Tell me your favourite fossil and perhaps win a Steem Basic Income share - 100 Steemit days celebration

Sometime in the next 24 hours, I will have been here for 100 days! Sweet! So far, so good, some interesting people here and a good way to hear wide-ranging ideas on almost anything...

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 10.32.54 pm.png
This is a photo I took of living yaks. Living yaks, because they are alive, are not fossils (yet). Well at least they were alive when I took it. I don't know if they are still alive. Irrespective, please no live animal photos (even though they are oftentimes awesome), only "fossils".

To say thanks, in this contest I will be giving away 5 steem basic income shares (@steembasicincome - SBI) to people that tell me your favourite fossil in a reply below. I will announce the winners at the end of the week in this post.

I'll pick my top three and then randomly give away the other two SBI shares. Send a photo too of this fossil if you have it in your reply with the name of your preferred one.

But just what is a fossil?

Well Wiki says:

"A fossil (from Classical Latin fossilis; literally, "obtained by digging")[1] is any preserved remains, impression, or trace of any once-living thing from a past geological age. Examples include bones, shells, exoskeletons, stone imprints of animals or microbes, hair, petrified wood, oil, coal, and DNA remnants. The totality of fossils is known as the fossil record."

So there is a wide range there to work with!

Original photos are always preferred so if you have photos of your own - share them!

Thanks for your support and I look forward to reading and seeing what they are! Keep steemin!

Now it is time for a beer to celebrate!

Thanks for your support and for everyone that follows me and supports me here!!!

Here is a hiaku to celebrate:

steem basic income
What an awesome concept hey
Let's celebrate now

I am always interested to see if this hiaku can/will call out the @hiakubot... wait and see.

Thanks again for your support.

Reference:

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fossil
  2. @sooflauschig (I got this idea 100% from his 100 day celebration on Steemit and I am attempting to copy his "giving back" to the community spirit). Thanks for your inspiration.

original photos and text.

copyright @snowyknight

Sort:  

Congratulations on 100 Days! And many more! 🎉

Here is my favorite fossil! More photos on post plus story.

yaks2018june14th.jpg
And a yaking meme :-)

Your yak made me yuk,
yes I yuked and yuked,
a hearty chuckle.

My haiku try for @snowyknight

@bashadow - that is an awesome haiku and you are awesome! Yakity yak! Thanks for stopping by!

If you want the pleasestop thing to not visit your page or to not bother the haiku bot because you like it, you can ask that they not bother it, and they may stop doing so on your page. I asked to have my blog white listed by them and that I would take care of my own pages, and they have done that for me. They are trying to help, but sometimes they try to do a delicate surgery with a chainsaw instead of a fine obsidian scalpel.

Good advice and agreed on all fronts.

I will do the same.

I personally do not like when one bot discriminates another. This is the 21st Century right?

Bots unite! Thanks for this guidance.

Dear @shasta thank you for your wonderful fossil post and meme. I will support you with one SBI. This should show up in 3-4 days. Thanks again!

Wow that rocks!! @snowyknight!! 💎 Im honored
you liked my fossil post, been meaning to get that
boulder posted for sometime now. You inspired
me to do so! Thank you very much! 💕
shasta2018june20th47thankyouyak7yackingaboutgeology7snowyknight.jpg
Been playing around with yaks 2 day! :-)

Thank you! That is the best yak meme I have yet seen. I am going to reuse that, hopefully that is ok with you? Fossil post was rad and I enjoyed a couple of your resteems as well, amazing photos. Keep yaking!

Is that the first yak meme!? I love it awesome! Thanks @shasta. Excellent fossil too! Really cool.

Join the yaking!!!!

There could very well be a
second yak meme now! ;-)

Thought of a few more lol
🐮 best yak emoji there is to be
found that is related to yaking!

If you have any yak emojis I am all ears! The yak 2.0 meme is amazing! Thanks again and keep yaking!

Either Dunkleosteus, because heck yeah giant armored fish superpredators, or crinoids, because I used to find them under the porch when I was a little kid.

Wow, good one... keeping it marine. Did this beer evolve from this dino? Or just the name? Thanks for stopping by as always!

Screen Shot 2018-06-14 at 11.35.30 am.png

I googled dunkel and this came up...
https://www.stowetoday.com/this_week/food/von-trapp-s-dunkel-wins-silver-at-competition/article_bc8a0c16-e0e5-11e7-be8b-1b477749792a.html

Dear @mountainwashere thank you for your Dunkleosteus suggestion (with a great runner up too). I will support you with one SBI. This should show up in 3-4 days. Thanks again!

