Building a STEEM app – starting my journey

in #steemdev6 years ago

makeapps.png

Hello Steemit Friends!

This post will serve a double purpose. It’s a personal journey of me starting to develop for the STEEM blockchain and a guide for people who want to start developing too.

I’m not new to programming and web development but I’m new to the blockchain technology. I wanted to use the latest tools and the best practices to build my first app, dpixify.com

The first stop that I could think of to find some help was to go the official STEEM developer portal at https://developers.steem.io/. It’s a good reference for the STEEM API but it doesn’t give a full picture of what you need to get started with developing for the STEEM blockchain.

The next place I thought of was the discord chat for developers at https://discord.gg/SXEbVme . This server is useful to ask for help or to find some tutorials, but I still didn’t see anything that was in the form of steps you need to take to get started. After a lot of scrolling around in different rooms I found a nice tutorial in the “tutorial-submissions” room by @shreyasgune. You can read it here.

That tutorial was the first step to getting closer to what I should be doing. I was able to follow it very easily. I set up my own instance of the busy.org app on Heroku and got it to work.
You can see what that looks like at https://leap-busy.herokuapp.com/ . So, I’ll be using Heroku to host the preview of the dpixify app.

After looking at the set up for busy and other STEEM based open source apps, I concluded that I need to learn to work with https://nodejs.org and https://www.npmjs.com . I haven’t worked with these technologies before, so I didn’t know the best way to learn and develop with them. I didn’t see any direction to find help for these in the “official” channels of steemit.

@cryptoctopus to the rescue! This is when I came across a post by him that helped me get the direction that I was looking for. I found this post first. Then, I found the first 2 entrees to his coding diary, which I recommend you read also.
Based on the information from the above articles I signed up for the web developer udemy course to learn how to work with Node. The course has a free invite to the cloud9 IDE, which is the best option for Node js development.
I am going through the course now to get everything set up for the dpixify app.

Summary of everything you need to get started developing apps for STEEM:

I hope you found this helpful, it saves lots of time and inspires you to get involved in writing some code for STEEM apps.

Thank you! @leap8

creativecommons

Sort:  

Very interesting, coding is a bit beyond me but I will keep an eye out for your finished app.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

thank you. I'm excited about setting up!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by leap8 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I've been thinking of starting myself, but havent had the ambition to beign the googling process, so i def appreciate this. I will be following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69