24 Hrs in Berlin. Bike, Borstj und Beer.

in #steemfest8 years ago

3 weeks ago I was invited by @aaronkoenig to speak at BXB meetup in Berlin.


Telling about the diversity of Steemit content by showing some of the speakers of SteemFest (pic by @film-editor)

Albeit being quite (to say the least) busy with SteemFest it was an honour and also a great way to go back to Berlin, a city which stole my heart ages ago when I used to work for TodaysArt Festival and we had annual trips to Club Transmediale Festival.


Maintaining contact with the mothership (Steemit.chat)

I arrived yesterday after 6.5hrs train ride with intermittent 4g/3g/edge/No Service connection and I decided to hire a bike. I had never done that before actually, and was a nice alternative to the U-bahn. I decided to try and visit the Reichstag, but the great Chapel / Kupel was closed for cleaning purposes, so again no luck. I really want to visit and see that architecture one day.

Then I did a small Brandenburger Tor bike-through and buying an Ampelmanchen gift (beanie) for our babyboy, before heading to Kreuzberg and having a coffee, and actually buying some gloves for myself! Because cold it was. I continued my ride, after I discovered internet was supercrappy, to the actually venue of the BXB Meetup: Oak & Ice in Prenzlauer Berg. Here I met with @aaronkoenig who was having an interview with ARD Teevision. Oak & Ice served nice coffee's, illegal beer after closing time and borstj (sour soup popular in several Eastern European cuisines) as the owners of the place are from Poland.


My rental bike & Brandenburger Tor

The meeting/talks iself, the BXB Meetup, was very nice. After Andreas' Avalon Life presentation, I did a short talk about SteemFest and Steem in general. @aaronkoenig wrote a nice report about it and I just wanted to add my slides for anyone interested:


(might be not so interesting without the talk)

After nice chats with fellow Steem user @juanmiguelsalas and some Paulaner's it was time to hit my hostel across the street. I received room number 13. And yes some bad luck it was indeed. My private room was shared with another bedbunk room, which happen to be inhabited by 4 english youngster girls, having the time of their life, being in Berlin and such. So up till 1 AM they where discussing their recent ventures, but when I asked whether I could borrow some earplugs from them (which they didn't have) they thankfully turned down the music and their voices :) And I actually could sleep for about 8 hours straight... #winning!


Epic hostel room decorations :P

And now I'm back in the train to Amsterdam, tomorrow visiting a talk called 'Reinvent Money' in Delft, NL! @aaronkoenig and BXB Meetup group, thanks for having me!


Like my posts?

Come meet me at SteemFest and vote for my recently rebranded 'witness' roelandp #32

cheers! @roelandp

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your visit and your great talk!

Here is my little report about yesterday's event: https://steemit.com/steemfest/@aaronkoenig/roelandp-presented-steem-fest-in-berlin

It looks like fun and like it was a whirlwind trip!

Good job, seems like people is fighting for the beauty of this project.

Was nice to meet you "in person" yesterday @roelandp :) See you at the Steemfest!

A team reading, learning and working together to build Steemit and all the while having fun!

Someday when you will call back your memory’s, you will certainly catch yourself ''missing these days"...

The hiring a bike idea sounds wonderful!

yes def. Although distances are way bigger in Berlin compared to Amsterdam, but still it is a very nice way to explore the city. Many bicycle pathways and space. Bikes everywhere! I'd recommend spring or summer for biking though :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56215.99
ETH 2973.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27