You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Steem Projects & Updates

in #steemdev6 years ago

Awesome. No, really, awesome. I like all three ideas and the approach you take. Build something quickly and show it to get feedback early. Also, I think it is good that you show the ideas first, so people can think about the idea itself. Otherwise, you would get feedback about the implementation and not so much about the idea.

All three ideas add significant value to the Steem blockchain, so you should build all of them :)

Would I use these sites? Yes probably, I would use all three of them.

Recipe Site: I already use recipe-sites from time to time, but only as a consumer.

Finally Comments: I would use Finally Comments to replace Disqus on my blog. You know that the concern I have is the extended user onboarding on Steemit. So there needs to be a way users can leave a comment without the need for a Steemit account. (Or have I missed the feature?). I'm also waiting for the feature that I have a comments thread which is not attached to a Steemit post.

Have you thought about a way to import old thread from Disqus?

Book Summaries: I have written some book summaries on my blog, and I was thinking about writing more of them. So I would be happy to use your site when it is ready. My primary goal with writing book summaries is not to make money but to bring a particular kind of readership my way. So if the site supported this in any way, that would be a massive win for me.

I loved your comment at the end of the video. I can confirm that you probably have too many ideas. But as I said I like the approach you take to find the one you should put all your heart and sweat in.

PS: You added my handle twice. For Emily and myself :)

Sort:  

To be honest I've really struggled to pin down exactly which project(s) to work on, which has slowed me down somewhat. I'm aiming to share as many ideas as possible, see which i'm most excited to work on and which add most value to other people and see where the two cross. I know it's not feasible to maintain multiple projects to any decent standard at once.

Last year I got a bit bored/burned out working on programming projects I wasn't interested in for clients. My aim here is to make constant progress on shipping features. In the past, I've spent far too long learning new tools and best practices and not actually making anything. I'm keen to learn more React eco-system and level up my projects but focusing on building with what I know at the moment.

I hadn't thought of creating an'import threads from Disqus' feature, totally possible once the non Steem account posting was done.

Onboarding
One option I thought for onboarding would be to allow the site owner to set a number of accounts they would support and allow direct account creation using there SP delegation. Steemit Inc creates accounts with 14SP delegated but I think you could get away with 5. So if you set aside 100SP you could allow users coming to your blog instant account creation backed by you. There could be a moderation dashboard to revoke delegation from inactive/malicious accounts. Also automatically reducing delegation as their accounts go in actual SP.

^ Perhaps I'm just trying to avoid making the Steem/non-steem comments accounts 🙈

Thanks for the comment. More info and the non-steem top-level Finally threads out soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70