You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Automation and the Trolley Problem )

Excellent choice of contest content!

  1. I would definitely flip the switch to save the five over the one. I feel the numbers play a significant factor with this decision and it would be hard to argue against the one being saved over the five.

  2. Even though it may be more of a traumatic decision to the mind and emotions, I would still flip the switch to save the five adults over one child. You may be sacrificing the next Einstein, but you may be killing the next Hitler as well. The numbers still sway me in this situation.

  3. I just don't feel I could sacrifice a friend with all of the unknown variables still out of reach. As far as the evil person, even though it may be tempting and I would lean towards giving the evil person to the fate and throwing him on the tracks, you do not know if you are saving someone who may be much more evil and destructive than the evil person you sacrificed. That's a hard one.

  4. Depending on what the ethical conditions and parameters were, I would consider buying a car that would sacrifice me for the good of others. Especially if it were overwhelming numbers as in question one and two.

  5. As powerful as the will to live and the insticnt of self-preservation is, I just don't think I could sleep at night or live with myself if I were to purchase this type of vehicle. Who is to say that I am more worthy than anyone out there? We are all sinners and saints wrapped up in a fleshy garment and we have all fallen short of the glory of God.

Thanks for hosting such an interesting contest!

Sort:  

Thanks for the answers, similar answers to what I would have thought, but of course everyone has their own solutions to these questions, of which all are morally justifiable...

I wouldnt flip the switch. Why is that 5 persons on a LIVE track anyway. That 1 person on the OFFLINE track maybe doing repair etc, which is why it is OFFLINE.
Flipping the switch would also mean sending the train to unknown OFFLINE track which may be under repairs or not working causing more unknown amount of damage and loss of lives from people on the train.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65