Dear Steemfest Attendees... You Can Count on this Seattle Girl to Scope Out All the Good Coffee Shops in Krakow

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)


Hello my Steemy Friends!

Except for @roelandp... I honestly might be the first Steemian to land in Krakow. I'll be getting there Saturday night and the event doesn't start until Wednesday. I'm super excited to get settled in and get over my jetlag before all the festivities begin.

This means that I'm going to have plenty of time on my hands though. I was chatting with @theaustrianguy and he recommended I spend some of that extra time scoping out the good coffee shops around the conference.

I am fully willing to become over caffeinated for this research project. Let's get real... I'll probably scope out all the good pierogi places too.

My Credentials



I promise I'm not just some Seattle hipster... I am a true coffee snob and I promise to bring you only the best recommendations I can find in Krakow.

Here's a little fun fact about me... I'm actually an internationally certified barista.

IMG_9032.JPG

(aka I’m a total coffee snob and you would probably be embarrassed to be seen in a coffee shop with me.) My poor friends roll their eyes when they order their mocha’s and I launch into my order. Honestly though, I love the art of preparing an excellent cup of coffee. So where does the international certification play in? About a decade ago, I went down to Seattle to take a huge written exam on coffee and prepare drinks for some of the most influential coffee minds in the world – all while they evaluated me and asked me questions. It was intense – but a really cool experience!

I Fly Out on Friday!



I can hardly belive that I fly out in less than a week! I literally can't wait to meet all of you awesome people and am honsetly excited to get to Krakow and be able to take a bath with a glass of wine and relax after my long flight. This Friday/Saturday I'll be traveling close to 20 hours to get to Poland... and that's assuming there are no issues or delays.

If you are getting to Steemfest early as well - be sure to hit me up! Maybe we can get over caffeinated together. <3

Ps... The cover photo used in this video is the same photo @skyleap used to make my footer image below. Tripy right?

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

austin.png


More of my Steemy Adventures


The Steem Sister Show Has a New Page!
The Steem Monster Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Support The October Minnow of the Month - @lifesacircus
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I believe in you girl, don't disappoint :P

hahah it's official now. Gotta come through for you all! ;)

steem coffee.JPG

AND we want our coffee to look like this.
As a certified barista you surely can handle that, right? :)

OMG AMAZING!! hahah this gave me an idea... hmmm we’ll see if I can pull it off. ;)

LMAO. This made me laugh out loud. I look forward to your coffee shop review and report of the Steemfest event. It's my hope to be going to a Christmas meet up in Sydney, Australia this year, and another of the big Steem events (the name of which escapes me) in the USA next year. I hope to be doing it all on the back of my efforts here on the Steemit platform as well, which will be a challenge but I think it's a good thing to have goals that are tangible outside of the platform itself.

So cool!! I'm jealous you get to attend the Sydney Christmas party. @mattclarke said I could be an honorary member... hahah :)

Are you thinking of the Steem Creators Conference in Austin next April? If so, i'll be there! :) If it's something else though... let me know... I am trying to attend any steem events I can afford to attend these days. :)

Yes, it was the Steem Creators Conference in Austin. That's 6 months away, so I'd better start saving. Yeah, @mattclarke and I are good friends who met through Steemit here in Adelaide.

We have monthly meet ups with a core group of people and we discuss different technologies attached to Steemit (like Steepshot, DTube, VIMM and other things) and support each other. It's really cool.

So cool that you are going to Austin!! It will be awesome to meet you there. :) So cool that you have such a solid group of people to meetup with every month.

Thanks for the reply, it means so much. Well, that's the plan. I've never been overseas let alone the USA and these things are often subject to "life happens" kind of moments, but I need to get out of my comfort zone and create "stretch goals".

Can you imagine if you were to channel your DTube earnings over, say, a year into bigger project / goal?
Austin will be another test, in a series of smaller goals building up to 'who knows what'. But this is the first time I have genuinely been excited to have more of a life plan an Steem will be the method with which to do that.

Wow, that's so awesome!! Meeting up with Steemians in person can be such a great way to grow relationships on the platform - or find inspiration for new projects or collaborations.

So exciting that it will be your first time in the US! The weather should be warm and super comfortable in Austin during April. Austin is also a SUPER fun city. Lots of great food, cool bars, dancing ... the works. :)

The Steem Creators crew is a LOT of fun too.

I know some people in Austin, Texas so it would be cool to meet up with them as well.

Oh awesome! It will be a long plane ride - but you'll have so much fun. Austin has a good airport too. It's easy to navigate and get around. We will definitely have to stay in touch! So excited that we'll get to meet and hang out in Austin!

coffee???? oh oh. you may have some competition for addiction levels right here lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oooh it's on!! heheh

We should grab coffee during SF3 sometime if we can! It would be fun to catch up... even if it's just for a few minutes between speakers or something. :)

for sure. yeah hopefully you’ll have all the best spots picked out already.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You know it! :)

Oh I do love a good coffee.

However now I'm left wondering whether I actually know what one is!

Although I do know it's not Starbucks. Most definitely not my bean.

NB be careful though... the UKs drained Poland of 90% of its barristas. Those coffee shops may try and recruit you.

See you there!

