You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christianity is a Death Cult

in #steemchurch5 years ago (edited)

you made a huge assumption at the start - i was not raised christian, nor any other religion.

i kind of implied that early on, though maybe you missed it.

also, you seem to make no distinction between Jesus Christ the man and saviour, and the church, which you have rightly said has not acted on behalf of God or Jesus since the first century.

wow, corruption by men of pure ideals eh, who'd have thought?

well, Jesus - talked about it in the new testament on many occasions, as did His disciples.

i'm just guessing,. you've never actually read/ studied the bible for yourself have you?

so everything you believe is from what others have told you, and how the churches have horrible represented Christ?

i was the same as you until a few short years ago, but then i read it for myself.

my faith is of no concern to anyone else at all. you have a very distorted view of Jesus-ism i'm afraid, but i imagine you prefer to go on hating and not knowing, rather than finding out the truth?

Sort:  

I apologize for making assumptions on your part. I was speaking to the greater audience more than just to you individually.

Actually I was raised as a christian. I understand the bible very well. I even memorized the entire book of James when I was 16.

I was to go door to door selling literature as a colporteur.

I left the church when I realised I could not live up to the many expectations put on me by the church.

Yes, our relationship with Jesus is personal. And I don't see Jesus as a person or a personage but a symbol in consciousness necessary to keep the wheels turning. There is no actual proof of his existence.

Greater lies have been told and maintained for the purposes of population control by the power holders.

I am still an avid discoverer and student of reality - Here's an article I just wrote, possibly inspired by our discussion here - https://steemit.com/lifepolitics/@montycashmusic/reflections-a-kingdom-divided-against-itself-will-fall

proving my point, that the churches prevent people from knowing God and His Son Jesus.

plenty of evidence of His existence, you have swallowed the 'zeitgeist' notion of everything in the bible being symbolic and spiritual which it is in part, but it is also highly practical and historical too. that film holds lots of political truth, but then lies through its teeth about Jesus and scripture. trojan horse.

do you think all the recorded history of early christians being persecuted, tortured and horribly murdered are false too?

non-christian sources for the existence of Jesus, including romans and jews:

CX5M0.jpg

You've assumed I was following the Zeitgeist train.

Nope, I live my own truth, proven to myself through experience.

We find evidence for anything we want to believe in. You'd be surprised how far people will go. Especially Christians.

Enough of that.

I've given very valid arguments and I'm happy with the result.

Just be mindful, not everyone can be convinced, not even yourself. Which is a keen indicator that what is needed is acceptance.

I won't try to kill you over your beliefs if you don't try to kill me over my self proven truths through experience of living a very turmultuos life.

I asked God for wisdom and I got it.

You always get what you want.

Is it a wonder that our mind shapes our beliefs around our reality in order to cope with contradictions in our theories of life.

Therefore we must be open, because no one person or belief system has the map, but together we do.

Oh and there's a large problem with the proof you provided.

They're all written after Jesus apparent life and death.

Edit -

İt is possible religion has been a controlled institution from the beginning. Just as it is possible he existed.

It's good you believe in him and if it helps you to be a better person, then that's great. I've no problem with that. I'm sorry for disrespecting you.

But if it becomes a point of contention that decides who lives and dies, that's when I have a problem.

There were a great many Waldensies and others who ventured to escape the persecution of the modern church in the early centuries AD. They are a minority capitalised upon by minority denominations in the last couple of centuries using it to claim supremacy over mainstream ideology. I know, I was in one of those minority denominations.

The issue here is with collective Christianity twisting Bible verse and demanding blood.

Not your personal beef with Jesus. That's your thing.

That is your deal, you can have a personal relationship with a fairy for all I care that represents the same thing. It's your deal, it's how you sort your reality and make everything work for you in your world.

No prob.

I live my truth, you live yours.

As long as either of us are still trying to prove the other wrong, and we both end up dead - who wins?

didn't see this comment till after i'd replied to the one above and the one on the other thread.

what about the gospels lol? how many exist now?

do you want some writings from before Jesus' life too? try the books of daniel and isaiah for a start.

everybody dies, and everybody lives again once for Sonship or judgement (your decision, as you well know.)

i've answered the other point with my long comment below, agree completely with this : 'The issue here is with collective Christianity twisting Bible verse and demanding blood.'

don't forget the radical muslims are doing the same thing.

My response became so long that I made it its own post. So I decided to open up the discussion to other people as well.

Here it is, you have been tagged in it a few times so you'll see it on Partiko if you have that.

https://steemit.com/steemchurch/@montycashmusic/response-to-comment-on-article-christianity-is-a-deathcult-by-balticbadger

I will respond to the other longer comment of yours as well, but I have to go through it and take the time to make sure I am not replying out of spite.

Monty

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54