Facing Bandwidth Issues?Know More About It And I Will Delegate 20Sp Each To 10 People For 14 Days.

in #steemdev7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys, recently i have been faced with the responsibilities of helping out on the issue of the error some people get when trying to navigate through the steem blockchain.

bd.jpeg

What Is Bandwith?

I must say that i am no geek or tech but i think i understand bandwith in a layman's language.

Bandwith on steemit is the ability giving to individual users on steemit that allows them to interact on the steem blockchain. The interaction includes voting, posting, commenting, editing of posts e.t.c.

One thing about the bandwith is that it is limited and it depends on the way you use it and the amount of steem power you have.

For example, Someone with 10,000 sp and someone with 10 sp at the same bandwith level cannot have their bandwith run down equally even if they both do the same thing on the steem blockchain.

I really dont know the way it is calculated but i am sure that the person with 10,000 sp might not feel the impact on his bandwith even when the user with 10 sp is getting the low bandwith error message.

Funniest thing is that the issue of the low bandwith will limit steemit to serious minded people. A lot of people come to the platform with no strategy and when the come they start to create nuisance on the platform like spamming. This is one of the things that use up the capacity of the blockchain coupled with the fact that steemit has zero transaction fees. It takes too much hit and this is still a beta stage.

Why You Might Be Getting The Error

For sure if you get the error that means you have a very little sp and you need to power up if you steem in your wallet and if not pray you get a free delegation. I have delegated some steem power ama still do some tonight though.

There are ways you can luckily prevent the error.

Try as much has possible to post reasonable contents that will at least earn yhu some reward.

Then limit the way you edit your post. Before posting please take time to read over so that you will not have to edit it again.

Reduce the way you comment and vote. Too many activities will drain your bandwith. So it is better to watch it. You can always try to keep up with other users in discord and steemit.chat.

Another thing i noticed is that some people resteem anyhow and this can also cause the drainage. Resteeming a post means you want your own followers to see the post. It is not certain that someone that gets the low bandwith error will have a follower that can do justice to the post so please limit it.

You can always check your bandwith at steemd.com

Another thing i forgot to add is that we need to start voting for witnesses, these people are the ones that make the blockchain accessible. If you are able to do anything at all on steemit then you owe it to the witnesses. They make the blockchain run.

Voting a witness can be something of choice but you have 30 choices to make so find out about the witnesses and vote for your choice but let it be according to what they can offer the platform.

The Delegation

Like i said i will be giving out 20sp each to 10 people to assist them. It will be only those that are experiencing this issue. I am going to be selecting the winners myself and i have some rules.

How To Qualify

Al you need to do is to show me evidence that you have the issue and then drop a link to your best post. If you cannot do it due to the issue at hand, then you can get a friend to do it for you.

Rules

  • Rep must be above 30 and below 50

  • Resteem and upvote is compulsory

  • You must not be a plagiarist

  • Submission ends in 24 hours

Hurry if you really need this

But please when you finally get it, you still need to be careful and try to stay within limit and then dont forget the sp will only be for 14 days.

Consider Voting These People As Witness

@lukestokes.mhth who is also @lukestokes presently at no 10

Screenshot_382.png

lukestokes.png
source

@steemgigs who is also @surpassinggoogle

Screenshot_383.png

steemgigs.jpg
source

also vote @drakos at no 32

Screenshot_384.png

@teamsteem no 33

Screenshot_385.png

Please visit here to know more about the usefulness of our witnesses. You might even win 2o steem

https://steemit.com/contest/@eurogee/show-us-your-witnesses-contest-1-a-concept-to-drive-up-witness-voting-engagement-among-steemains-20-steem-prize-pool-4-possible

Please note that all i wrote about bandwith is my knowledge of it and i will appreciate if i can learn from you.

Questions will be appreciated too.

I hope i have been able to make myself useful here.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Hello @ewuoso !thank god I found this on time as yesterday i experienced the bandwidth issue when I tried to edit a comment. I have not took a screenshot of the issue. That's okie! I came to understand via your post it happens because of editing comments and resteem frequently. I just checked my bandwidth Screenshot_2018-01-30-12-14-12-913_com.android.chrome.png
and I believe it's okie now. I am sure I won't do mistakes that affect my bandwidth. Thanks for explaining the issue via your post and letting me aware about this.

