Reflections on growing up with books and my current book collection

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Reflections on growing up with books and my current book collection


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

I used to love the munch bunch! What a blast from the past!

Ditto... I knew there'd be a certain appeal there. They were a fantastic little series! Very homely.

I also am a big fan of Charles Dickens. I wasn't a big reader when I was young. But, I found an attractive copy of David Copperfield when I was in the 9th grade and the cover is what got me interested, and then I was hooked by the text. After that my reading picked way up. Good old Charles Dickens.

We are going to look into the Munch Bunch. Maybe it will make my toddler less green vegetable phobic :)

Looks like you have a very nice collection.

I was gonna ask if you had any Dickens in there, but decided the Munch Bunch was a much more sophisticated ask.

I haven't actuallu read David Copperfield. I'm deliberately holding some back!

I have known other people's children to eat fruit and veg off the back of the munch bunch.

Karl.

Haha! We aren't much for sophistication around here.

Congrats entry #10 in the contest

  • Nice collection.
    • I must have missed The Munch Bunch series. I read Childcraft and Dr. Seuss as a kid. 1984 and Animal Farm both planted a seed that really never made sense to me until I read None Dare Call it a Conspiracy which was a launching board to reading all sorts of NWO, CFR, TLC, globalism control books a couple of decades later. I wouldn't say capitalism has failed us, I would say we have failed capitalism. It flourished here in the States for nearly 150 years as the government was laissez-faire until the central bankers gained control of our money system and government started taxing and spending profits.
      • Looking at your library it appears you have a thirst for knowledge. Something I fear we have not passed on to the new generation...

Good luck and thanks for sharing!

Why thank you kindly, I think the munch bunch must have been a British thing.

Yes, your FED certainly has a lot to answer for! Although I'm skeptical of the power of unfettered capital to do good.

On the last point, there's more knowledge at our finger tips than ever before. We don't need books (I just happen to like them, a lot)... the challenge is to maybe focus on one window at a time!

Nice competition, I actually really enjoyed writing that, the way it should be.

It has been a fun challenge. I hope it keeps going past this contest!

I'm assuming you're going to go through the list... music etc... @steembasicincome is just fantastic. That's what alerted me to yr competition. You should check out @canadianrenegade's latest SBI contest - that's a fun one too.

He he.. my roots were Dr Seuss and Mr Men. A great collection though - I love the Permaculture/Buddhism library and how you organised that! Hmm... interesting point re: the over 40's. You might be right there.... although I'd like to think my son at 21 isnt like that at all, and he has a bookshelf and a fetish for a good read.

I most definitely read both of those... although I think my parents got it wrong by buying me Mr Tickle and Mr Strong early on, it's all downhill from there really.

Good to hear re your son.

Haha - I liked Mr Tickle too and Mr Bump. Yes, he's just finished reading Zola's Germinal and is onto A Catcher in the Rye at the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76