You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #steemgigs Idea: "Steemit agent"

in #steemgigs7 years ago

yes you are right @libertyteeth, these delays are annoying but according to my knowledge steemit works differently then facebook and twitter, in steemit every thing we write we vote becomes a transaction and it got written on steemit blockchain as a transaction so every tx needs some time to become a part of blockchain so when steemit.com got DDOS attacks it basically slows down the process of upvotes and posts as the server won't have the capacity to handle the requests, so i think there is always room for improvement. i hope the steemit team will working to overcome these flaws, thanks for sharing

Sort:  

Right, you describe it pretty well. One other aspect is that the Steem blockchain has a three-second block, which aligns with the "three-second delay between upvotes". The witnesses' jobs are to record the blocks in a timely manner; I read a Jerry Banfield post a few weeks ago about his witness server having missed a block, and thus he lost "witness status," and had to take on the additional expense of a backup server (I think he went for two backups).

My idea is for me to have a "local blockchain" of the actions I want to perform, which are then merged with the "global blockchain" using the appropriate delays.

I'd only read through my interface, so I'd see what I had done even if it hadn't yet been recorded "upstream".

Does that makes sense?

And, of course, it doesn't need to be implemented as a "local blockchain" -- I think a database would suffice to hold the actions I want to take. Or really just a flat file, or perhaps a producer/consumer queue?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71