Note: A mistake I found on your post, that you mentioned a website stemd.com to check steemit account bandwidth. There is a spell mistake on it . Make sure to edit it like steemd.com . Because I visit a wrong website first when I tried and then came to know there is a mistake. The post readers may visit the wrong one to check bandwidth.

thats a very costly mistake. I edited it. Thank yhu very much

Yup! You are very welcome.

Thanks very much boss for the post. Very insightful 👌

It really helps me, I can not do anything in because of the problem of "bandwidth limit". I hope with the help of you can be a light in my steemit.

20180130_094644.png

Screenshot_20180130-094150.png

I hope you can help me on this. This is my link.

https://steemit.com/food/@ami92/recipes-and-cooking-methods-sauteed-snapper-bilingual-c82069d271705

i will check it out but please note that yhu still need some time to allow it reload

I keep learning new things on steemit everyday. Was about to sleep when I saw this post. Very enlightening. Thanks for educating us (newbies). Never seen the error before though. And maybe I have but didn't know what it was. Anyways, we'll keep learning.

pray yhu dnt cos it can be frustrating.

Thanks for coming

Hi dear @ewuoso , I am @emmajoy

Your blog is measured, and extremely well written. Your requests are finely drawn as every paragraph is packed with vision and caring.

Thank You

ps
I had to write your review very fast, before it happened again while facing bandwidth issues, your assistance will be appreciated.

Bandwith.jpg
https://steemit-production-imageproxy-upload.s3.amazonaws.com/DQmPEJ5Ky6r4MMgQJk2kVR8dt5i9uQn4RJhA133Q8s7oAvQ

This is the link to my first post.
https://steemit.com/love/@emmajoy/opportunities

i will sure get back to it. Get back here 2mao to see if you win

I had the problem since morning , trying to reply and cashing out my SBD ,i just got through this evening.. if had seen this earlier i would have screengrabbed it when it was showing the exceeding bandwidth thing today.. this is an evidence of a post i tried replying which just went through
2605FB98-CFDF-4A7B-8DEE-7FEAA4BB7C73.jpeg...
Also this is the link of my best post
https://steemit.com/poetry/@deronke/my-heart-speaks

Thanks for the advice, will reduce my comments and make use of discord the more...

if you can post and comment, i dnt think yhu will be needing it. Just make sure yhu stick to the rules

IMG-20180130-WA0006.jpg

@deronke is unable to comment now, i had to reply on her behalf.

Ok but please read the rules again.

This is so annoying if it has not happen to you, had the experience when I was writing a post and could not post it after. I tried powering up but no way. So, I just closed my laptop and tried later.
Here is my prove

Here is my best post for now and same post I was writing when I encountered the problem.
https://steemit.com/air-clinic/@jblsignature/air-clinic-the-young-shall-grow-old-and-die-jblsignature
Thanks.

check back tomorrow to see if yhu win

IMG-20180130-WA0000.jpg

Hello @ewuoso
Thanks for this enlightening post.
My friend @fabianmani is having this issue, I am posting this on his behalf, he can do nothing on the platform at present, he'll be grateful receiving Sp to make him active again .

Thanks
Your Friend
@masterpiz

i will get to it but please read rules agian

@ewuoso the Whale maker, this is so generous of you.
Well done!

Thank yhu dear. doing the little i can

More Steem to your wallet!
You are welcome anytime.

This would really be a welcomed relief sir even if it is just for 14 days. I feel limited and unable to connect and even relate with many on the platform. I enjoy giving my opinions on people's posts and try to help every way i can. I would have shown you the error message but it just cleared up since 1pm and this is 2.33am.
Screenshot_20180130-022854.png
That is how it's just coming up.
I have too many posts sir and this is a hard choice for me to pick and you can check my other posts too only if you really can.
Thank you so much for your selflessness.
https://steemit.com/teardrops/@olawalium/tear-drops-part-two

i will check yhu out

Thanks a lot sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39