Share Your Underappreciated Science Fiction Hidden Gems (Movies) and Win Steem Basic Income Shares

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

I'm going to do a Steem Basic Income Giveaway. I won't try to explain what it is. You can read all about it from the people behind it here and here. Basically it's an upvotes for life pool where you have to buy a share for someone else every time you buy a share for yourself. I'm going to sponsor few shares for you but I won't pick winners randomly. I'm not a big fan of random stuff and luck. I believe in giving back value for value. So I made this contest.

Share an Underrated/Underappreciated Movie That deserve a lot more Attention


Basically I want you to dig for a hidden gem or an ambitious project that kind of flopped. I don't want them to be masterpieces. Just genuine passion/ creativity/ originality or just sheer ambition would be enough. I'll share a perfect example from the gaming world:

I need you to dig something like this from the world of movies and provide a description on why it is so important to you. I've found many movies and games from passionate online confessions and I've added my own thoughts on them too. More than some popular reviews or box office revenue, these memorable experiences that may or may not be entertaining and may or may not be polished have a special worth to me. I also tremendously respect bold ambitions like Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within

The movie had a good story and a great message. But above all it was made by a video game company and had a budget that was only 2 million USD short of the first Spider-Man movie which was released in 2002. Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within released in 2001 and it made every single other animated movie ever made by veterans like Disney and Pixar look like garbage and ended up being one of the biggest box office flops ever.

These are the kind of creations I'm interested in. I'll give you few more examples of mine.

Near The Release of The Matrix ( 1999)


None of the movies I'm going to mention are good as The Matrix. They don't even have amazing VFX or high profile cast. But all these movies come close to The Matrix in narrative depth, themes, innovation and being thought provoking and expanding viewers consciousness.

Watch the Directors Cut or the latter parts will be ruined by a dumbed down opening narration. In many ways the movie reminded me of The Matrix and the final showdown looked kind of similar to The Matrix Revolutions but the whole thing was released an year before the first Matrix movie and Dark City (1998) flopped hard.

this is another hidden gem from 1999 that flopped hard and got totally overshadowed by The Matrix. I found the movie to be the weakest of the 3 Matrix-like movies I'm going to recommend. But it is still very very good. Most movies that attempt to be grand and philosophical doesn't end up being even half as amazing as The Thirteenth Floor (1999)

This is easily one of the greatest works of writer/director David Cronenberg and it is about video games. The movie goes into a deep psychological exploration instead of just doing the "question the reality " route. The movie had tiny budget and it flopped harder than anything I mentioned above for being bit of a psychological abyss with bit of body horror. I don't want to spoil anything. But the movie explores things like how our mental connections can influence the shared worlds we plug into and the ending re-contextualize the movie so much to a point that the movie would be a lesser movie if it had better effects.

No kidding. This makes cheap visual effects part of the narrative and atmosphere. Most people won't even notice these things because they are not directly explained. But the more you think, he better everything become.

Give Me Something Like This and You Win a SBI Share (or more)


1) You must be a follower and you have to resteem this post and invite competition.
2) You must comment with a brief description or make an entire post and link the post.
3) Only Science Fiction Movies are accepted. You can recommend a franchise along with a movie.
4) The movie cannot be famous/ well-known.
5) There is no limit to how many shares you can gain. You will gain a share per recommendation.
6) No shares will be awarded for movies I've already watched. But I will re-consider if it is a highly detailed recommendation/ article written by you.
7) Feel free to use other people's videos and quotes but no plagiarizing.

That's it. I'm not going to limit myself to any number of shares. As long as you help me discover a new great sci-fi movie and write a good "Love Letter" to it you will be getting a free share of SBI votes from me. You have unlimited attempts and unlimited SBI shares to be won. I won't say which movies I've seen until the end of the competition which is 120 hours (I like to not follow the generic trends) So go ahead and do your best in the name of hidden Sci-fi Gems!


Sort:  

OK, let's do another one: The History of Future Folk. This is about as obscure as it gets - a band-driven science fiction movie from a New York indie comedy folk duo. It's about an alien who comes to Earth to prepare for an invasion, but discovers human music and abandons his mission to become a semi-professional musician who everyone thinks is pretending to be an alien.

Then his people send a second mission to find out just what happened to him, and hilarity ensues. Conceived of by and starring the grandson of Ingri and Edgar d’Aulaire, whose classic children's books about mythology you may be familiar with.

Kind of reminded me of a flip side of Iron Sky which is a movie about Nazis invading Earth (from Moon) and it's a black comedy that actually has some great insights despite having tons of flaws.

Colossus: The Forbin Project (1970)

This science fiction movie (adapted from a novel) is a template for lots of other "computer becomes sentient and takes over the world" tropes. But the computer's not malfunctioning; as it explains late in the film, it can just do a better job at protecting humanity than they can.

Dr Forbin creates Colossus as a coordinated nuclear defense system for the U.S. No sooner is it activated than its detects its opposite number in the USSR, links up with it, develops a mathematical language from scratch, and threatens to destroy cities if its demands are not met.

