The People I Met At Steemfest: My Creamy & Delicious Photo Album 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest7 years ago
We don't meet people by accident, they are meant to cross our path for a reason.

I can totally relate.

The people I met at Steemfest definitely found their way into my life for many reasons.

Here's my personal @steemfest photo album!

In the lobby of the HF Fenix Lisboa I ran into the amazing Korean crew and was given this cool steemit banner (and many more of them which I gave away during the Steemfest poker night); thank you @ramengirl, @successtrainer and @roychoi, it was a huge pleasure meeting you!

Steemy faces - the magic of connecting like-minded people

When I met a group of steemians in New York a couple of months back I had the very same sensation: steemians don't need much time to connect, find a common denominator, a topic to talk about or a like-minded vision.

Meeting steemians feels like being with your friends you haven't seen for a while.

Having us all together at one place was absolutely mind-blowing. I didn't stop to hug people for four days, it felt great to finally put some faces to usernames and complete the puzzle.

All the rumors about this community are true!

Steemit may use the slogan "nice people only" and they wouldn't lie though.

Here are some of these wonderful souls I met in Lisbon. Unfortunately sometimes I just forgot to take pictures during a conversation, which is actually a good sign. So please don't resent my inattention here.

Let's go steemians! (pictures in chronologic order)

She was part of my speech for a reason: the wonderful @connecteconomy

We had a lot of fun shooting this picture as you can see (left to right): @sharingeverybite, @dan-atstarlite, @shenanigator, @daniel.errey, @surfermarly, @jaybird, @brian-rhodes

Talking about @appics, charity and surfing with Christian Heusinger (CTO @appics), @fredrikaa, @surfermarly, @lukestokes, @mrs.steemit, @abh12345

Partner look with @pollux.one (no, we didn't plan to look like twins, haha) :-) That was 3 hours before my speech and I was obviously a bit nervous...

First pic taken after my speech - smiling around with my favourite steemian traveler @anomadsoul; don't ask what happend to my hair, cause I have no idea, haha!

Teaming up at the snooker table with the handsome @fredrikaa (who has probably one of the most interesting bios on steemit since he's working at the European Space Agency); we were playing against 'Team Arizona' @sharingeverybite and @shenanigator (not in this picture)

Enjoying the sun on the terrace: @eroche, @danea (Mrs. @blocktrades), @surfermarly, @gargon and @pgarcgo (project & witness @cervantes); I LOVED your speech @pgarcgo!!!

The acroyoga stars @acromott and @karensuestudios (probably the most positive people on Earth, love your energy guys!!!), @surfermarly (obviously a bit tired at the last conference day, haha), @lifemovedbysteem, @immarojas; thanks for giving me such a beautiful necklace @lifemovedbysteem!!!

@awesomianist came all the way down from Malaysia and gave me that t-shirt (as you can see on the following pics I wore it during the whole 'Night of steem'); WOW!!! What an honor!

Selfie time with the amazing @luzcypher; if you ever have the chance to meet him in person, do that!

Last but not least: my favourite picture :-)

Trying to be as cool as the coolest steemian of all: the legendary @firepower; you are one of the kindest, nicest and most warm-hearted people I've ever come to know in my life!!! I'm happiest that we finally met in person. Thanks for being wonderful! :-)

As I mentioned before, it felt as if I had met all these people before.

During the chats on steemit some of these people had already become my friends, and now we just added the 'real life aspect' to that already existing connection.

Hopefully I won't get a after-steemfest-depression now. I'm already missing the spirit and dynamic we lived during the event. It's surely addictive!

See you on the blockchain!!!

Marly -

PS: As I mentioned in the beginning of the article, I met many more amazing people at the conference but missed to take a picture with all of them. So I hope they will publish theirs and like that everybody gets "the whole picture" :-)


Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content. Quote found on 9cover.com.

Sort:  

GREAT pictures and tribute to so many awesome Steemians! Thank you for sharing this wealth of connections you had the opportunity to gather over the passed few days. Keep up the smiles @surfermarly, take good care, thrive on and, of course, STEEM ON!

Namaste :)

Thank you @eric-bocher! You are completely right, it's a tribute!!! I could have easily called this: finally meeting my internet friends (and I'm generally very restrictive using the word 'friend')...:-)

Steem on!

Was a really awesome event indeed! Very happy to have met you there although I didn't get to join you surfing.

Looks like we will have to exchange some photos as I didn't know you had one of me playing pool ^^

Till next time!

