STEEM Food Tours #2 : El Ancla restaurant- Lobitos, Peru

A two course meal for 1.25 Steem! Welcome to the typical Peruvian lunch menu. 

If you are not too fussy about what you want for lunch whilst in Peru. Ask about for the best menu combo in town. Usually it will cost about 5-12 soles for a two course lunch meal and a drink. The five soles menu is getting harder and harder to find. And quite frankly I don't know how they even make money from it. 

Usually the restaurant will have their different menu combos displayed for street view. Being in Lobitos where things can get quite quiet, people don't expect much and happy just with the option of a 10S/. menu. 

Also that makes it interesting in the sense that there is always something different. Also with the menu it is guaranteed to come out to you quick. 

Tip: if everyone in the restaurant is on the menu combo, avoid ordering a la carte. The menu combo is made to fly out the kitchen door. Anything else will have to be made from scratch and will take more time.... careful if you are super hungry! 

Today I decided to visit a local haunt for the lunch time menu combo: El Ancla.

I just read @yesslife 's post on her restaurant review and it motivated me to do the same. I quickly located a 10 Soles note (1.25 Steem) and headed down the road. 


Alright! I am in luck. The restaurant is open and the menu dishes have just finished cooking.

On the menu today is a fish soup as a starter and steamed fish for the main. This is going to be epic! 

Literally had I placed my order and the soup is on my table.  It is piping hot and the smells are getting me excited. I squeezed the slice of lime into the soup, mixed it round and went for it. 

The soup was made of fish broth, potato, bell pepper, pumpkin, carrot, pasta, garlic etc. All of which went down a treat. 

Ok, onto the main course.

I had to guide this plate down to my table, it was nearly spilling over, there was so much of it. Where do I start.. fooooood. So there were two steamed fish (bones included), lentils, rice, salad, mash plantains and chili sauce. 

Ok, who called half the cats in the village!? I have a plate of fish on the table and I am being circled by some very inquisitive cats. 

They had no chance until I had finished and they could have what was left: not much, just bones and skin. 

Hey everyone. I hope you liked this restaurant review. I would like  share my latest video:

 VLOG: Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru. 22 planted to date

Yes, I plant trees for your upvote. It is that simple. 22 trees  planted since the 1st of February and all with your simple upvote.

It all started with the Steemit Sandwich Contest.

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

I am happy that you are here my friend, those places also look a lot here in my country and the food is very good, I think @jeffjagoe will be more motivated this time to continue with the contest

thank you :) amazing food here and the fish is local too. I hope @jeffjagoe continues this contest. Just need to keep pluggin away at it and it will grow.

How much does one need for planting 100 trees there? Can the donor choose what type of trees? Do olive or avocado trees do well there? Could you plant some fruit bearing trees that could be shared among the village? Or allocate an open food garden at all?

Hello mate :) I saw the people from the non profit and we discussed up scaling and permaculture. We also discussed the logistics of maintaining a large number of trees alive. Thats until they are properly established. There is a nice tract of land behind the not for profit office. It would be ideal for planting trees and keeping an eye on them. There are options of sinking in some heavy duty water tanks (2000litres) and linking up a drip feed system to water the trees.

I am super keen to also plant fruit trees. I have seen some olive trees here, but avocados are notoriously difficult to plant here. But Tamarind will grow as will some others. The rough cost for the entire system would be around 1000 USD. I have 100$ from a donation and quite a bit tied up in SBD (waiting until the price increase a bit more).

Can I get back to you with a project proposal. To include objectives, management, aims and costings? I will make this as a post and then raise money to implement it. This weekend I have off. I have 2 to plant tomorrow and a stack more for Sunday (I have enlisted help).

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

@intrepidsurfer

Oh hey! You know what would be sweet is if you could send me a google map location of where these trees might be situated on the map. I think that would be so cool to look up. I have a weird idea...I don't know if my inspiration will come to fruition but I would like to lend my talents also if I can. BUT I have more nosey questions haha. How much time can you commit to this project? What happened in your life that you ended up in this strange treeless place?

I want to know more about the surfer bit... Can you teach me? You know I have never surfed in my whole life. I was a mainlander/Northern girl for the longest time and only found myself next to an ocean for the last decade... yet I still have never surfed. Granted we have much COOLER waters here. I think I would have to hit the gym for a few months lol I really just do computer stuff and that makes me a form of pasta I am sure. ha ha. But I watched a couple youtube videos from there and I was floored at the surfing there! Wow I have never wanted to surf until now. So does it get nice and warm in the water there? Tell us more about yourself in your videos ^-^--- Please.

Do you have discord? so we could chat there in more detail :)

I am more on steemit chat than discord.

good good morning :) fell asleep quite early last night. I will try and join steemit chat and we can chat further there.

Cool beans - I am under the same user handle there.

Cool :) just messaged you there.

amaziing job , keep going

merci for the support. None of it could happen without you :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 19:42:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 214.40/200.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63