Quick Update On Steemcamp UK

in #steemcampuk5 years ago


Fun, fun, fun!


I've just returned to The Phoenix Centre in Leicester, where #steempcampuk is being held, after going out for a quick walk with @slobberchops, @goblinknackers and @knightswood.

Everyone else is still downstairs in the cafe, finishing lunch and chatting so I've come back to the meeting room to enjoy the quiet before we get going again shortly. 😁


phoenix building.jpg


It's been really good to meet up with some of my favourite Steemians who I've not seen since Steemfest or before, i.e. @ashtv, @lloyddavis, @redrica, @revisesociology, @rod.crisafulli, @shanibeer, @slobberchops, @starkerz, @steevc, @teodora and new friends @dronegraphica, @goblinknackers and @knightswood, whom it's been a real pleasure to meet and hang out with.

The morning started with Lloyd telling us the The Four Rules of Open Space gatherings which state:

  1. Whoever comes are the right people
  2. Whatever happens is the only thing that could have
  3. Whenever it starts is the right time
  4. When it’s over, it’s over

and

The Law of Two Feet that states:

“If, during the course of the gathering, any person finds themselves in a situation where
they are neither learning nor contributing, they can go to some more productive place.”

I've always enjoy Open Space gatherings and have run a few myself in the past so it was nice to be reminded of what they are all about.

Next we all wrote down what we'd like to talk about during the day.


topics.jpg


Then a quick break and then getting stuck into our first discussions.

I wanted to post a picture of @starkerz explaining the @oracle-d model as it's one I love. He drew a diagram on the white board but, unfortunately it didn't photograph well.

I've taken a picture of it for my own consumption and will use it to try and put the explanation into my own words as I still don't quite get it yet.

Anyway. I've got to go. Everyone's back in the room and we're about to restart.

Hope you're all having a fun day too! 😍

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Nice summary :)

Absolutely great meeting you again @gillianpearce! I will forever remember Johns airballs being bigger than mine at the curry!

Ditto @starkerz. I can't believe I didn't take a picture! What was I thinking?

I must have just been overwhelmed by the sheer size of them! 😱

Or maybe drinking the wrong beer had more of an effect than I first thought.

Really hoping it won't be long until we meet again. 😍 😘 🍺 😜

Great summary and lovely to meet you @gillianpearce!

Thanks and great to meet you too! 😁

Looks like you had a lot of fun at the unconference and thanks for explaining what it is. Very cool idea.

Yep. It was great fun @molometer. Hopefully you'll be able to come to the next one.

Sounds like a great concept these 'open space' meet-ups! I've never (consciously) been to one :-) I'm very happy you were able to join and am also curious if there were some conclusions/points of actions drawn during the day :-) Cheers!

There was a go around at the end of the day and people shared what they got from it and what they would do differently. It was recorded but I'm not sure by whom. @lloyddavis?

Some of the others who were there will probably post more about that sort of stuff.

I might have a go at writing about @starker's presentation but I'm not sure I've still understood it well enough. I was trying to explain it to a friend today and struggling somewhat. 😁

Hehe - yes, sometimes it's hard to understand everything, right? Doesn't matter, whatever you understand is what you can work with :-) I had a joy reading some of the posts about the even!

Great overview of the tone and flow of the day.
Fantastic to meet you (again)

I enjoyed listening to you talk today.
I will probably do a post in the next day or so, possibly with a video. 👍🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking forward to seeing your video @ashtv. Lovely to meet you again. Hope it won't be too long until the next time. 😁

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.378 which ranks you at #2283 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 72 places in the last three days (old rank 2355).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99