My First Gig in @steemgigs - I will Help Serbs Practice Better Communication in English

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

The first gig I would like to offer in @steemgigs is the opportunity for Serbs to communicate better in English. Having lived in Serbia for almost 7 years, I know that many here understand English, but face a huge challenge of speaking and sometimes writing the language. 

Credit source

My First Gig in @steemgigs

I will practice how to better communicate in English language with a Serb for 30 SBD/90 minutes session on skype. 

Why Should You Chose Me?

I am a Nigerian, born and raised in Nigeria, where the official language is English. My pre-school, primary, secondary and tertiary education were all in English. Besides, I have written two thesis (B.Sc. Applied Biochemistry,  M.Sc. Medical Biochemistry) and currently writing articles which would form part of my Ph.D thesis (Public Health) in English. As an entry requirement then into the University of Belgrade , it was compulsory to undergo a preparatory year to study the Serbian language/ ''srpski jezik'' and get certified. So, I have a diploma in Serbian language (A2 level) from the Faculty of Philology / ''filoloski fakultet'' , University of Belgrade. Moreover, my level of proficiency in Serbian language is way higher now (B2 level), I would say, since I communicate with locals in the language (''srpski jezik'') on a daily basis. That is a great advantage, because whatever the client doesn't understand, I can explain in the local language.

A photograph of me holding my certificate on the day of graduation (July,2011)

Another photo on graduation day, where we were shaking hands with the former Serbia Minister of Education, Zarko Obradovic, (1st to the left) and Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Vuk Jeremic (2nd to the left)  (July, 2011).

Where To Find Me?

Prospective clients can find me in @steemgigs at discord . Here is the link, https://discord.gg/rKfZ2e . I am also on steemit.chat. Looking forward to hearing from you. 


Vote Steemgigs As Witness

Some of us have benefited from @steemgigs in the sense that there is no need to go back to fiverr. If you like steemgigs and what it has to offer, then consider voting  for @steemgigs as steemit witness. Here is how to vote. Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll down the page and cast your vote as shown below. 

Credit source

All Content (photographs and text) is mine and original, except for a few sources that have been credited. The lovely graphic (divider) was designed for me by @outhori5ed

Please, leave me your comments and questions in the comments section. 

Reblog/resteem, upvote and follow @maryfavour

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Wow....my dear if i say i do not envy for for been able to speak another language, i will be lying. Languages are one of the most difficult for me to learn. I only speak English and believe me, i am not proud of myself. Thumb up to you girl. Fly high. Am proud of you and appreciate your good works. Congratulations.

So good to see you here, @ceepee, my pilot friend and sister. It's very true that languages are difficult to learn. You wouldn't believe how much tears I shed to learn the Serbian language. I struggled, read day in day out, had no social life , because I had to put in lots of hours after class to succeed. At the end I sat for B1 exam, but didn't pass. Pass mark here is 60. I got 56. So, I had to re-sit for A2 which I had passed in the previous semester and had 86% which qualifies me to re-sit for B1, if I so desire. Don't worry so much about your not being able to speak another language, although it helps a lot to understand another language, moreso, a foreign language. With determination, you can learn. Thanks for the commendation. I really appreciate it.

My Mary, my Favour, I'm very proud of you. You're making us proud over there. Keep it up. 👍

Wow! My @ogoowinner, thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate the honor. You are one lady among few of us here that I am very proud of too. By God's grace I will keep making us proud. Thanks a million, dear!!!

amazing Mary.. its cool to see you helping people and getting paid in Steem.

Thanks, dear @bearbear613. I'm yet to start, though. Still waiting for my first client to show up. Lol! It would really be good to render such a service and be paid in steem. I appreciate your comment. Cheers.

This is great. Communication helps people whose first language is not English. I experience thesame here. I do this kind of online practise too for most south americans, but, time is a big challenge. Keep it on @maryfavour.

Thank you, @turpsy! Absolutely, communication helps them a lot. The Serbs I meet and communicate with every day tell me that's what they really need, since some chose English language as a subject in high school. They have either of 4 foreign languages to chose from; English, Russian, French, German in addition to their official language, ''srpski''. Oh you experience the same over there too? So that confirms what my claim. Time is a big challenge. Very true. Well, when I find those who are interested, I would have to set aside time to coach them. I appreciate the good work that you do over there where you are and your regular contribution to what I do here. Cheers.

Yea. Your claim is right. I wish i was forced to learn another foreign language in primary to secondary school days aside from English and Yoruba. You will find and also it will be an interesting time for your both:tutor and student. This is my mostly used social media. I got your back. Steem on.

Nice one ma'am, I wish to learn another language, I think this a motivation for me to do so. Thumbs up

Thanks, @sweetestglo-eu! Learning another language will be an added advantage for you sometime in life. Trust me. Keep steeming, dear!!!

Wow, that's great @maryfavour. Language is not an easy task, especially knowing how to speak another language that is not yours. I have an idea about that. Carry go ma, inna baya'n ki. (speaking hausa).

I appreciate, @bat-junior. Honestly, learning a language is not an easy task.'' Inna baya'n ki'' Hehe... like the fact that you understand, speak and write another language, Hausa. I missed the opportunity to learn Hausa during my service year. Hope the opportunity will show up gain. I understand and speak Igbo, anyway.

hahahaha @maryfavour nagode mama na.

You do a very good deed. This post is very interesting and thank you for sharing

I appreciate the commendation, @rizasukma. Thank you.

You are welcome :-)

not that most people can't speak english but they are scared because they did not grow with it

Hi, @danielevergreen. I agree with you that Serbs didn't grow with speaking English language. There is no statement in my post suggesting that Serbs do not know how to speak English. That said, many people that I know here in Belgrade don't speak, maybe because of fear, like you stated. That is where I'll help bridge the gap. The more frequently one communicates in a language, the better he becomes and that fear disappears as he/she becomes more confident. Thanks for your contribution. Cheers.

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

this is a very great thing to do. Thanks for this great work ma.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78