We don't get a lot of special effects, but we do get 1970's style, a tense atmosphere, and a before-its-time commentary on the surveillance society. Dr. Forbin is forced to live every moment under his computer's eye, so he can be monitored for threats. Forbin teaches Colossus how to make the perfect martini! Colossus' self-designed voicebox replaces his clunky teletype output with a smooth modern and yet menacing look.

The whole thing is just a little cheesy and takes itself pretty seriously. But if you want to root for the computer to win, Colossus is the villain for you.

Now this is the kind of stuff I was expecting to see.
Thank you for taking part in the giveaway 😃

Rolls up sleeves, follows, resteems, upvotes

OK, let's start with Robot and Frank, which was the first thing to come to mind. Frank is an aging retired thief suffering from dementia, whose kids buy him an elder-care robot to help him stay in his home. Frank reprograms the robot to be his memory assistant and partner in crime, and returns to pulling heists in order to protect the history of his small town and win the heart of the local librarian. This is not only really funny, it allows Susan Sarandon to show that she can still pull off Sexy Librarian in 2012.

More to come as I have free minutes.

Never even heard of it, but it sounds hilarious.

Too bad it's not included with amazon prime :(

Great entry. I remember Susan Sarandon from The Hunger(1983) which is bit of a mixed movie for me. It had both great parts and boring pacing issues. But I did enjoy her performance.

We let me try:
The first thing that came in mind was Interstellar
but I know you watched that one the second one that came in was Enders Game also watched that one .So I need to dig deeper I rarely watch movies pre 2000 you know.
Hold on

The movie cannot be famous/ well-known.
That makes it even harder gosh.But let's carry on

My picks goes to Prometheus
the reasons why:
Deep space exploration that pulls my hart string.
The thought that we are alone is this universe is quite absurd
there must some form of life out there which is at the same time exciting but also scary as hell.
I like always when the characters come against traces of an extinct civilzation.What is this time the cause of the end of that civilzation.The most I like about the movie is playing with topics like consciousness.A very sophisticated machine behaves very human like and shows human emotions and acts on those emotions sometimes.feels certain desire.Is it not illogical that a machine acts on emotions..Can you still call that a machine the line is getting blurry.What makes us us.
The movies put such thought above the surface that I remember it so vividly
and btw the movie got a plot twist

Ok here are some of my favorite sci-if flicks that are probably not well known.

Equilibrium. I remember going into this movie without a lot of expectations and coming out wanting to watch it again. The premise has been used before: set in the future, to eliminate war the ruling government has to remove part of our humanity. Rebels feel it’s too big price to pay and is trying to overthrow the government. However the action sequences were choreographed in a way I had never seen before (New movie out right now called “Upgrade” that has some awesome action sequences as well.

Source code – I usually think time travel concept is lazy writing and is messy, but if done correctly (Butteryfly Effect, Edge of Tomorrow, etc.) they make for some great movie viewing. Jake Gyllenhall is part of a military project that can send someone back to time to experience the last moment of an event. His current mission is to stop a bomb going off on a train however each time he goes back he finds more clues, but it also costs him to travel back each time. This movie deserves to be seen by every sci-fi movie fan.

Serenity – Even if you have never seen the TV series FireFly, this movie is a great ride. I don’t remember the premise, but the crew probably is caught up trying to save the world or something. Don’t discard this movie because of my awful description of the movie. I would watch this movie again in a heartbeat.

Pandorum – I didn’t see this movie in the theater, but I wish I did. Set on a huge spaceship set on finding a habitable planet, the crew is woken up to find all is not well. This movie reminds me of Event Horizon as a movie that won’t win any awards, but is just fun to watch.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind – sci-fi because the premise is that you can wipe out memories that you don’t want. But what is the cost of doing so? Not set in the future, no action fight scenes, no robots, this is totally a character driven movie and is fantastic. Science will eventually be able to suppress and remove memories (https://www.wired.com/2012/02/ff_forgettingpill/) or even retrieve them. This movie explores why that isn’t always a great idea.

Time Bandits – I watched this as a teenager and don’t remember the premise, but it’s a fun, wacky movie and deserves to be watched by any sci-fi fan.

I thought Daybreakers was very under-rated. I thought it was a great version of what it would look like if vampires took over.

Excellent pick. You do need to follow and resteem to enter the giveaway. Winners will be announced in 4 days.

Oh snap! Dark City was literally the first thing that popped into my head when I read your title 😁 Such a fantastic movie.

You have unlimited tries. So keep trying.

Have you seen Super Mario Brothers movie?

I'll refrain from mentioning what I've seen and not seen to keep things competitive and to keep people guessing. I like the risk and reward aspect. You have unlimited tries. But you have to add a detailed descriptions (sort of a mini-review).

I probably won't enter the contest you just made me think of Super Mario Brothers, a movie unappreciated in its own time and still to this day. ;)

The actress who played Princess Daisy played Dagny Taggart in Atlas Shrugged: Part II

I'm in ,lovely idea.I'm going to dig in my collection .I let you know what I find

Looking forward to it.

I know more interesting science fiction books than movies, really.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24