✈Let'sTravel#2 – Lisbon - STEEMFEST²

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

STEEMFEST² is coming closer and closer and so is everyones travel plans! I was in Portugal last year, which is why I decided to give you a little help to decide where to go, where not to go and what to do in your free time!

Where the city of seven hills meets the Ocean...


R71_7145.JPG

If you don't know the following facts about Lisbon, you are not worthy visiting this beautiful city. So let's better start with fours facts about Lisbon:

  1. First city in the world to import Guinness
  2. Two of Lisbon’s monuments are copy-cats (Do you know which ones?)
  3. One of the smallest bookshops in the world is here (Any bookworms here?)
  4. Only five men know the recipe to the Lisbon’s favorite pastry, the Pastel de Belém

GOPR4086.JPG

Mosteiro dos Jerónimos is directly in Belem. It is an enormous historical building, worth a visit. We ourselves only had been inside one part of the building, which is why I can't tell you much about how it looks in the inside. It's still huge from the outside, that's what she said! (that's how you use it right! )

R71_6332.JPG

Pastéis de Belém! Close to Mosteiro dos Jerónimos there is a "bakery" - Pastéis de Belém. It is touristy, but locals say it is the best too. So why not check it out yourselves...

Did I hear Beer?


20160917_002038.jpg

This was an interesting beer bar, I must say. Aroeira is the name of it and it's worth a visit. They brew their own beer in the back of the bar, next to offering their own beer, they have a lot of other kinds and brands of beer...

20160916_235411.jpg

This is how I look, when photos of me are taken... not amused at all ;) But someone here had to ask for some photos of me on my travels. We decided to take a beer flight of five. My girlfriend, who is no beer lover, let me drink all. Lucky me! :)

Don't ask me why I look so mean. Maybe you got some theories!? Leave a comment and the best comment will win 10% of the payout! (My first giveaway, YAY!)

20160917_173010.jpg

You definitely have to visit this place: LX Factory! LX Factory is an area where a lot of start-ups, Ateliers (studios), restaurants and bars are placed. You will see pretty interesting things here, but also the best cake in town or really cool people are to be found here...

R71_6912.JPG

What is missing? Every area like this must have some pretty cool Graffiti paintings around! I do love Graffiti, but it has to be real art not just any Graffiti... I won't show you any because I will do another series about all the hidden Graffiti gems I found around the world. These two photos are some other gems I found around this area.

20160917_172212.jpg

This cake is a must have in Lisbon, trust me you have to try it out! It is a triple chocolate cake and believe me after the first one you want another one and anthother one. I do miss the taste of it. Can't wait for it... It is AMAZING!! Landeau Chocolate

Where to get the best Sangria!


R71_5287.JPG

Don't forget to drink lots of, lots of Sangria! The best Sangria I drank, was unfortunately not in Lisbon, but in Lagos. It is a three hour ride from Lisbon, but if you are staying a little longer in Portugal, you can combine this with a great Oceanroad drive and maybe the best Sangria on the planet! If you are an alcoholic or aficionado, then Bora Cafe is your choice!

How about the Surrounding area?


R71_5889.JPG

You definitely have to rent a car in Lisbon for one or two days at least. You need to get outside of the city and see some of the most beautiful landscapes ever. We started our trip in Faro and drove up the coast to Lisbon, it really had amazing landscapes, empty beaches and beautiful cities with cool bars & restauraunts! Portugal was a perfect choice for the STEEMFEST²! Looking forward to going there again and meeting everyone of you there!

R71_6059.JPG

This photo of my girlfriend was taken at the beach of Odeceixe. It also is a three hour ride (down south) from Lisbon...

You didn't get a room at the hotel, where the meetup will be, airbnb is the way to go! My airbnb stays always were perfectly fine, this is the way to visit a new country or city nowadays. You will get insights on the daily life of a local and also some insider tips, on what to do and what not.

Looking forward to the STEEMFEST² and hopefully see you there!

If you got any questions on my trip to Lisbon please feel free to share them in the comment section, I will read all of your questions and reply as soon as possible.

As always, I do appreciate your upvote if you enjoyed my new "Let'sTravel" series. Let me know what you think about it, so I get the chance to improve! :)

I wish you a lovely week and see you soon!

@redtravels


#TRAVELADVICE


All my Let'sTravel posts will be tagged with #traveladvice

If you want to look up my older posts or just look for my newest one, that's how you will find it the easiest! I will make a travelmap of all the countries I have been to!


Going to Amsterdam soon?


Then you might want to check out my personal Steemit traveladvice for Amsterdam. This series will be an ongoing one, where I will be giving you tips to different Countries & Cities I have been to...

Let'sTravel#1 – Amsterdam


UPDATES on STEEMFEST²


For updates on STEEMFEST² visit @roelandp !! Let's hope that he got the best Pastel de Nata in Lisbon. It is mentioned in my post, where to find it. :)


PS: The Photos I am using for my blog are either taken by me or my girlfriend.

Sort:  

Sehr schöner Post! Ich war schon mal 7 Wochen in Lissabon und hab nichts von den Dingen gesehen die du beschreibst :) Außer die 7 Hügel, ich bin dort 1500 km in der Stadt gefahren, war geschäftlich dort.

Das freut micht zu hören, das ist mein Ziel versteckte Plätzchen der Community zu zeigen :) 7 Wochen lang geschäftlich? Muss ja richtig spannend gewesen sein :)

Das war eine idiotische Idee von einem meiner Freunde, wir wollten 2 Honda 900 BolDor (?) dort verkaufen, aber den ganzen Papierkram hat er dann nicht auf die Reihe bekommen und wir haben sie dann bei Freunden in der Provinz abgestellt.

@redtravels: i know why you look so mean or i would say not amused!

Take a look at the picture behind you. It's the Last Supper! And you know what happened after ... :)

Nice post and pictures!

hahahha I haven't even noticed that one! Sometimes you have to double check your own photos to find new stuff on it :) Appreciate it! :)

Cool stuff and beautiful pics!

I write about crypto, personal life, sports and life on my profile. Will soon start blogging about food, travel and my adventures in Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Philippines. You might be interested, love <3

looks amazing.. dying to explore more of europe!

Go for it! :)

Lisbon is a fabulous city!

You live there or just visited it? It's amazing looking forward to going there again :)

Sangria in Portugal? Sangria is Spanish!

Same same but different! Just kidding I know, but still it was hell of a good Sangria? I'm eating Pizza in Germany too, even if it's not from there ;) Was in Portugal for 11 days and ate portuguese cuisine every day... It's awesome and so delicious, but can't eat it every day for so many days... :)

2- the Bridge and the Jesus ;)

Also Cabo da Roca and Sintra is a must. In Lisbon it is worth to go see St George castle - it has the most amazing view to the whole city and the other side of the river.

Must try Porto, Licor Beirão, Brigadeiro cake, and besides Pastéis de Nata also Pastéis de Feijão.

Cool review of Lisbon!! Upped!

This could be using the #travelmap tag (here for more info).

Lisbon looks like a very beautiful city and I'm looking forward to attending SteemFest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67