Steemfest Pre-Drinks Night 30/11/2017

in #steemfest7 years ago

Hello Steemian in the last post I talked about how it was arriving at the secret garden between the hotels for the pre-drinks event just before the steemfest conference that made me realise... holy crap I was really attending the main Steemit event!

But while I talked abit about how wonderful and yet very surprising the whole setting was I didn't talk much about what actually happened on the night.

U5drVgmgardenwaiters_1680x8400-t2.jpg


Images By @simonjay


I had done some reading of posts from people who attended the first Steemfest event that turning up without knowing anybody can be a little tricky and the advice was if you get on with someone dont worry about meeting other people during the rest of the event instead start by first build a relationship with that one person and worry not about meeting anybody else for the rest of the gathering.

Curious to what you guys make of the advice?


imoji.com


Now I will admit while I knew many many of the faces I didn't actually know anybody personally I seem to have made more friends online with the Americans then with most of the Europeans that showed up, so unfortunately those that I did want to meet and to who I spoke with the most online didn't show up.

So yes at first it can be rather daunting because many Steemians had already made friends from the previous event.

There was many examples of Steemians coming in and seeing people they knew from the first event which they hadn't seen for a whole full year.
These Steemians would chat online often but I could tell it was really nice for them to see each other again face to face since their last meeting.


Images By @simonjay


As with most people they pretty much stayed in their groups which is a shame because after all this was an amazing opportunity to network.
But before you go complaining at me in the comments I am not picking on Steemians in particular even when I go out to work events or out with friends I see the same problem, people sticking to one group normally the ones they know best and unfortunately leave others out.

Luckily I am not one of those people who sticks to a particular group has even during work events or social gatherings with friends I am often the only person who jumps from one group to another which is why I hate seating arrangements so much.
I prefer going to places or events where people stand as it gives the opportunity to move around and talk with more people.

So basically events just like the pre-drinks for steemfest2 are just perfect to network so after a few glasses of wine lol and quick chat with @silviabeneforti and @paolobeneforti I decided to approach @kevinwong and from there it all started rolling, I got to meet @bitrocker2020 @voronoi @hansikhouse @sterlinluxan @joythewanderer @future24 and a few others who also joined in the conversation.


Images By @simonjay


The most memorable part of the night is when @kevinwong informed me that @blocktrades was in the house, I wanted to meet him because I wanted to thank him personally for one of hes votes which helped me fund my trip to Steemfest, honestly without hes votes or @kevinwong votes I would of never been able to attend this event.

So I asked @kevinwong to point him out to me in the crowd, but @blocktrades was busy and so was I at that moment in time, so I said to myself I will finish this conversation and then go introduce myself and thank him for hes support.

After a few minutes I told @joythewanderer I wanted to go and thank @blocktrades personally, she also wanted to meet him so we decided to go look for him together.


Images By @simonjay


We started by looking around the garden amongst the many other Steemians, we tried searching the hotel lobbies, we even tried just outside the hotel has trust me there was Steemians everywhere!
But unfortunately no luck finding him, but instead I bumped into @roelandp

I chatted to @roelandp the man behind the amazing Steemfest event and also introduced @joythewanderer to him.

And what a great guy he is after chatting I let him go because surely he must of been busy and probably tired from all of the organising but what a great privilege to meet him such a cool guy and I thanked him for all hes help getting me to steemfest.
After letting @roelandp go and with no sight of @blocktrades the group was feeling extremely tired from their travels so it was agreed it was time to head back to the hotel for some much needed sleep and it was only the first night of fun lol.

Most Social Gatherings Are Like School Cafeterias


collegehumor.com


WP_20171102_004 (2)24112017-s750.jpg


Other POSTS

-Woman Stunned People -

https://steemit.com/funny/@simonjay/a-woman-stunned-disgusted-shoppers-28-11-2017

-Personal Look Inside My Mind-

https://steemit.com/life/@simonjay/sharing-personal-open-mind-experience-24-11-2017

-Assassins Creed Origins-
https://steemit.com/gaming/@simonjay/my-first-look-assassins-creed-origins-26-11-2017

-Special Moment I Knew I Was Really At Steemfest-
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@simonjay/the-moment-it-hit-me-i-was-really-at-steemfest-22-11-2017

badgessteemit.jpg
authorsteemitprofilio04082017.jpg

So if you like this page I need you guys to do me 2 easy things.

1.First please upvote this page.
2.And secondly dont forget to follow me below.

Also since votes don't always = $ and you if want to see more you can send me Steem Power Tips to @simonjay to help support me.

@paradise-found - @koskl - @hanshotfirst - @meesterboom - @mammasitta - @surpassinggoogle - @whatisnew - @kristy1 have already done this so a big thank you to them all!




[Follow Me Here @simonjay]

Sort:  

I hope someday i can with great people like you all. The great steemians people.
Just my dream :)

It can be a reality with enough work done on Steemit @zakir43

Thank you :)

You are doing the best job @simonjay. really appreciated your work sir

Thanks alot @hassanjony there is so much more to come

Sound like you had a really memorable time there that good to hear :)

Oh yes thanks @hotmagoes it was a good night very memorable not sure they could beat it was so surprised when I first entered felt very well taken care of thanks to @roelandp

Have nice party.I wish you very good luck for the party.

Thank you it was a fun time @arman118

I would definitely try to meet as many people as I could.

I guess it depends with some you would probably want to build a better relationship with @whatisnew or maybe its down to personality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44