The Road To Steemfest: Help Me Choose A Speech Topic!

in #steemfest6 years ago

Mask_in_hand.jpg

I need help! My problem is I'm verbose, that is to say I use too many words, most articles that I post start off at least twice as long as they end up. I like the sound of words, I like using them in new and interesting ways. This sometimes results in some cracking articles, or super stimulating conversations. At others it can lead to boredom and outright psychosis.

I've been tinkering with the talk that @roelandp has so kindly let me do at Steemfest 3, however I can't seem to settle on a subject matter. Plus I've only got twenty minutes to deliver the talk and to take a Q&A sesh afterwards. Which for a self-confessed over talker like me, is a nightmare.

Can't I just ramble on until people are bored and then someone wanders on stage and stops me?

Clearly not, that would represent some version of hell for both speaker and listener.

So instead I'm going to ask you guys, the people who have read me before or even read me regularly, to give me a hand choosing the subject(s) of my talk. This will obviously be based on what you want to hear, and remember you don't have to be going to Steemfest to contribute.

OK, so here we go.

Motivational - Potential

Whatever talk I end up giving I want it to motivate and inspire people. However it's all about what vehicle I use to do this.

My Incredible You series was about unlocking your potential. I focused a lot on meditation and self-hypnosis. Also the series looked at staying productive.

This area is close to my heart because I've used a lot of these techniques to completely transform my life. Both in the practical and metaphysical sense, I am in a lot better place than I was ten years ago and it really buzzes me passing on the secrets to potential.

Language - Use and Development

The study of language, otherwise known as etymology, is a big passion of mine. I view language in much the same way a painter views colour, or a sculpture views stone or plaster. These are the tools of my craft and I'm constantly trying to find new ways to use them.

I love studying the effect of words and phrases on the human psyche, and how they evolve over time. Though I'm acutely aware how to a lot of people words are just words and so don't want to bore my listeners to death.

Artificial Intelligence - Robots - Machine Intelligence

I'm a self confessed science/sci-fi geek. I could talk about this subject till the cows come home. I love thinking about technology, especially how it is evolving and the effect it has on all of our lives.

I'm particularly interested in the boundaries between science fact and fiction. There are things happening on the horizon of science fact that scare a lot of people, in some cases me too. However what seems abhorent to most is fascinating to me.

I personally can't wait till I'm a cyborg, a being that has become more than human.

Steemit

Of course we will be at Steemfest so perhaps talking about Steemit is the most obvious choice. I have been on the site almost since the beginning. It launched in April '16 and I joined a month later.

So I've seen a lot of changes, people coming, going, living, dying, loving, complaining, arguing, laughing. Perhaps this in itself is a story worth telling?

Writing

I guess this ties into the words subject at the top. However I'm wondering if people will be interested in my process, what I feel makes a good writer, and how to find your niche and succeed on Steemit and beyond.

Though I have also been invited to host a small workshop/roundtable discussion, so might leave this subject for then. Or perhaps I could outline it in the speech and go into more detail in the workshop.

My Life/Random

I've had an interesting life so far, it's not mega amazing but I've done some funny things. From surviving the rave era of the 90s, to becoming a photographer, to buying Louis Vuiton for the Triads, to hanging with the 'beautiful people' in the Brit Pop scene.

WHAT DO YOU THINK? WHAT DO YOU WANT TO HEAR ME SPEAK ABOUT? WOULD YOU PREFER I STUCK TO MY CONTENT OR HOW I CREATE THE CONTENT? OR PERHAPS YOU'D JUST LIKE TO HEAR ME BABBLE ON ABOUT RANDOM STUFF!?!

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cryptogee


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

Artificial Intelligence - Robots - Machine Intelligence

You're passion for this one shines out, whatever angle you take...

I would be interested in the Artificial Intelligence - Robots - Machine Intelligence :)

I like the idea of hearing about what you've seen on Steemit, would be fun for newer steemians to hear about things they've missed, and for older ones to reminisce! And maybe add in a bit of your own personal life experiences for something fun and entertaining? Would be a nice change to most of the serious talks going down :)

Thanks! Yes I think fun is the watch word to guide my speech by!

Cg

Yeah, this idea sounds good to me too. It's meant to be a festival, right? So have plenty of fun with it. A great chance to crack some savvy blockchain jokes or something.

Imagine if your jokes and stories lead to interesting facts and explanations. People love learning stuff in a fun, lighted-hearted fashion.

Good luck with whatever you decide to go with! Should be seeing you at Luton on the 7th, as I heard from @steevc you're flying that morning as well?

Asking is a blessing,
Well, i will suggest you mix up writing and steemit, because steemit and writing are the things that always go along with each other, you can't be a good steemian if you don't know how to write, at least in the most cases, you can tell the people who to give power to your writing and if you done that, you can get success in steem.
Steem on!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@cryptogee,

You know where I stand. Don't speak about things you want to say. Speak about things we need to hear.

Quill

@crytptogee..you can inspire ,encourage by sharing your personal stories how you entered steemit?what scope you see in future like various sites are coming up who are imitating steemit..whats the progress as a whole and why people should believe on steemit projects?future of technology in animated and imaginative way how life will change with technology .?.Tips for healthy lifestyle as people are more stuck to tabs and computers and what should be our focus on in our life:)I think real time examples ,stories and humor will make your speech interesting.People are more interested to hear about how they can improve life in terms of health and finances ..You can give simple tips and tricks to earn on steemit .. for people like us who cannot cope up with you as you being verbose so plz be simple with your vocabulary..All the best...waiting for video:)enjoy have fun...just last suggestion we as a students used to get bored with the guest lecture if that particular speaker who boast about himself all the time and doesn't gives crisp knowledge on particular subject..

Totally A.I., robots and the future of society after the massive impact these technologies will have in our lives.

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet @r00sj3 would love to have one about AI

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49