Would you use this service if it were built on Steem? Ideas on how it could be shaped for Steemers?

in #steemdev7 years ago

The idea

Before I even knew about Steemit I had this idea of building a website that people could use to store and organize all kinds of content for later usage and have them available to enjoy fast and easily.

In my mind I envisioned a place where one would store pictures of their children growing up so they can share it with them once they're adult or just store some interesting links, videos, gifs or snippets of texts. I even went a bit farther and saw it as a tool that your kin could use to get to know you. Yes, I'm that kind of guy. Always thinking 100 steps ahead, when still taking the first one.

There are many old people with vasts amount of knowledge that could be stored digitally, they just don't have the means. I know this from personal life. Knowledge that could prove valuable for generations but is about to be lost. Or they could be just stories, stories of your grandfather or his. They always have some lessons in them!

That's just one aspect, I myself deemed worthy of action. I also currently see many different sites for different media formats. Some are dedicated for gifs, some for videos. I'd like to have just one for content I have liked. This is a site I would use to store content I personally enjoy and want to save and not forget! That's explains the "Your page on the internet".

Important: This isn't a product even in a pre-alpha stage.


So keep that in mind, the look is rough and there are lot of things to be done. I'm well aware.

Frontpage

Straight access to newly added content by yourself and from others


Currently search works for tags or as I've called them in the system, names of folder.

Logged in


Logging in represents you access to feed that contains only your content and of course option to add content.

Adding content



In final product there wouldn't be option to add embedded, it would be built in for links

Checking the private makes sure your content is only shown in your content feed

Now you might wonder why I've used terms like folders and topics.. Well, this where the detailed view enters the picture.
This is a view I originally built but now serves as an secondary view.

Detailed page

This is a view that isn't optimized at all for mobile devices but it's barely usable.


On the left you can see list of your topics

On the right is every folder you've added to topic

Conclusion


As Steemit is built on blockchain, it would ensure data would be there uncorrupted for generations to come as my website was intended. I've entertained the idea of building something like this using Steem but I'm not sure if it's needed.

If you'd like, give it a spin

http://folderall.net/index.php

In my opinion it works and looks better on mobile.

Would you like something like this on Steem?

Sort:  

Also to add, is there a service you'd like to see added to Steem ecosystem? Quora with Steemit upvotes?
Or something else?

I might take a look in to it as I'm looking to finally dive deep to learning blockchain development and to further learn web development.

I'd like there to be an upvote financed game section or site. It can just feature clones of really simple arcade games at first but I think it would be fun. I wrote a post about it and I'd create it myself but I know almost nothing about web or game development. I'd help if any of my skills are useful for this. https://steemit.com/growth-idea/@elementm/growth-idea-an-upvote-financed-game-section-or-site

With little time to think, Agar.io pops in to my mind. Have you ever tried it?

As you said in your post, the game could require upvote from everyone and the rewards could be distributed after the match has finished. This would drive up the demand for Steem also.

I might take a look in to this. Steem could just act as way to handle the monetary side and I've always wanted to try building some simple games.

I'm glad someone's actively interested in the idea. I hope it works!

Never heard of it but I'll check it out.

http://agar.io/

It's quite good for such a simple game.

Our thinking around these things is strikingly similar indeed...

They do say great minds think alike, haha.

hahahaha xD or we're just crazy

That is always an option

This. And with strong anonymity.

Steem accounts can be bought with anon service so it's a good start and foundation to build on.

Something like Pocket? I use this for storage of sites/pages I need to remember.

Would this be something to keep pages/sites you like or need OR would it be like an archive for future generations? I think its an important distinction to make. I love the archival idea, NPR Storycorps does a really cool program related to this idea. I cry almost always when I listen haha

Also, WHO IS THE KID IN YOUR PHOTO!? So cute!!

You're right, there should be focus on just one thing, the storage for future generations is just something you can do but not the main focus. The main use would be to storage sites,gifs,pictures,videos and quotes and have them all served in fast way modern way. No extra clicking, no long posts, focus on content.

But it's just an idea, I still haven't touched developing for Steem and if I do, I might do some other projects first that should have higher priority.

And I actually don't know who the kid is, it's just some photo from internet. I hope that my actions here even remotely represent this kids enthusiasm and curiosity towards all things in life. That is why I chose the picture!

Gotcha, gotcha. Still a cool idea! If I knew the first thing about developing a project like this I would offer my help, but alas I'm clueless haha Keep sharing awesome ideas! See ya around :)

Don't worry, I'm pretty clueless also..!

I'll keep eye out for your default avatar, hah.

My default avatar? Lol I think its just default within this little replies section -my avatar is a picture of me skydiving actually! Lol I hope to see ya around sometime dude.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79