SteemFit - Morning Routine #1 Sun Salutation TUTORIAL

in #steemfit8 years ago (edited)

You have a busy schedule? great!

Start your day right and keep your balance throughout the day. I love to start my day with a quick yoga session. Sun Salutation or Surya Namaskar is basic yoga, a sequence of 12 poses, preferably performed at the time of sunrise on an empty stomach. In the morning it revitalizes the body, refreshes your mind and gets you ready for a busy day where you need a clear mind. Each pose has a different meaning and is meant to be performed in the direction of the sun, to establish a grounding relationship with the sun based on gratitude towards life.

There are different severity levels to Surya Namaskar. If  you've been practicing yoga for some time you are probably familiar with sun salutations. For beginners, to whom I also count myself, I suggest to start with Surya Namaskar A, which I will teach you in this post. 

Here are some benefits:

- It wakes you up: It's a great way to awaken every part of your body, to stretch and gently warm up your muscles, to prepare them for the day

- It heals your mind: It's great way to fight anxiety and depression. When you hate to get out of bed and don't really want to start your day because you aren't feeling well, then sun salutation can help you bring back confidence and love for life, it's truly grounding and awakens your inner strength and personal growth.

- It boosts your energy: It has increased my productivity by far and helped me to get more things done from my priority list, giving me more free time and joy of life.

- It makes you stronger: Not only does sun salutation enhance your productivity and feed your mind, but if also makes your body a lot stronger. I used to have pain in my lower back from sitting a lot without stretching, but sun salutation has helped me with my posture a lot

Also if you need some extra power for the day, you can change the pace. Try doing the poses faster and you can transform yoga into a complete body workout. Yoga experts say that doing 12 sets of Sun Salutation translates into doing 288 powerful yoga poses in a span of 12 to 15 minutes. 

- It enhances your focus: It truly cleanses your mind, which is one of my favorite benefits. Before including sun salutation in my morning routine I struggled with stress a lot. I used to wake up and go to bed with a full mind, very unhealthy. When doing sun salutation as the first thing in the morning, I sometimes do it right next to my bed in a half asleep half awake state, where I don't think. When I'm done with my sets I feel refreshed, awake and my mind is organized, ready to manage a busy day.

If you like you can keep this mantra in your mind: “I salute the sun, source of light and knowledge”, because if you're a content thinker this is a nice way to force yourself into a meditative state, which makes the sun salutation even more powerful.

I've created a quick and easy tutorial for you to start your day right!

Let's go!

I personally like to do 5-10 rounds of the sequence, however if you're just starting out you can at first do  2-4 sets and work your way up. As long as you're getting started, it doesn't matter where you start. Progress is much more important than perfection. At first you might have to force yourself to do this every morning, but you can really feel results when you practice sun salutation consistently and sooner than you know it becomes your habit until you can't imagine doing anything else first in the morning. Always remember, your future self will be very thankful for what you do today..

Quick summary and breathing technique:

YOU CAN DO IT!

- Mrs.Steemit

Become part of the steemfit movement, follow me to stay updated and...

Create your own sun salutation and hashtag (#)steemfit to get featured in a post 

Sort:  

I'm going to try this out. I need to stretch out my back muscles since they are weak right now so I think this would be beneficial.

What's the symbol inside the sun? I believe it is some sort of hindu script if I am correct?

The sixth position looks so good right now for stretching. I'm not sure what that last move does though. Work on your thumb flexors? ;)

Thanks for going to such depth by making videos to go along with the photo.

Do you meditate on anything specific or what would you recommend thinking about as you go through these moves.

Yes if you try doing this every morning for a month I'm positive your back muscles will get stronger.
The symbol inside the sun is a spiritual symbol that can be used as a mantra while doing yoga to get your mind into a meditative state.
Lol the last move definitely helps your mood!
Thank you very much for the in depth reflection and comment on my post. When it comes to meditation I recommend to try not to think during yoga and instead use a mantra that your brain can focus on, as I wrote in the post: If you like you can keep this mantra in your mind: “I salute the sun, source of light and knowledge”, because if you're a content thinker this is a nice way to force yourself into a meditative state, which makes the sun salutation even more powerful.

Yes thanks for clarifying since you and I are both creative thinkers with minds always at work. It's good to allow some downtime for the health of our overall well being

You should do more of this. Great content

Thank you! I most definitely will do so :)

👀
Thanks! @mrs.stermit
I feel inspired!!!
I used to do yoga a a few years ago but stopped. I think being a guy had something to do with it. I remember some of my guy friends making jokes and comments about it. Even though I don't think it had much to do with why I stopped, I'm not sure. It's weird how the world influences us.
Anyway I plan on uploading some fitness content at least once a week (:
Thanks again!!

Thank you for sharing this. Whatever you do, never let anyone stop you from being yourself and doing what you enjoy. I like how you reflect on the past, if you don't find a good answer for why you stopped maybe that's a reason to start again :) And great, looking forward to your fitness content, will be uploading some as well :)

Love it! Looking forward to more posts like this from you. Nice detail on your top with the #steemit logo, looks great! The logo too! ;-)

Thank you very much :)

Nice tutorial and info.

One of my best friends told me some months ago that he found yoga very beneficial, largely in that it helped him relax. I would like to try it sometime.

I know from my own experience that moving and getting exercise, in combination to eating well, enhances my quality of life:
https://steemit.com/health/@lanimal/how-i-stay-even-more-fit-than-before-while-working-out-less-by-living-primal

I love your Content, although I´m not that much of a Yoga dude.
I know that dozens of Steemers will enjoy this Post and find great value in your Work.
All the best!

You don't have to be a yoga dude :D to treat yourself right. It's up to you how you prefer to awaken your body and cleanse your mind if you have other methods that work well, please feel free to share them. Thank you :)

I actually prefer fitness and swimming.
The fresh feeling you get, after an intense Sports Session is priceless :)!

Yoga is so good for you and I enjoyed your content as well. Thank you!

I'm glad you did! thanks :)

Nice, good idea with the explaining gifs!

Excellent post! Bravo!

Wow. sexiest girl on steemit award goes to... @mrs.steemit

I'm not sure how I feel about that :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50