Goodreads | Reading Challenge 2018

in #steembloggers7 years ago (edited)

I'm entering the reading challenge of goodreads.com and listing the books I've read before on it.

Today I spent few hours listing the books I have read in recent years on GoodReads.com. I decided to take part in "Reading Challenge" after I read about it from @naquoya post, and hopefully I'll read more books in this year than any other year before.

Reading Challenge

Is initiative by the website Goodreads to encourage people to read more books, all you have to do is to login and set a number of books you want to read this year. Then check them as you finish reading the book. It's a good feature in a website that lists (almost) all the printed books and many published eBooks.

Didn't choose what book I should read first but I'll make sure to post about it when I finish reading it.

I'll use #read2018 tag for this challenge

And you're free to use it if you take part. Lets make steemit a readers place.

I'll make sure I read both Arabic & English books, So my language becomes better in both.


The Arabic Localized Version Of
Harry Potter and The Philosopher's Stone


Listing All The Books I've Read

There's a feature in the website to list and manage all the books you've read in your life.

Around 2 Hours in, I've counted 59+ books. Most of these (other than Japanese Light Novels) are from 2015+ because I can easily remember those. Though I didn't read many 2010+ books, I'm a classics reader.

Who would've thought I read this many Light Novels?!

While listing all those books I started to figure out that I read more than I give myself credit for... I mean I already know I read at least 30 pages daily of the internet (Facebook, steemit) posts & comments. But those doesn't count. I know that I spend months without reading any real book... I also know that when I start reading a full book I finish it in around 3 days (or I stop in the middle)...

What I didn't realize is that when I read, I read a lot, so I found that I read a lot of books in recent years. From classics like Heidi to Japanese Light Novels that barely could get a fan-translation.


Heidi's Kindle Edition Cover


Looking at all the reading I do, books or not. I thought:

I'm really a huge Reader


What do you think?

Do you read books? Do you want to take the challenge? Do you want me to post reviews about the books I read? Please tell me so in your comments.

~I'd love to read your thoughts~


Image are from pixabay and Book Covers are from Goodreads.
Sort:  

Thanks,

can you tell me what you liked about the post? it's better to open conversations on steemit than to put "Good Posts" less than minute after it was published. It makes one think you didn't read it.

Very good post, I like your idea. Glad my post was able to inspire you. If you want I can link my profile on goodreads if you want to follow along there also. But I will certainly be following you in pursuit of your reading goals. And as i go after my own.

All the very best :)

I love people working for their goals, I hope I finish reading at least 30 books in this year.

If you want I can link my profile on goodreads if you want to follow along there also.

Good idea, I'll friend you there.

...

I've entered for the last few years, and I've really enjoyed being able to both keep track of what I've read and been inspired to read more books.

One thing you didn't mention, but I've found is useful is that if anyone uses a Kindle or suchlike to read their books from, they should be able to link their Goodreads a/c to it so all finished & rated books are kept track of automatically. :)

if anyone uses a Kindle or suchlike to read their books from, they should be able to link their Goodreads a/c to it so all finished & rated books are kept track of automatically. :)

Dodn't know that, thanks!!

Congratulations @ahmadmanga! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

awesome I should get back into reading, although with so many posts I rarely shut down my internet :D you are way ahead on books, I've read around 5 but good ones well more, I suppose, but I don't consider some books to be that, some books are journeys, some are just a placeholder for ideas

sorry for the short comment I have to run now :)

cheers to the #challnge30days and @dragosroua ;)
I owe my blogging beginnings to him and his initiative :)

I feel the same ~

although with so many posts I rarely shut down my internet


cheers to the #challnge30days and @dragosroua ;)

Yeah!! that guy is amazing... I always go to the site he created (steem.supply) to check my earnings.

This post has received a 0.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice post. I challenged myself to read 50 books this year. I'm tracking my progress on Goodreads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71