#steemgigs Idea: "Steemit agent"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemgigs7 years ago

The last week has had lots of ups and downs, here. Waiting for an upvote is time-consuming and frustrating. Sometimes comments and posts are "lost" (mine haven't been, but I have read of others).

And there's no reason for me to "wait" for an interface!

Thus, I've come up with the idea of a "Steemit agent" through which I'll read Steemit.

Basically, the idea is: it will cache my desires and release them at appropriate timing.

So, if I do a single upvote, it'll just do it for me. It'll also watch the result and if something failed, it'll retry. I suppose there should be a limit on retries, and it should email me if it gets a permanent error.

But then, if I perform two upvotes within two seconds of each other, it'll send the first one, with the above in mind to ensure that it's recorded; and then three seconds later, it'll send the second one, again ensuring it's recorded. For instance, I might open a post of mine with ten comments, all of which are two or three words ("nice post" etc), and just click to upvote all of them, which would take me about ten seconds.

Why should I wait three times as long to have the desired effect?

And in the past week, it's sometimes hundreds of times as long, as I have to deal with the errors.

So, my "agent" should record my desires, and then in a timely manner, obeying the delays, send them to the blockchain to be recorded.

Upvotes are the least of my concerns though! Often I'll have a "discussion post" with larger responses, and want to answer many comments. There's a limit of 20 seconds for comments, and I'm a fast typist. Penalized for developing a skill -- it's like I'm dealing with government! :)

And also sometimes I'll have taken a walk in the garden and gathered several photos and videos, and want to make a few posts -- but there's a limit of 5 minutes between posts. Computers are great at waiting! Me, not so much.

So, just curious whether anyone has started working on something like this. Thanks!


libertyteeth is a Liberty Professional, a badge designed by grow-pro, 2017-09-01 Fri.png



Sort:  

This quite an interesting idea you have. Try and talk with @ned about your suggestion, he should consider it.

steemitgigs is anwesome idea and @surpassinggoogle is doing a great job to promote it

Makes a lot of sense. The deficiencies with the steemit platform are really coming into focus now. Hopefully someone with the technical skills can step up. Steemit Inc currently only has 30 employees.

Wish my concussions symptoms had me up to the task. I'd gladly help out. "Will work for STEEM". :)

Yes that would be great for all of us! I was thinking about your Minnowbooster investment and realized that if Steem rises to $2 your ROI will be cut by 1/2 since you are being paid in SBD and not Steem or SP. I guess that is why your payments fluctuate because they are adjusting your interest rate against the dollar value of Steem. So as the price of steem rises or falls so do your SBD payments. Nice to see they have taken this into consideration unlike Bitconnect. At least that appears what is happening.

...aaaand, upvoting your comment is becoming an exercise in frustration so I want this fucking shit written NOW.

yes you are right @libertyteeth, these delays are annoying but according to my knowledge steemit works differently then facebook and twitter, in steemit every thing we write we vote becomes a transaction and it got written on steemit blockchain as a transaction so every tx needs some time to become a part of blockchain so when steemit.com got DDOS attacks it basically slows down the process of upvotes and posts as the server won't have the capacity to handle the requests, so i think there is always room for improvement. i hope the steemit team will working to overcome these flaws, thanks for sharing

Right, you describe it pretty well. One other aspect is that the Steem blockchain has a three-second block, which aligns with the "three-second delay between upvotes". The witnesses' jobs are to record the blocks in a timely manner; I read a Jerry Banfield post a few weeks ago about his witness server having missed a block, and thus he lost "witness status," and had to take on the additional expense of a backup server (I think he went for two backups).

My idea is for me to have a "local blockchain" of the actions I want to perform, which are then merged with the "global blockchain" using the appropriate delays.

I'd only read through my interface, so I'd see what I had done even if it hadn't yet been recorded "upstream".

Does that makes sense?

And, of course, it doesn't need to be implemented as a "local blockchain" -- I think a database would suffice to hold the actions I want to take. Or really just a flat file, or perhaps a producer/consumer queue?

You have a great idea, but if the comment problem if I am far below you all because I read the translation as well as when I mw wrote a comment so it must be long

no one i guess have tried that looks really interesting

When this is finalized I'd like to be aware. Keeping an eye on this post and following the thread created here.

Thanks! Not sure whether I will be working on it (recovering from concussions takes a lot of my energy) but I want to help move the idea forward.

Well, basically you are proposing a sub-UI to the UI that Steemit is, and there are other UIs already.

You might check out busy.org, steemitstage, and the others. Also, it is good to remember that Steemit is in beta, and undergoing change, which has it's drawbacks.

I live constantly in construction sites, and this is a good analogy for Steemit presently XD

When the construction is at the stage of finishing the walls, sheetrock, paint, and such, is when the mess is greatest, but also when the end of construction is becoming most obvious. Steemit seems to be at such a stage now, and hopefully the light is showing in the end of the tunnel.

Love your analogy! Here's hoping it fits. :)

You're right, it's like "turtles all the way down." That's a Richard Feynman quote btw. :)

Hmm. Perhaps it isn't; seems it was used well before that. Neat history: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turtles_all_the_way_down

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64