You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal: SteemWorld Support

in #steemdao5 years ago (edited)

I'm downvoting him because he stacked tons of bidbots and I am against that. Also it's a way of showing my disagreement, but it's mostly about the bidbots, I'm voicing my disagreement in the comments.

Sort:  

Okay, thanks for the prompt reply @howo. This ...

"Also it's a way of showing my disagreement ..."

... is what I was anticipating. Here on a decentralized blockchain we are, of course, free to do whatever seems best to us. But I for one hope and pray this approach is consistently and heavily discouraged. I don't know where you live or what your philosophy in life is, but I consider freedom of expression to be a cornerstone of our liberties.

As for this ...

"... because he stacked tons of bidbots and I am against that.'

... "tons" ... ??? ... Hmmm, okay, frankly I had not noticed. In general, I understand this is one of the fundamental purposes of our new downvoting mechanism. But ... Would you find any agreement that perhaps case by case this should be considered? @steemchiller is likely to be viewed by many as an exception to this uhhh ... "rule" ...

By all means @howo, make your disagreements known. Hopefully, as civilly and respectfully as you can manage (as you have done here ...). I am asking you "publicly," however, to reconsider your 100% downvote.

At a minimum, you could consider "sliding it back down the scale" a bit (or a lot!), but still leave something in place as more of a symbolic, rather than a punitive, statement against the use of bidbots.

Thank you again! I didn't even use any bid-bots, but it looks like someone just wanted to be kind... Don't even begin to look, if they are boosting their own posts to the top ;)

"I didn't even use any bid-bots, but it looks like someone just wanted to be kind..."

Great point @steemchiller! They didn't even bother to look at wallets, to determine where the funds came from ...

In a future post, you may wish to think of a tactful way to point that out somewhere in the closing of it. Now with HF21/22 behind us, there is a lot more attention being paid to downvoting, so you would perhaps avoid this happening again.

I did make an appeal here, but ... No response ... Well, hopefully it won't impact you too much (although Smooth has a much bigger SP balance voted at 100% ...).

Loading...

Please @michealb, consider removing your downvote, since I suppose it is the result of a trail vote rule!
Thank you!

Dear @howo and @fredrikaa,
I just removed my witness vote to @SteemPress because yours downvote.
Let's remove your downvotes and I'll be glad to vote for your witness again.
It may seem like childish spite, but if it can be useful... why not?

image.png

A huge hug and a !BEER

I just removed my vote as well... No chance of getting it back soon, though.



// You can support giphy by using one of your witness votes on untersatz! //

A good move!

I didn't remove my vote from @steempress since I didn't vote for them in the first place.

Yet, I did remove it from @smooth.witness.

image.png

Well done, mate! 👏 !BEER🍻

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @ervin-lemark, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Hello @amico. First of all, you should find that I did remove my downvote. I explained the reason below as I had not yet read your comment here, but rather appreciate the good engagement and conversation I see that this post has generated.

But enough of that, I would like to make the case that while you are of course free to vote on witnesses as you like, this not only not helpful but actually quite destructive. Witnesses secure the blockchain, propose and approve updates/forks and hopefully contribute to its further development. You want the most dedicated team of individuals possible to handle this task, and ideally, you would also want your witnesses to be transparent, available, and engaged with the community. We already have a situation now where a big portion of the top witnesses are hardly engaged at all, don't make their views on new forks, the direction of Steem, or its needed devlopment public, or make themselves available to the community for input. If that's what you want, then doing stuff like this is a great idea, as it will only make witnesses more afraid of stating anything in fear that it will be used against them.

I am happy to be voting on witnesses who I strongly disagree with on multiple subjects, and who I've had intense arguments with in the past. Because at the end of the day, I respect that them (like us) have stayed awake 48 hours in a row at times troubleshooting issues like we've had with the recent hardforks and working to implement a solution immediately to bring Steem back up for the community asap. because despite what has sometimes been serious personal differences, it is the effort to make Steem better that counts.

I hope that I am not just hurting myself by participating in open and transparent discussions with the userbase, including when I disagree with something or hold an opposing view. But that people instead see the importance of an honest and open discussion, rather than what has unfortunately been the status quo of many witnesses just asking others for their votes in private chats, and not make their views open and transparent.

So if there is anything regarding the value steemworlds or steemchiller brings to Steem that you believe I have missed, I am all ears to hear it. And only want to see passionate Steemians succeed in what they do.

Dear @fredrikaa,
I really appreciate your action and your calm reply and you well deserve a bit of !BEER.

I am very tolerant and respectful of different points of view.
However, the action of your partner @howo (and perhaps also of @smooth) is based on the erroneous assumption that steemchiller used bidbot (while apparently he was one of his supporters) and apparently used to point out differences of opinion.
So I consciously used the lever of the witness vote to attract attention.

Unfortunately, I am witnessing a sort of "small fish hunt" which excessively uses votes from bidbots and at the same time I notice that the problem of the exchange of votes between big fishes has not been solved in the slightest. This may make the enthusiasm of the newcomers die, simultaneously with diffusion and remuneration of contents of a single limited circle of people... but we'll see how the situation will evolve.

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @fredrikaa, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65157.25
ETH 3492.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44