for new Steemians that really help you to understand the community and how to raise your profile.

I am following him and he does do a good job of laying things out, I am just trying to slowly build a following :)

hi, if you have a spare 47 minutes to watch a video on steemit and vote power, check my blog out, it explains it in detail , regards, https://steemit.com/steemit/@deliberator/help-guide-for-us-newer-members

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56