My Steemit Story

in #steemclassof20186 years ago (edited)

*This post is an entry to @kabir88's #steemclassof2018 contest. The contest post is found at Win 10 steem if you're in the #steemclassof2018.

In the beginning


         I first heard about Steemit back in December 2017, when Bitcoin mooned to extraordinary heights. I didn't know anything about it as I was invested into other alt coins at the time. In January of this year, I joined the Litecoin Discord channel, which @someguy123 is one of the admins. This is when I started getting more information about Steem.

someguy.png

         That was the response that piqued my interest in this platform. However, I was also taken back by some of the negative sides of Steem and had read about community struggles, drama, and ruthless big stake holders.

Signing up

         Instead of buying an account, I decided to approach through the free route. It took me at least two weeks to get approved. This should explain why my account says I joined in March. It was not until later that I learned of the issues surrounding account creations on STINC's end.

Noobing around

         I had no idea what I was doing. Soon, I found myself reading about the Flag Wars and became acquainted with @hendrix22 and @lyndsaybowes. They were amongst the earliest Steemians that noticed me. In fact, I met the contest host, @kabir88, around this time as well. He encouraged me to develop and grow on Steemit, and we often have chit chats over Discord.

         When the conflict seemed to have simmered down, I started to explore other communities. I first became acquainted with @apolymask's @ifc. I signed up to be a guest judge for their competitions. His Discord was the first Steem-related server I joined. I am still a judge for @ifc and there are a lot of good folks in there in addition to a marketplace that deals in Steem for services and commodities. If you are looking for an artisan, give that place a shot.

         It wasn't long before I stumbled my way into @steemstarnetwork after reading about @grumpycat's actions and @sircork's blunt, but real, comments on various subjects. This is also when I actually started to try to understand the Steem blockchain and how it functions. @sircork was very helpful in clarifying questions about Steemit, etc. I still see him as an incredible man. He's gone through a lot of hardships in life and is probably one of the toughest mofos in the community. Now, he's part of @noblewitness and has been relatively quiet since. Well, he isn't dead. He's just hiding in his bunker apartment somewhere making music on @dsound. On the second thought, you should probably go read his latest post instead of taking my word for it.

Finding a niche


          Snooping around, I landed myself in @anthonyadavisii's @steemflagrewards in late April. I was curious of what the initiative was about. I befriended Anthony as well as his colleagues @steemseph and @samueldouglas. Hilariously, I was given a role to assign emojis on the server soon after. My role eventually expanded when @iamstan and his wife, @lovenfreedom, joined the cause. I was surprised that I became a part of a project. This initiative encouraged me to venture into other communities such as @josephsavage's @steembasicincome, @sherlockholmes' secret hideout, and @johnstone's Steemit Russia Team.

         Today, we have @steemcleaners regulars such as @naturicia, @flugschwein, @serylt, and @bullionstackers who volunteer their time to help with the cleaning efforts in a lawful good manner. We received delegations from prominent Steemians such as @berniesanders, @fulltimegeek, @steevc, and more recently, @lukestokes as well as several other close friends of the community. You can see a list of them on SteemWorld.org.

         Through this time, I also got to know the hard-working @themarkymark better, especially through the Steemit Defense Doofus League fiasco and took a full-on lecture from the elusive @transisto. I've conversed with various bot owners, mostly to report abusers of their services. It has been an enriching social experience.

Building myself

         Finding my niche in the anti-abuse community was great, but I also sought a way to improve my stake on the blockchain. I often refer back to the advice @someguy123 gave me:

someguy.png

         Here I am five and half months later. I'm still a tiny plankton, but I have made some progress on my journey through the Steem blockchain. Currently, I average a post about every 2-3 days and I dish out flags to abuses here and there for fun. With the current price of Steem, I am going to invest in my account a bit for the future.

divider.png

         That's a brief history lesson to my journey on Steemit. This post made me feel like I should update everyone on the post promotion approach I started doing two months ago.

         In addition, I should let people know more about the communities that I am involved in. These should be good for at least two posts in the upcoming weeks. I also think I should start encouraging people to vote for or update their Witness lists again.

Sort:  

Another great post my friend. You are one of the best characters I have met on steemit.
I am very glad I am your friend or should I say you are my friend!
Thanks for your support and thoughtfulness. Thanks for your abuse fighting to make the platform we love better.
Thanks for your level headed approach to every encounter I have experienced with you. You are the kind of guy that can make steemit a better place.

I'm flattered. I hope the good guys, like you, @apolymask, @thesportsguy, etc. will stick around for the long haul.

Cool to hear your story. Was nice to see the IFC mentioned as well. :) Thanks for the "shoutout" so to speak and glad to see that you appreciate our community enough to spend time there! I feel like I've learned a lot from you and appreciate our conversations. You sure have a way of cutting through a lot of the fluff to get to the core and I think that's a useful quality. Your new weekly steemit post idea is a good one as well and I'm looking forward to seeing where all this goes. Whatever happens it's a fascinating sort of experiment type of thing and I'm learning a bunch!

I think @ifc does deserve more recognition, especially amongst the newbies. It is a safe environment for them as they explore the bigger world of Steem.

As for the experiments, well, first and foremost, gotta have fun. There's no point in doing any of those silly projects if we are not having fun with them.

Thanks for sharing! Enjoyed reading about your journey on steemit. I'm still learning a lot about the platform and trying to grow as well. Hearing others' stories and how they built themselves on the platform is always a good read and beneficial to helping myself continue to grow on the platform. Steem on!

Thanks for reading.

I see you are still an active contributor to @steemsports. I will follow that more again with college football on the horizon.

I also noticed that you use the default Promotion via @null on Steemit. Is that a personal choice, or? I only asked that because it's not the most effective way to promote your content or gain votes due to the lackluster way STINC implemented it.

Awesome! That sounds good - I'll be doing a lot of coverage with football coming up for sure. In fact, I'll be having some more college football material out this weekend - including later today, can't wait - the season is quickly approaching! Appreciate you following the content!

Yea that was a personal choice - I decided to give it a try a few times and noticed the same thing. I am still learning a lot about the platform and everything and will not be using that anymore. Any pointers you have when it comes to steemit in general, and effective ways of promoting content, etc. would be greatly appreciated! I appreciate the feedback as always!

That sounds good!

As for promoting contents, there are different ways ranging from bid bots to organic networking. They have their pros and cons. So, I think we can discuss this more over Discord, etc. if you'd prefer.

It was very interesting to follow your steemit journey since the first days here!! Thank you very much @enforcer48 for mentioning me and other great people whom I personally know in this post. I want to go and meet those whom I haven't met here yet, but who seem to be really good people according to your words here. Thank you for sharing your so far steemit experience with us.

Well, you are a good man.

What a great story @enforcer48, it is always difficult to get started in those fields that we don't know, but thanks to the right people and our own efforts we can develop, from there the enthusiasm is born and the rest is yours. Best of luck with what's left of you here on this great social network.

Thanks! You too!

Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts

You got a 100.00% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @enforcer48!

You just planted 0.12 tree(s)!


Thanks to @enforcer48

We have planted already 3177.67 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19503.15
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You got a 6.29% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

BOING! You got a 37.29% upvote from @boinger courtesy of @enforcer48!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14