You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Sincerity - Update and Community Involvement

in #steemdev6 years ago

Interesting what you're working on, here. Seems to me like bots would need to be subdivided further-- a manual process. Arcange... sometimes is a phishing warning bot; that's a public service announcement. Cheetah, again serves a service function. Some small bots like cuddlekitten only interact with people who have upvoted/followed them... making them "requested" and probably harmless. Some might be classified as "nuisance," but harmless (steemitboard?). Some are bot-spam.

I would have to say some of this would be very hard to fully automate. But still following this with interest.

Sort:  

Thanks for your feedback. A service like this will never be perfect because people don't agree about these definitions, but I am working on improvements to the algorithm to make it more useful to most users.

in the meantime... @cuddlekitten's AI classification as a spammer has risen in ranks (she's now classified as the top-8 spammer on steemit - which is ridiculous!)

and I think I am already feeling the repercussions as @abusereports has started targeting her for auto-flagging! Though, that might be purely coincidental of course.

P.S.: Thanks for mentioning my kitten here, it's a tough day and I appreciate the moral support I get from reading this a lot!

@cuddlekitten doesn't seem to be classified as a spammer now for whatever reason. The classifier hasn't yet changed though.

Yeah, her score sincerity score changed from 1.0 spammer to 0.82 human after she wrote a single post about the issue... at first I thought you had manually changed something, but then I realised it's probably due to the significantly different appearance of the account data (a new post, before there were only comments - a ton of flags, before there were zero).

I've also been able to get her off the auto-flagging by abusereports - I do not know if there was any relation between the two situations though.

I've just conducted an experiment with the other cuddle-bot @steemkitten achieving the same result by making a single "wordy" post under the account: [see here]

Cool, but unfortunately publicising such feats of reclassification makes it more likely I'll need to change the algorithm as spammers learn from you. It's a battle to stay ahead of their game you see.

I guess that's exactly what I am trying to do... convince you to improve that algorithm. I feel it's still very unreliable as easily illustrated with my little experiment... so apart from actual spammer having it easy to trick your algorithm... non-spammers also easily get labelled wrongly...

so yeah... improve that algorithm... heh

I will certainly try and do that. I guess I can't expect too much support from people who are sailing so close to the wind ;)

I am giving all the support that I can.

You must excuse if I do sound a bit salty, but the top-8 spammer classification has brought a lot of negative attention to an otherwise positively received project of mine.

But in all of this, I didn't take any offense and as a matter of fact i am encouraging users to try steem plus and help provide human feedback

If there's anything else I could do to help, I will.

I'll say it again. I explicitly support the steem sincerity project. I believe it is a great addition to the steem ecosystem.

It's just that I experienced a negative backlash from an (imho) false classification of my bots and as such I try to provide feedback and hope to illustrate the urgency of improving this asap because it is already being publicly used.

Hi @andybets

I was hoping you can help me. Possibly something in a setting I need to change. Thanks in advance for any help!

I posted the below in a different article

"I just watched a really cool video by @exyle where he talks about the SteemPlus Chrome plugin. After learning about the new features I downloaded it straightaway. To my disappointment I am marked as a Spammer rather than a human. I have never spammed anyone so I was wondering how this could be and is there anyway I can change this mark?
Thanks
Dave @exploringirish"

Marking.png

Unfortunately, the SteemPlus feedback is proving problematic for various reasons. For example many people see a foreign language post, and report it as spam, or see bots and report them as spam. Basically many people are just using the classification to apart their own values, rather than actually considering whether the content is bad for the platform. So one reason for the delay in improvement is because any classifier however well designed is only as good as the data it is trained upon.

I appreciate your honesty anyway, and am working hard on this difficult problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86