Oh, and I think I'll also have to do an image with the roll-out! Perhaps we could make it a thing to go travel to different places with it :p

It was great to meet you in person, too!

Looks like we will have to exchange some photos as I didn't know you had one of me playing pool ^^

Sure! Actually I also didn't know that I had it until today's morning when I passed the pics from my phone to the PC :-)

Do you have one of these banners? Posing with it at "Las Canteras" would be surely a nice shot :-) See you.

For everyone that couldn't attend SteemFest². This link will take you directly to the presentation by @surfermarly.
A surfer's point of view - YouTube

An index of all the talks with start time links is available here

Ah cool, you've got the direct link to my presentation - that's brilliant! Thank you :-)

It was an honor to have you wearing that shirt! It was amazing what you do both online on Steemit and offline with the charity event you've done.

You continue to inspire me and many other people and it's pleasure to finally meet you.

Stay awesome as always!!

Thanks for your lovely words, @awesomianist! The pleasure was and is mine.
The t-shirt will be worn at many more events though :-)
See you on steemit and then hopefully again at the next Steemfest

Owh im already looking forward to the next one! With the conclusion of this year's steemfest, I have made exciting plans of things to do throughout the next year leading to SF3! Steemit.com will be seeing alot of me from now on!

Yes please! Do wear the shirt any chance you can when you want!

That sounds excellent! :-)

It was such a pleasure to meet you and hear about your amazing projects with the kids. I am looking forward to the next time we meet. You are so lovely, just like I knew you would be. Hope you had a nice trip back to home base. Big Love.

Thanks for your lovely words!!! It was a huge pleasure meeting you. My home trip was a bit tiring since I had to fly over another island to finally arrive at mine. But I made it, and now it's time to relax :-)
See you on steemit! Big hugs :-*

Awww @surfermarly!!!
💛💛💛
It was so nice to meet ya!
I can't wait till next time we can get together!
I want to surf with you next time 😉👍🤙

Maybe karen and I can come visit you at your beautiful island !😄

Yeah, we definitely have to surf together one day!
Also I'd love to welcome you on my little island. Feel free to come over whenever you want :-)
Big hugs to you and Karen. See you on steemit!!! :-*

this looks like it was fun so i have made a resolution to be there next year

It was great meeting you, girl! A shame we missed a picture moment though.

Hugs from Amsterdam ~

YES it was wonderful to finally meet you in person.
I can't believe we didn't take a picture together!!!
But do you remember that @andrarchy filmed us while we were dancing in the front row?!? Haha, that's gonna be much better than any 2D pic I guess - lol

Big hugs back from Lanzarote!!

I know!!

And oh god, do I? That must look awful considering my dancing skills. @steembirds were amazing though. It was the best thing!

I guess so! Let's see :D

LOL - I'm pretty sure it would be a lot of fun watching us dancing there with @firepower :-D

So glad you came and had a nice time. You are proof of why Steemit is so great and I look forward to seeing all you accomplish by next year! Your presentation I am sure inspired many and will be a story helping many others find something special on Steemit.

SteemOn!

Thanks for your lovely words, Quinn!
It was a pleasure meeting you at Steemfest and your speech was also very inspiring.
Have a great time and see you around :-)

I am so grateful you felt it was inspiring. I really put it all on the line and shared raw and real from my heart!

So great to connect and share with you even though brief. Keep up the great work, you too are inspiring many I am sure.

Look forward to connecting and sharing with you here on Steemit and see you at SteemFest3 next year!

Full Steem Ahead~*~

Did you leave earlier? I didn't see you at the Good Bye dinner anymore (I think...) but then again, we don't have to say Good Bye, because we see each other here, of course :)

I'm still working on my album... I'm afraid I will break the blockchain, it's sooo many photos!!!

Unfortunately I had to leave on Sunday in the afternoon so I missed the dinner. I heard you had a blast there :-) You're completely right: we will see each other every day, even though we can't be at the very same place on Earth, hehe

Haha, nooooo don't break the blockchain! We still need it :-)

I know I mentioned that before but it was a HUGE pleasure meeting you in person!! Big hugs

Look like you had tons of fun! I'll be sure to be at the next one!

P.S. Heard you kicked butt at poker while there :)

Oh yeah, we had a blast!
You definitely need to join the next one :-)

Haha I didn't really kick ass at the poker table, but I somehow stayed alive until half of the game. So that was at least something...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57