Thank you! I appreciate your support from day one so I have been trying to give back a little too @mountainwashere. I have a new post up too on some work in Central Asia. Feel free to stop by if you have a chance. Keep fighting the good fight!

TriceratopsAM.jpg(http://www.yupis.com.mx/educativo/dinosaurios-t-triceratops.html)
The triceratops is my favorite fossil because it is a wonder of nature, they were really big and impressive, strong but at the same time delicate, just wanting to survive, a species with feelings as always is in every animal species that we take for granted.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your fav dino. I like. I really like the baby one below in the photo too... hahaha. Three horns better than one horn (i.e. rinos)... Thanks

Dear @seth2020 thank you for your triceratops suggestion with cool photo and mini one as well!

I will support you with one SBI. This should show up in 3-4 days. Thanks again!

Very thanks! :)

It still does not arrive, is it an error?

Hey! Their blog says it can take up to a week to become available. Let's see how it looks after a couple of more days... Looks like I sent it 6 days ago...

ps. I just looked you up. You are on the website.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/e/2PACX-1vRhhnY8couo1lPKsOBLvwS1hfvVAlB6SrhAHWiM3qXOVep_AUenh97SyPAsMCBWH26HgCOrclNl31BZ/pubhtml#

under SBI 7. You now have one share. Have you tried to post recently to see if SBI stops by to upvote?

I have recently published but I have not obtained the votes D:

I'm a bug guy, so you know I'm going to have to go with stromatolites - fossilized microbial mats!

Plus, they're just darned pretty:
Stromatolite_Fossil_from_Wyoming.jpg
Source, by James St. John, CC2.

I wouldn't feel right without mentioning the runner up - anomalocaris.

Dear @effofex thank you for your stromatolites suggestion with a cool photo. I will support you with one SBI. This should show up in 3-4 days. Thanks again!

Awesome! Both are great options. Thanks for stopping by! And cool photo too.

Awesome! Both are great
Options. Thanks for stopping by!
And cool photo too.

                 - snowyknight


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

While cute, this superfluous comment is considered to be spam, harms the blockchain, and is the reason why we will soon have to pay for comments like this with Resource Credits. The servers that maintain the blockchain are extremely expensive because of comments like this seeking low effort upvotes, so please do not reward this behavior.

Please consider using this link to give a small downvote of 15% or so to discourage these comments.

Any bot like this should respect the community by providing a whitelist to prevent the post in the first place and then provide a way to delete the comment for those who find this intrusive.

Dear @pleasestop in this instance. I am ok with the @haikubot. Any bot that does poetry or detects poetry, intentional or not is something I am ok with.

The world is changing and having bots accustomed to poetry is a good thing. Thanks for stopping by and I am sure there are harmful bots that you target so you get an upvote and a follow.

I'll put it this way. Would you spend hundreds of USD per month to maintain the servers just to post automated content like this? Of your own money, that is.

The production of the Steem token occurs on a decentralized network of independent server operators, most of which lose money every month.

And the size of these servers is increasing daily, to the point they need to be upgraded every couple of months, with prices nearly doubling each time. The size of the servers necessary is increasing because the amount of transactions are increasing.

From this perspective, are you willing to invest hundreds of your own fiat every single month just so content like this can be posted?

If you are not ready to put up this cash, then you should be as deeply opposed to this behavior as I am.

Good points. I'm just a minnow so I have a lot to learn. I appreciate your reply and I will reflect on this with serious thought. Thanks for opening my mind and I promise to give this due consideration. Best.

Congratulations on your 100 days :)

Thinking about a favourite fossil ist actually quiet hard... But what I currently most hope to find is a decent specimen of a trilobite. It does not need to be a fancy one, only complete. I'm spending some time around Lake Ontario this summer where you can find them in the ordovician limestones. I found some fragments already so I am very hopeful :)


[source]

Dear @sooflauschig thank you for your trilobite suggestion (and cool photo of a great specimen). I will support you with one SBI. This should show up in 3-4 days. Thanks again!

No thank you!!! Cheers!

Awesome. Thanks for the thanks and for the inspiration to give back! Good choice and good luck with the search for a decent specimen in those limestones. Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47