We evolve, beyond the person that we were a minute before. Little by little, we advance with each turn. That's how a drill works!

in #steemcommunity6 years ago

Barely making it on time this week because of the things that I have to do but finally completed my entry for this week's contest hosted by @legendchew with this topic:

How To Become A Better Writer In Steemit?


Oh boy! Look at that guy with near zero post reward value trying to teach people "how to become a better writer here, what a joke" is what most of you must be thinking right now but what else can I do? That's what the topic is and it is not like the amount of value completely defines the quality of the contents of a post (I've seen people saying they ate breakfast and get ridiculous pay after all) so don't be too quick to judge.

analysis-3606761_640.png

Source

Well going back to the topic, it mentioned "better writer" so let's first talk about what does "better writer" mean. I am not really fond of comparing things but honestly there are just times that I would read an article and just can't help but be amazed at how well those articles were made not just because the chosen topic for the article is great in their own right but how the author structured, broken down and vividly explained things making it more than just a boring wall of text. As a matter of fact, I read this story last week and the way I can visualize things while reading it is proof enough of how well it was made (by the way I didn't ask for permission to link it here so I will do it now @jazzhero).

Before touching the topic, I would like to emphasize that a "better writer", in my opinion, is a matter of perception and preferences so I don't believe that a foolproof guideline exist out there that will completely determine if an article is really better than the other or the other way around (of course there are also instances where a better article can be determined easily but that is definitely not the usual case, speaking from my inkling of experience writing and reading stuff). Anyway, what I am getting at is the stuff I am going to write is "my own way of becoming a better writer" and not anybody else's.

Tip # 1: Read/watch other people's work

observe-3539810_640.jpg

Source

I am not telling you to copy people's way of doing things but sometimes you can learn a thing or two from them. I never wrote and posted stuff in the internet even on my other social media accounts before I signed up on Steemit so I am a total greenhorn when it comes to this and probably the majority of users here falls into that category as well.

It is not like I would instantly be able to come up with something good by myself so the first thing that came to my mind is to see how others do things. I read and watched other people not only in this platform but I also looked around other popular sites where I can absorb new things and as a bonus I even made some friends in the process (though most of them are already inactive here).

Tip # 2: Build your own style

Just like I said on my first point I am not telling you to copy others' way of doing things, instead learn from them and then build your own brand of writing from what you've learned. It is not easy to make your own style but writing using other people's technique would be strenuous since you are keeping up a front that doesn't represent your real self.

It is whole lot easier to pour your passion and feelings in your own words in your own way and sometimes it is not just the technical aspects or how well constructed an article is that makes them good/ better/ best, there are people out there that are looking at genuine raw emotion oozing out of one's work and uses that as criteria for judging the quality of the work published.


Source

Tip # 3: Repetition is the key to mastery

No one started out great, even the best writers and content creators that I have seen so far all went though humble beginnings but what sets them apart is their drive to continue and improve despite the setbacks. You can go ahead and find popular content creators on Youtube or Steemit, check out their first content and compare it to their recent works, you can see how much they have improved their craft but that wasn't an instantaneous change, it was slowly built through continuously pushing through. So if you think you are not making progress, check out your first few works and feel embarassed look how far you've come.

Tip # 4: Listen to what others have to say

meeting-1293980_640.png

Source

I am pretty sure most people don't like being criticized but there are instances that you need to deflate your ego and listen, you will see that some if not all of the things people says sometimes makes sense and sheds light to areas that you don't recognize needs improvement. It is actually nice to see how others see your work since as I said before it is about perception and preferences but remember not to try too hard trying to accommodate all criticism because you might end up fitting in a container that won't allow you to be yourself anymore. Pick some,dispose some it is not like you can satisfy everyone so choose one that you believe suits you better and work with that.

Tip # 5: Have fun!

Oldest line in the book of cliches but still remains as one of the best tip I think I can come up with. No matter how popular or good you've become, there are times that it will just feel empty despite all the strides you've made and heights you've reached.

I personally believe that a man can not reach or to be more precise a man can not say for sure if he already reached the peak during the course of his life until the moment that he breathed his last, thus a man will continuously walk a road aiming to become better than the man he was before unless he gets satisfied with what he's achieved or if he's completely given up, it is a long road ahead so be sure to have your share of fun, it will be dull otherwise.


And that completes this week's entry though a bit cutting it close and forgive my weird sense in coming up with titles lol. Well then I will be seeing you guys on my next post and I hope that this helps even a little to some of you.

Ciao~

Sort:  

I personally do think you are a good writer and it also shows that you really enjoy writing.

Keep this as a secret between us but on one of your blog posts, @adelair almost(and probably did) cried. Yeah that's how good you are. Lol keep it up!

And I fully agree on all the tips listed above. That was very well put. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Heeey don't sell out your friend 😂😂😂
I will definitely take note of this pointers @ascheriit 😁

I think that's a good sign of good friendship, when you can put your friends in tight spots nonchalantly lol

And thank you once again for dropping by :)

HAHAHAH yeah yeah, but he was right, you write very well @ascheriit, not everyone can do that, i mean there is a certain emotion along with the lines that made it effective :D
and ofcourse, our pleasure :D

Well if you say so then it must be true * winks * XD

Thanks for the compliments, I don't know how to react to the almost crying part but I am glad that I am able to convey things with my posts, makes me want to create more because I feel like I am doing something more than earning at this point. Let's both keep the good work up, same goes for you @adelair, keep rocking with your talent!

Let's dominate the world hahahah just kidding!

I am sure with your art we can (create more animal girls and you will be in command of a horde of furries haha)

Permission granted lol. It's unusual for people to link to my posts mostly because I post rarely but that's a nice gesture. Thanks a lot.

That's a cool list of steps, presented very humbly. You are a great writer so I think you're quite qualified to give some tips. And the title is perfecto!

haha thanks for the permission, such a shame though you have great writing style but I guess it can't be helped when life wants you to do other things. Still a great read and looking forward for more.

Thanks for the compliment and that is one of the best quote from the series so I thought I could put it in here since it somehow fits (I don't know when I would be able to get the opportunity to use it so I just went with it lol).

Thanks for the compliment too. 100% agree with the drill analogy btw, little by little we become better.

As for the quote, my favorite line/scene would probably be this one:


Still tearing up listening to Simon ...

Simon taking up the mantle of Kamina, his development was plain amazing, who would have guessed that the little chump that always gets dragged around by Kamina would end up as a guy equal or even better than Kamina himself. And that signature arms crossed pose is still one of the coolest anime pose I have seen (Jojo poses wouldn't hold a candle).

It is hard to pick favorite on the series but I will go with the final fight with them throwing everything they have.

The animation, the music, the lines, the emotions gives me good chills every time.

Of course, that final gattai with the giant Kamina is the most epic scene in anime history 💖 Love that scene so much too.

Dat crossed arm pose and the pose pointing to the heaves are planet-shuriken level of awesome.

The key to success lies in perseverance, constant learning
from our mistakes and the acceptance of a constructive criticism of ourselves and of others. Excellent messages and advice :)

Yeah it is a mix of those things, every experience teaches us something be it good or bad so let's capitalize on it and see the path towards our own development. Thank you for reading it :)

Hi @ascheriit, thank you for your participation in the "Exclusive Blogging Course Giveaway Contest".

Congratulations @ascheriit! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64