Accepting progress

in #steemexclusive9 months ago

IMG_20231213_193042.jpg

Every country has its weird or incomprehensible public art on display for all to see. Speaking of which, perhaps the first that comes to my mind is Arne Quinze's Rock Strangers in Oostende. But I'm sure I can think of many more such creations that I've photographed over the years, it's just that one that comes to mind first.
One of the points that I usually mark as a must-see when I have traveled have been just such monuments, they have been one of my subjects to photograph, trying, after photographing them, to reflect on them, what would make the creative brain of one person to create such a thing, what is behind each such creation.
This has always been endlessly curious to me.

IMG_20231213_193330.jpg

Well, today's post isn't exactly about weird art, although the pictures really do show just such creations.

The first and top picture is of the work of a rather controversial artist with a rather controversial and scandalous past, who ended up as a politician, and just recently resigned for unwittingly speaking the truth that no one had the courage to speak.
The piece is called "Curiosity" and I'll leave you to puzzle over what the author meant by it. 😂

The rest of the photos are of a creation that is called a "Curly-headed Recyclican" or something like that in English and is made of various ship parts.

Both sculptures are placed in the area of the port of Burgas, a place that is otherwise generally known for its intolerance of strange and incomprehensible, rather mystical art.

IMG_20231213_193348.jpg

So, with this entrance text, I'm just clarifying that there is incomprehensible art everywhere. In most cases it is well received in other countries where people are a bit more open minded and tolerant within wider limits or try more to understand art as art in the first place.

But here in the country's capital this year, some interesting installation appeared, which was part of the Christmas decoration. And this decoration was the subject of popular indignation for several days. Unfortunately, I don't have the occasion and opportunity to travel to the capital, otherwise I would have photographed it, I consider the idea quite interesting and good. The installation was a sort of mirrored archway of a portal placed in the middle of nowhere on the cobblestones against the backdrop of the city's main temple, with a red carpet laid underneath.

Such a big problem for the Bulgarian population! Complaints, condemnations, all kinds of grumbling. Suddenly people became art connoisseurs and began to resent. And the installation was simply dismantled one night.

IMG_20231213_193411.jpg

I wish all these disgruntled people were disgruntled for really good reasons. For every increase in prices that is not followed by an increase in the already low pensions or no increase in wages. When the price of electricity and heating increases every winter season, when the price of dirty and poisonous water that flows from the taps increases, when fuel prices increase, when these prices on the world market fall, etc.
For the fact that the large chain stores sell us low-quality goods at prices as high as or higher than Western European prices. Because even the quality of cosmetics sold in the country is different from that in Europe. That we pay for everything and get nothing really, because there is nothing free or at least of decent quality offered as a service in this country.

IMG_20231213_193459.jpg

People are not protesting or demanding basic human rights. Oh no, I forgot, they express indignation when something new appears before their eyes that they do not understand. And yes, I forgot, they protest when others finally decide to dismantle the biggest communist monument in the capital - a symbol of their past, their past lives and all their false hopes.

Man is a strange animal, isn't he? Constantly clinging to the same familiar and harmful things that do him no good but ruin his life. And yet, they are preferred over the unknown ones.
Life must go on as it always has. No change is good, even if that change tries to lead to progress, to some kind of breakthrough, some kind of enlightenment, some kind of development.

I have to tell you that when I write such things, I am simultaneously examining myself, because I am also part of this thing, albeit from a different point of view and in a different range. I'm not heartless and I always try to put myself in other people's shoes. I am also afraid of changes, but I at least make an effort to move forward, little by little, step by step, constantly changing my worldview and looking for new paths... Even if these paths are completely invisible for quite a long period of time...

Thank you for your time! Copyright:@soulsdetour
steem.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.

Personally, I am a sensitive soul with a strong sense of justice.
Traveling and photography are my greatest passions.
Sounds trivial to you?
No, it's not trivial. Because I still love to travel to not so famous destinations.🗺️
Of course, the current situation does not allow me to do this, but I still find a way to satisfy my hunger for knowledge, new places, beauty and art.
Sometimes you can find the most amazing things even in the backyard of your house.😊🧐🧭|

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Thank you so much for supporting my post!

A couple of years ago, one governor in Nigeria took building of sculptures as a mandate.

Some were entertaining and the story behind them were worth researching about because it talks much about our history as Africans.

Since I have always love history like my Dad, I like researching on some of those monuments.

With the current demolition of this monument in our capital, I repeatedly ask myself these questions - should it be there, should it not have been destroyed long ago, since that time has long passed. And yet this is history. History must be remembered and preserved for sure. But should it be kept in exactly this way (a huge monument in the center of the capital, symbolizing a rather controversial and even shameful event).
I did not find a definite answer to all my questions.
Many countries around have removed the same such monuments a long time ago, but some of them have kept them. There can be many motives behind either action. A historical monument is a symbol, it is loaded with, gathered in itself all the weight of the event it presents. It's hard for something like that to just be crossed out/removed.
P.S. I don't like historical monuments so much, but rather independent works of art, i.e. those that are not so burdened with past events.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43