The Old Dog Presents: A Factory That is a Gorgeous Piece of Architecture!

in #steemcation7 years ago (edited)

Beer that is brewed in a Castle! Now that's a winning combination! I had often passed the Feldschlossen Brewery as I travelled passed the town of Rheinfleden in Switzerland. Since I'm still on my Steemcation, yesterday it was time to both visit and admire it. 

Would You Like to See This Beautiful Facility?

Yesterday we took a tour of the brewery and it was fabulous! For 15 Francs we had a 90 minute visit during which we were given 4 cans of beer as a gift. At the end of the tour we were fed a German Bretzel and got to try three different beers in their restaurant! Now that's a deal!


What an intriguing factory! This photo is from Feldscholssen.ch 

Facts About The Feldschlossen Brewery

  • Feldschlösschen or Feldschlossen means 'small castle in the fields' in German.
  • The brewery was first established in 1876 and is now owned by Carlsberg.
  • This location employs over 600 people!
  • They still use their own horses to transport beer to the nearby town twice a week!

Check Out The Beauty of This Factory!


This is the brew area of the factory. Check out the details, it is unbelievably beautiful!


What a cool place! 


The brewery still keeps horses and does 2 deliveries a week with them! Photo from feldschlossen.ch


Visiting the giant Clydesdale horses was part of the tour!

What do You Think?

  • Do you find this brewery impressive?
  • Are you surprised to see such a beautiful factory?
  • Do you think that factories of such beauty are a thing of the past?
  • Can you give us another example of a beautiful factory?



I hope that you enjoyed this visit to "A Factory That is a Beautiful Piece of Architecture!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my 42,000 plus Steem Power! 

Sort:  

Wow... that's rather spectacular, as a setting for a brewery! Carlsberg? Oddly enough, I grew up in the shadow of the Carlsberg brewery in Copenhagen-- we could always smell hops roasting, especially in the winter.

I really enjoy when "ordinary things" are in spectacular old, buildings. The USA isn't really known for old... but just 50 miles from where I live, there is a regular high school-- nothing unusual, private or weird here-- in the city of Tacoma called Stadium High School. Imagine being a kid and this is school:

That is a very impressive school. I went on line and there are some other great shots as well. The football stadium is horseshoe shaped with the open end looking straight at the sea! Wow!

This explains a lot:
"Stadium High School, Tacoma, Washington The main building was constructed by architects Hewitt and Hewitt[2] for the Northern Pacific Railroad Company and the Tacoma Land Company at what was then known as Blackwell Point. Construction began in 1891 with the intention of building a luxury hotel resembling a French château."

I remember being very surprised it was a school the first time I saw a picture of it. Then it was later featured pretty prominently in the 1999 movie "Ten Things I Hate About You."

Definitely a deal....and all those samples thrown in to boot....Mmmmm

It looks an amazing factory and since I like tasting beers a lot I have to put it in to my "to see" list! I think they did a really good job in the past and now with the new beer types you can buy in can! I visited some factories, in Dublin (I don't even have to nominate it I guess), in Italy too ("Pedavena" a small factory in Veneto) and in Bruges, Belgium the beautiful beer museum.

Maybe we can go together once. Afterward we went to the nearby golf range and whacked some balls really hard!

It would be great! Honestly I don't even know how to keep a golf bat (you see I don't even know it's name :D)

Amazing! Looks like some tourist site. Since 1876? Probably it can qualify as a UNESCO Heritage site and may probably generate more tourism revenue than the tax on beer production ...a living heritage indeed. Do all factories there offer such guided tours to outside visitors?

But they should now replace the use of horses for transportation or it may make their otherwise vegan beer to label as non-vegan. (Ask them to consult me 😉).

No doubt, it is as magnificent as a castle and has got some classic elitist name ...which a commoner like me can neither pronounce nor spell. So a royal treatment for you was indeed expected there. 😊

I will get them to consult with you. I wasn't sure if they offered tours so I wrote to them and responded immediately. They were very well organized and it was a great experience.

Impressive indeed!
i thought it was a castle!
It's very beautiful and not scary - it doesn't scream toxic!
The horse wagon for delivery - I think that's amazing!

unfortunately, can't give you another beautiful factory Old Dog specially not where I came from
there their chimney smokes gray almost black

Yes, that factory is also run entirely on solar panels and has won ecological awards.

Oh great place... Lou just told me he lived in Rheinfelden when he was a kid!
What a coincidence :-)
Salute! Prost!

Hey wow! We had a great time in Lou's home town. I even went to the driving (golf) range the next day.
Maybe he'll take you to the brewery one day. Do you have wheelchair? I guess you need to stand straight up though. Oh well he'll think of something!

This is really stunning to see the architecture and it is a brewery.
This name reminds something I used to see in the shirt of football team in Europe.
Attention to details shows how they want to be perceived.
@kus-knee only 15 francs. Maybe $20 US you get to visit and taste, whoa amazing.
Thanks
Keep on steemit

Thanks for the colourful 9 thumbs up!

Very beautifull factory! I would like to taste their beer) By the way, we have a small old beer factory too in my city. You can google it. Its in Ukraine, Lviv city.
It's not a castle like on your photo, but its old and has a museum now.

Very nice. It was intersting to do the tour and to see how the beer is made. I used to brew my own when I lived in Canada. That was a fun hobby.

I wonder what it is about breweries that they tend to make them look attractive... there's one in Denver called Tivoli that also looks incredible. Now I know where Budweiser got the idea for the Clydesdales.

Tivoli, I'll check it out!

I think they've been closed for quite awhile, but the building in still there..

I stand corrected... they're still open!

Wow, that is really gorgeous! Plus there is Beer.

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

Thanks a lot @hilarski! Great of you to pass by and I appreciate the social media boost!

OMG never imagined of such a brewery !!!The castle is so beautiful. Coming to brewed beer my love is eternal. Which all flavor did you try ? Cheers from my side..haha

We tried a light, am amber and then believe it or not a fruit beer.

Fruit beer tastes really good. Have you ever tried beer brewed with Honey ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59