I need a little help promoting steemit

in #steemclub-uk5 years ago (edited)

I have the desire and I certainly have the balls to approach a new crowd, all I need now is a fancy show-piece that illustrates the steemy goodness I am trying to offer them. My target audience should be receptive to what I am attempting to promote. After all, they are a group of aspiring music/film creators and, as we all know, steemit is a great platform for anyone wanting to promote something that would otherwise be drowned out by the mainstream. The audience in question will be a college named Confetti and as I explained in a recent post this is a hive of young talent just waiting for their chance to shine.

Screenshot_2018-11-07 Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies Part of Nottingham Trent University.pngScreenshot_2018-11-07 About Us - Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies, Nottingham(1).png

I've been wracking my brains on the best way to approach this and I have decided that it would be best to go armed with something that appears slightly professional, while also keeping things semi-informal. My tact will be a mix of "take it or leave it", with a hint of "you need this in your life". That way I won't be coming across like some corporate ass-wipe or a desperate 2nd-hand car salesman.

To carry this off I reckon it would be a good idea to have some kind of brochure, one that is straight to the point and not too over-bearing. It has to look sharp but at the same time carry enough info to get them thinking... A booklet would be my first choice as this is going to be something they can either flick through while I speak or just pop in their pocket for later on.

front page steemit brochure.png

My only problem, as you may well have noticed from the image above, is that I have zero talent when it comes to creating this kind of thing. So I was hoping that someone on steemit would be willing to help me out and come up with a few pages for me to print out and staple together...
Basically, I want to make a booklet that describes a little of what can be achieved here on the steemit platform, a booklet that would be aimed at students learning to produce music, film and photography. Maybe it doesn't have to be so specific, I'm willing to let whoever is brave enough to take the reigns decide what's best to show them. Just try to remember that this will be something that is here to entice complete noobs over to steemit, people who have probably never even heard of a Blockchain before.

So do you think you have what it takes?

You think you can knock up something eye-catching but informative?

Well don't just sit there... Get in touch! Speak up! Reach out to me, my brothers and sisters!!

darth kitchner.jpg

source

This post was written in aid of @steemclub-uk and the collective push to gain 1000 UK steemit members by this time next year. Are you with me steemit or what?!

bannerart.jpg

Sort:  

Hey, @article61!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official blog or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Additional comment: Wow, we are so glad that we found your post. This is exactly the type of the activity we want to promote – you are crowdsourcing ideas and support to approach offline community which is not currently on the platform. But this is not the only reason. Every day we struggle to explain Steemit and its potential to people who never heard of it. Their questions are always simple – but sometimes you find it incredibly hard to answer them. For example – how do you create the money? is a pretty much legit question for people who don’t know much about the blockchain. Maybe finding the right questions and answers could be the first step, before you try to put them in designed publication? Maybe the hard copy can be changed for a simple web-based form? Who knows. We will resteem this and follow your next steps. I will mention a few Steemians who may have valuable advice like @svemirac @alexs1320 @llfarms, but there are many others. You can jump to our Discord if you like. Let's see how this will move on…

Best regards
@hidden84

Wow! Let me just pick my jaw up off the floor, I've never had so many upvotes :D
First of all, thank you for the compliments and support, I am glad you enjoyed reading my post. Also, thank you for the valuable input, you raised some brilliant points that I certainly need to consider when developing this plan. I want to get this right and with time not being a constraint I think we can put our heads together and formulate something irresistible. I'll be spending some time on steemit this evening and will come over to your discord server and introduce myself, really appreciate the invite btw.

I came up to a pretty similar idea but not really making a booklet - more like online Q/A form or flyers/posters and hand them out to students or in dorm.

a booklet that would be aimed at students learning to produce music, film and photography. Maybe it doesn't have to be so specific, I'm willing to let whoever is brave enough to take the reigns decide what's best to show them.
But, booklet idea is even more cool:
I would definitely go with

  • what is steemit? awkward social network you earn money while posting and interracting...
  • how you earn money? Simplest most childish explanation of blockchain technology and transactions
  • who makes this money? - witnesses and connection to this blockchain and how they actually run steemit.
  • Why would anyone give me money? - now this is like trickiest question - but sharing is caring (giving is earning) is not really intuitive in today world. But that could be explained a bit more plastic too + mention communities and content seekers.
  • here we touched some content... going with steemstem for science; openmic for music, various photography competitions and great curation.
  • Now at this point I would suggest raising some contest for this cause for example best photo from scientific place; photo of a music instrument/ concert photo; and basic "free topic" photo contest and publish all photos in the booklet with the author names
  • yes, I would also suggest first to go with web-based form - it cuts the cost and you can see reaction of the crowd. Then go for a print copy.

This is a great topic that could unite lots of great steemians to share a few words and make this place grow. :)

Thank you so much for this thoughtful response, I love it!! The idea of offering up a competition to find content that can be added to the booklet is fantastic. Your bullet points are just what I need mate, you are a star.
By the way, you are instantly on my Christmas list for using a Black Adder reference :)

Hi Dan, maybe we can pick this up in the virtual meetup next Thursday.



Thanks @pennsif, that would be great. I'm getting some support from @crowdmind now and it seems the ball is starting to roll. I am gonna take my time with this and maybe do some form of open competition that will be placed into the brochure/booklet. My brain is buzzing and I'm so pleased with the support you're all giving me.

I look forward to following progress on this.

Ok... I've formulated some sort of framework as to moving forwards. If I can take you up on your offer to chat about this on your virtual meet-up then that would be great. Really looking forwards to it anyway, but it's good to be actively involved in pushing the community on.

Hello @article61, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much, @creativecrypto. Hopefully folk will be willing to participate once the competitions are underway...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rebel Dan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97