Posted using Partiko Android

hahah I would totally jump behind the bar and start making drinks!! I actually really miss being a barista sometimes. :)

See you soooon! :)

I'd be really interested to know if you find a coffee shop that accepts steem or sbd. lmk. I arrive 1 day early with the pimp my ride @ddaily crew car... so looking forward to meeting you and so many others!! woop woop!

Oooh fun! Who else is in this DDaily car with you all? Sounds like trouble for sure! :)

I tried googling places that accept crypto and didn't come up with much... but i'll be sure to ask as I go into these various spots. :)

It's me. @kevinli, @artakush and @captainbob. We rented what we are calling the Ddaily mansion in Krakow. There are 10 of us from the Ddaily crew in the Mansion. and yes... it will certainly be trouble!!
yeah... hope some of these businesses agree to take steem. looking forward to having all us in a real economy briefly!!

Oooh man that IS going to be a crazy crew!! Stoked to see you all soon!

Good luck and tons of best wishes. God bless you in whatever you do. This is my heartiest wish just for you.

aww thank you @steemersayu907!! So kind of you! <3

You're the Sweetest Dtuber ever!!

Excited to meet you at SF3 :)

Please tell me the best coffee shops in Krakow. I was there two months ago and I didn't had chance to explore all the cool spots.

Please note I only drink and eat locally grown and I hope you'll find a place that suits my world view.lol

Have a safe trip and please do let me know if I can help you with something :)

aww I am SO excited to meet you too!! We will have to make a Dtube snap together! hehe

I think we allign really well in terms of food. At home, I almost exclusively eat food that is locally sourced and I carry those same values to my coffee as well. I'll do my best to find a high quality coffee shop that is close to Steemfest that sources locally! <3

Thank you so much and I'm happy to hear you carry the same values:)

If I can make someone happy then I'll do my best even it's making a Dtubesnap.

Also please note that I'm coming to SF3 to meet amazing people like yourself and connect with my fellow Dtubers and STEEMians. I don't do marketing and promoting. So You'll be guaranteed I'll not talk about DtubeSnap but I probably I'll be talking about how to empower my fellow Dtubers journey..

Of course - whatever you are comfortable with! I'm just excited to make video content with other Dtuber's and Steemians while I'm there and you are definitely top of mind of someone i'd love to make a video with. :)

@coruscate, where are you flying from? WA, USA?
What, in my view, is a good coffee shop? It is a place where you can pay by crypto. I think that if I pay for my cup of coffee by crypto it will taste much better. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooh that would be cool - but I'm not sure i'll be able to find a coffee shop that accepts crypto in Krakow just yet. BUT that is a super interesting challenge! How cool would that be if there is one??

I am flying out of Seattle - but I live in Bellingham, WA, which is a few hours north of there.

@coruscate, where you will make stops? As I understand, there is no direct flight from Seattle to Krakow.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm afraid not - but that would have been nice! I have a connecting flight in Frankfurt. That's the part i'm most nervous about because I only have two hours between flights and I've heard Frankfurt can be a bit of a nightmare.

What company are you flying by?

I am flying Condor from Seattle to Frankfurt and then Lufthansa from Frankfurt to Krakow.

I didn't know you're Seattletonian. I'm in Shelton, not too far off. I'm pretty addicted to coffee. Here is an upvote. Good video.

Oh no way!! That's awesome. I actually live in Bellingham - but refer to myself as a Seattleite when talking to people that aren't from WA. :)

Me Too. Yeah, Seattle is our Nod, our Node.

Seattle is our Nod, our Node. Awesome.

Hello and nice to meet you!

As a fellow Seattleite, I appreciate your coffee angle!

I'm in Bellevue actually.

I'm looking to start a list of other Steemians in the greater Seattle area so I can put together a meet up!

More so, I'm starting an interview show/podcast that it would be great to have you and/or other steemians on in the future!

Have a great time at Steem Fest!

Shawn, that is great.

Hope the Seattle Area Steem Community grows more and more like the Portland PDX Area has. I've heard of a meetup in Oregon, where I'm from. That new social network, GAB.COM, has been shut down by NPC Tyranny.

Social Network Competition.

I wonder if the NWO will also terminate MINDS.COM, BITCHUTE.COM, BRIGHTEON.COM, or maybe even STEEM.IO, that is the root of Steemit.com, Busy.org, etc. So, Gab was hosted on GoDaddy until that daddy ended that contract. Gab went to another web host but was then kicked off that too.

Blockchain Networks

I think Steem is not hosted on GoDaddy, Apple, Microsoft, Comcast, any centralized ISP, etc. So, that is good, I think. As far as I can tell, Steem is better than Gab & Minds because Steem is build on blockchain. That means no centralized gate keeper like GoDaddy or whatever. I think Minds was not on a blockchain. But maybe that has or will change. I wish Gab would hop on a blockchain as well. But if I am wrong, then they will also come to stop Steem as well. But if Steem is so much better, then Gab & others should learn from Steem, learn from the best. Here is an upvote.

Oh that's awesome @shawnsporter!! Please let me know what you find out for people in the Seattle area and keep me in the loop! Because I live up in Bellingham, I've thought about hosting some kind of meetup and seeing if people from both Seattle and Vancouver want to meet here - but I worry it's a little too far for the Seattle folks and the Vancovuer people might not want to cross the border. If some kind of Seattle meetup starts to form - I'd love to help. Maybe my sister @maryjaney and I can head down for the night. :)

Very cool, we'll stay in touch for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Enjoy! ☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58